This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's Your Projects subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. Project Ideas/Start New Projects => Your Projects
Author Message
vuurrobin


Advanced Member


Joined: 09 Aug 2006
Posts: 428

Posted: 09 Aug 2006 03:19:15 pm    Post subject:

this is a rpg I am working on for some time now.
it is for the 83+ and in basic using flash gordon.
put everything from the archive map in the archive memory, everything from the RAM map in the RAM memory and run prgmRPGDEMO.

right now it contains

  • a shop, inn, bank and armoury
  • orbs to increase your stats
  • a class system based upon your level and stats
  • a equip system where you can (un)equip swords and armours
  • different puzzles
  • and more
please try my game and post any bugs, optimisations, ideas and feedback.

[attachment=1010:attachment]


Last edited by Guest on 23 Sep 2006 07:46:04 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
DigiTan
Unregistered HyperCam 2


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 10 Nov 2003
Posts: 4468

Posted: 09 Aug 2006 04:01:33 pm    Post subject:

I probably can't check it out until after work tomorrow. Can you give us a little background on the story & setting?
Back to top
Cure


Active Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2006
Posts: 739

Posted: 09 Aug 2006 04:04:07 pm    Post subject:

Welcome to the forums!

Hopefully, it has sprites or animation of some sort, and itsn't text based Cool I'll download it here once I get Tilp II running...


Last edited by Guest on 09 Aug 2006 04:06:14 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
vuurrobin


Advanced Member


Joined: 09 Aug 2006
Posts: 428

Posted: 09 Aug 2006 04:06:57 pm    Post subject:

it has no story yet.
right now I am looking for a way to use the archive memory. (sinse it now uses pretty much all of the ram memory)


Last edited by Guest on 10 Aug 2006 05:49:01 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Cure


Active Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2006
Posts: 739

Posted: 09 Aug 2006 04:12:57 pm    Post subject:

Uh...what are you doing that it runs out of RAM on an 83+? Please tell me there are not a lot of Lbl's and Goto's, that are causing a memorly leak...
Back to top
Weregoose
Authentic INTJ


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 25 Nov 2004
Posts: 3976

Posted: 09 Aug 2006 04:17:37 pm    Post subject:

Cure777 wrote:
Uh...what are you doing that it runs out of RAM on an 83+?
You have the group file in front of you. Wink

Last edited by Guest on 09 Aug 2006 04:17:52 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Sage Orator


Advanced Member


Joined: 23 Apr 2006
Posts: 337

Posted: 09 Aug 2006 07:16:16 pm    Post subject:

There's quite a bit of optimization that could be done, I'm willing to help with that, but gameplay seems fairly good so far. Though I haven't played it too much. You can always try making the main program Mirage compatable, take off 4k. Quick question, can things like potions ever be used if you have zero. You have a couple >0 so... Finally, if the same large piece of code isn't used more than once, don't make it a subroutine. Most people prefer to have less on their calcs.
Back to top
vuurrobin


Advanced Member


Joined: 09 Aug 2006
Posts: 428

Posted: 10 Aug 2006 06:43:05 am    Post subject:

thank you all for replying Smile

I am not sure if there is a memory leak, but it works fine on my calc.

the main program is already compatable with MirageOS but I thought that MirageOS unarchives the program, then runs it and finally archives it again, which isn't solving the problem.
code optimisations, grammar error fixes and story/gameplay ideas are always welcome. and no you can't use items if you don't have them.

and I have found 2 programs that alowes me to use the archive memory, flash gordon and resource.
which one do you think I should use.
Back to top
Sage Orator


Advanced Member


Joined: 23 Apr 2006
Posts: 337

Posted: 11 Aug 2006 01:42:20 am    Post subject:

I have no experience with flash gordon though I have heard of it. Resource is pretty good and reliable.

Here's a tutorial on using it.

I'll work on optimizations if I can.

Here's some optional ones.

Instead of

Code:
Line(2,62,36,62
Line(2,62,92,62
Line(2,0,36,0
Line(40,0,92,0
Line(0,60,0,54
Line(0,6,0,2
Line(0,50,0,10


Do just

Code:
Line(2,62,92,62
Line(2,0,92,0
Line(0,60,0,2

Looks just as good IMO. Saves about 48 bytes.

Also instead of forcing people to press clear to get out of a menu when they don't have any (i.e. Orbs) just have them press any key.

I'll just give you the ones that should be done as the full program. I have the new VRDM, not sure exactly how many bytes I saved though according to sourcecoder I would say 263. It's a pretty good game, not your first I assume?


Last edited by Guest on 11 Aug 2006 10:37:51 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
vuurrobin


Advanced Member


Joined: 09 Aug 2006
Posts: 428

Posted: 14 Aug 2006 01:22:25 pm    Post subject:

thanks Sage Orator, that really helps alot.

I have also made some optimizations, recoded some programs so it uses less subroutines and I am using flash gordon so I can use the archive memory (FG is IMO easier to use than Resource)

download the attachment in my first post
Back to top
Sage Orator


Advanced Member


Joined: 23 Apr 2006
Posts: 337

Posted: 14 Aug 2006 01:59:55 pm    Post subject:

No problem. I've just never used flash gordon, whatever floats your boat I suppose.
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 14 Aug 2006 03:21:01 pm    Post subject:

Some tips (not necessarily optimizations):

You seem to be archiving and unarchiving LVDR6 multiple times. That will cause slow loading, it's better not to archive anything you unarchived until you quit the program.

Don't bother setting the axes on and standard window when quitting the program. If you want to preserve the user's settings (which is much more considerate than you probably should be), use StoreGDB at the beginning and RecallGDB at the end instead.

Avoid using Gotos inside if-then blocks (as well as loops of any kind). That causes memory leaking while the program is running, and can in fact lead to ERR:MEMORY in large programs.
Back to top
vuurrobin


Advanced Member


Joined: 09 Aug 2006
Posts: 428

Posted: 07 Sep 2006 11:35:05 am    Post subject:

I have (finaly) updated my RPG

I have made the tips Darkerline posted, added (a lot) more rooms and puzzles, and optimised it

download the attachment in my first post.
Back to top
Weregoose
Authentic INTJ


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 25 Nov 2004
Posts: 3976

Posted: 07 Sep 2006 03:25:18 pm    Post subject:

A few tips.

Instead of: [font="courier new;font-size:9pt;line-height:100%;color:darkblue"]{LR(4),LR(5),LR(6),LR(9),LR(10→LT

Use: [font="courier new;font-size:9pt;line-height:100%;color:darkblue"]seq(LR(X+2(X>6)),X,4,8→T

Instead of: [font="courier new;font-size:9pt;line-height:100%;color:darkblue"]{2,2,2,2,2,2,2→LU
Use: [font="courier new;font-size:9pt;line-height:100%;color:darkblue"]seq(2,X,0,6→U

Or, for more slightly more speed (at the cost of one byte), use: [font="courier new;font-size:9pt;line-height:100%;color:darkblue"]7→dim(LU:Fill(2,LU

You can do the same with [font="courier new;font-size:9pt;line-height:100%;color:darkblue"]{0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0→LL.

Instead of: [font="courier new;font-size:9pt;line-height:100%;color:darkblue"]LP(6)-(I=1)-16(I=2)+(I=3)+16(I=4→LP(6
Use: [font="courier new;font-size:9pt;line-height:100%;color:darkblue"]LP(6)-(I=1)+(I=3)+16((I=4)-(I=2→LP(6

There are others like this.

When using loops, instead of:

[font="courier new;font-size:9pt;line-height:100%;color:darkblue"]1→Y
While Y

If [getkey]=45
DelVar Y
End

Try:

[font="courier new;font-size:9pt;line-height:100%;color:darkblue"]Repeat [getKey]=45

End

When you write out the character stats in prgmVRDM, a [font="courier new;font-size:9pt;line-height:100%;color:darkblue"]For()
loop would save plenty of space, but it wouldn't work as fast.

In pgrmVRDFMO, try changing:

[font="courier new;font-size:9pt;line-height:100%;color:darkblue"]Output(1,9,LR(1
Output(2,9,LR(3
Output(3,9,LR(12
Output(4,9,LR(4
Output(5,9,LR(5
Output(6,9,LR(6
Output(7,9,LR(9

Into:

[font="courier new;font-size:9pt;line-height:100%;color:darkblue"]{1,3,12,4,5,6,9
For(X,1,7
Output(X,9,LR(Ans(X
End

In prgmVRDA, the values [font="courier new;font-size:9pt;line-height:100%;color:darkblue"]1 through [font="courier new;font-size:9pt;line-height:100%;color:darkblue"]4 seem to correlate with [font="courier new;font-size:9pt;line-height:100%;color:darkblue"]70, [font="courier new;font-size:9pt;line-height:100%;color:darkblue"]115, [font="courier new;font-size:9pt;line-height:100%;color:darkblue"]185, and [font="courier new;font-size:9pt;line-height:100%;color:darkblue"]280.

The expression which computes those latter values is: [font="courier new;font-size:9pt;line-height:100%;color:darkblue"]12.5LT(Z)²+7.5LT(Z)+50

It can be rewritten as: [font="courier new;font-size:9pt;line-height:100%;color:darkblue"]LT(Z:25(.5Ans²+.3Ans+2

So:

[font="courier new;font-size:9pt;line-height:100%;color:darkblue"]9+LT(Z
‾1+LI(Ans→LI(Ans
If Ans>0 and Ans<5 // If this is always true, then remove it along with Then and End
Then
LT(Z
25(.5Ans²+.3Ans+2)+LR(8→LR(8
End

Overall, I'm impressed with your coding so far, so please keep it up.

Something else, though; I know that whenever I try a game or read any kind of documentation, I hate to catch spelling errors. These ones jumped out at me: "GIAND" should be "GIANT", "DEFEIT" should be "DEFEAT", "RAPID" in its context sounds like it should be "RABID", "SHORD" should be "SHORT", and "BRONSE" should be "BRONZE" (in the English spelling, anyway).

There might be others.

Nice job.
–Goose

Last edited by Guest on 07 Sep 2006 08:28:02 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Rezek
Better Than You


Calc Guru


Joined: 24 Apr 2005
Posts: 1229

Posted: 07 Sep 2006 04:25:21 pm    Post subject:

I keep dying really quickly because I get into fights aLOT. But I've only been playing for about two minutes.
Back to top
vuurrobin


Advanced Member


Joined: 09 Aug 2006
Posts: 428

Posted: 10 Sep 2006 08:50:18 am    Post subject:

@ Weregoose

wow, now I understand why people call you good/great/a basic god
it took me a while to figure everything out but (hopefully) i got everything.
thank you very much for everything


@ Rezek

more people said it was to difficult in the beginning so I lowered the chance of fighting monsers and you start with 5 herbs now (in case your HP get low).


download (again) the attachment in my first post
Back to top
vuurrobin


Advanced Member


Joined: 09 Aug 2006
Posts: 428

Posted: 23 Sep 2006 07:52:02 pm    Post subject:

why doesn't anyone wants to play my game Sad

anyway I have a new update, haven't chanced much but I have added a map, fixed some bugs and optimised some code.

download the attachment in my first post.
Back to top
vuurrobin


Advanced Member


Joined: 09 Aug 2006
Posts: 428

Posted: 24 Nov 2006 08:31:26 pm    Post subject:

attack of the zombie topic :ninja:
j/k

after I kind of let it die, I have decided get back working on it.
I have a few ideas I want to try out.
one of those ideas was to have basic homescreen animations while you walk (like moving npc and flikering fire).
I have made a program explaining what I mean (and to try out a few other ideas)and I have an animated screenshot. (although it looks better oncalc, somehow the flikering fire looks real bad)



here is the program.

[attachment=1093:attachment]

send RAM to ram and archive to archive and run prgmRPGDEMO
map, items and magic doesn't work yet and they will probably result in a error.
when the stars move across the screen, you are suposed to battle but I editted it out since I am changing it.
dont look at the code, it is really a mess Cool .

what I want to know from you guys (and girls, if there are any) :
should I include the animation? AFAIK it hasn't been done yet. but is it the speed and memory worth.

and what about a cooking system. would you like it or hate it.

I have swiched to resource because it is more flexibel than flash gorden.

any reaction is welcome.


Last edited by Guest on 08 Jun 2007 03:14:54 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
DigiTan
Unregistered HyperCam 2


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 10 Nov 2003
Posts: 4468

Posted: 25 Nov 2006 03:07:02 pm    Post subject:

What exactly is flash gordon? Is it like xlib?
Back to top
Fallen Ghost


Elite


Joined: 15 Jun 2006
Posts: 955

Posted: 25 Nov 2006 03:29:08 pm    Post subject:

It's some ressource file, like Codex or xLib, yes, but somehow less performing and taking ram space. Maybe it is also slower, that I don't know.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    » Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 1 of 5 » All times are UTC - 5 Hours

 

Advertisement