This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's Technology & Calculator Open Topic subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. Computer Tech Support => Technology & Calculator Open Topic
DigiTan
Unregistered HyperCam 2

Super Elite (Last Title)

Posted: 04 Jun 2007 03:27:45 pm    Post subject:

Okay, I just moved off campus. Unfortunately, while unpacking my first boxes, I learned the apartment complex does not support the cable internet I've been using for the past 6 months. TV yes, HD yes, internet no.

So I'm looking for the next best thing...DSL. Basically, I'm only considering companies with...

* No contracts
* Stable, reliable connections
* No contracts
* No annoying software or pop-ups (ie: Earthlink)
* Responsive tech support/repairs
* No contracts

So does anyone here recommend anyone in particular? My biggest annoyance are companies that can't or don't respond to line issues. So I'd prefer to get the service from a telco. Also, I hate bundled software that has ads or spyware.
elfprince13
Retired

Super Elite (Last Title)

Posted: 04 Jun 2007 07:38:40 pm    Post subject:

also research them to make sure they don't squelch certain types of traffic or impose an unpublicized bandwidth restriction
Arcane Wizard
`semi-hippie`

Super Elite (Last Title)

Posted: 05 Jun 2007 07:15:38 am    Post subject:

There's always a bandwidth restriction. Just check if it's anywhere near your expected use.

Also, could you get tv + phone + internet on one subscription? We can get that over here and it's muchos cheaperos.