This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's Your Projects subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. Project Ideas/Start New Projects => Your Projects
jfabi82

Posted: 12 May 2007 12:16:25 am    Post subject:

New around here, but here's one I'm sure no one has done (TI-83+/84+, btw).
Perhaps someone (more like a group of people) (I'm not really good with assembly) could come up with an ASM program that could run Ion, and maybe even Mirage ASM programs in BASIC navigation and programs (not in a shell!) . Perhaps one can make an app with hooks to execute programs (like the ones in Omnicalc).
This I will say: it won't be very easy. Getting Ion prgms to work will be hard enough, but MOS much harder (closed-source).
But that's not to say it can't be done. Examples of shells running Ion programs: Mirage OS, Plasma, and oh, yes, that DoorsCS (6.0), which also runs Mirage programs (good job, there).
Farfetched? Of course. But if one does undertake this project, it would open up a new gateway in the world of BASIC programming.
If anyone has anything to say (whether it be "I'll do this," or, "Looks pretty hard," or even, "What's wrong with accessing your programs in the shell? (please don't write that!)" ), just say it! Rolling Eyes
garrett01001

Posted: 12 May 2007 01:11:05 am    Post subject:

I personally don't see there being a need for this..

If you don't like how the shell works (speaking about MOS mainly) then just make your own interface
baorder54
Elite

Posted: 12 May 2007 01:12:09 am    Post subject: