This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's Your Projects subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. Project Ideas/Start New Projects => Your Projects
Author Message
Radical Pi


Advanced Member


Joined: 23 Nov 2005
Posts: 455

Posted: 23 Nov 2005 07:35:15 pm    Post subject:

Hey! I was just introduced to the fabulous world of calcs, and learned some TI-BASIC: enough to release my first game, SHADOWSTORM!
It will be a large maze with 11 levels, each with 120 ASCII screens. If my 84+SE is working right that should be around 1320 total screens Surprised
If anyone can externally make some maps (Microsoft Excel, etc) that would be very helpfull.
With that in mind, this seems to be aimed at the silvers
Back to top
Rhynomite


Member


Joined: 08 Oct 2005
Posts: 122

Posted: 23 Nov 2005 10:38:53 pm    Post subject:

OK, so let me get this straight...

This is a maze game. Where you navigate your way through each maze to get to the next level. Like Labyrinth.
Back to top
DigiTan
Unregistered HyperCam 2


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 10 Nov 2003
Posts: 4468

Posted: 23 Nov 2005 10:48:22 pm    Post subject:

Who's that's a lot of data. Are these maps stored in "chapters" like Verdante Forest?
Back to top
Rhynomite


Member


Joined: 08 Oct 2005
Posts: 122

Posted: 23 Nov 2005 11:55:19 pm    Post subject:

I was thinking the same thing :biggrin:

For memory's sake, maybe levels could be released in seperate sets.


Last edited by Guest on 23 Nov 2005 11:57:02 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Radical Pi


Advanced Member


Joined: 23 Nov 2005
Posts: 455

Posted: 24 Nov 2005 08:18:29 am    Post subject:

Each level is going to be a separate program, and each screen will be stored to a string when needed.
The entire game is based off the RPG Construction Kit. Very helpful for beginners.
Any other questions?
Back to top
DJ Omnimaga
http://i-lost-the-ga.me


Calc Guru


Joined: 14 Nov 2003
Posts: 1196

Posted: 24 Nov 2005 08:48:38 am    Post subject:

sound nice, will there be level editor?
Back to top
Radical Pi


Advanced Member


Joined: 23 Nov 2005
Posts: 455

Posted: 24 Nov 2005 09:41:14 am    Post subject:

99.9999% chance there won't be enough memory for a level editor on calc.
But if anyone wants to make a computer one...
Back to top
Radical Pi


Advanced Member


Joined: 23 Nov 2005
Posts: 455

Posted: 04 Dec 2005 04:46:14 pm    Post subject:

Okay, I got some code done.
The title screen is bigger than I thought it would be, so I'm cutting down on the level sizes.

10*10 levels,
11 levels,
1100 screens

Also, does anyone prefer graphic or ASCII title screens?
Back to top
Vinthian
formerly known as shortround4271


Advanced Member


Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 258

Posted: 04 Dec 2005 05:24:37 pm    Post subject:

if the game's going to be in ASCII, then make the title screen be ASCII, it's not pleasing to the eye to make the title screen on the graph while the rest if on the homescreen.
Back to top
Radical Pi


Advanced Member


Joined: 23 Nov 2005
Posts: 455

Posted: 04 Dec 2005 05:46:50 pm    Post subject:

Thanks on that.
I made a sort of greyscale title screen.
Explanation:

1) displays my Radical Pi logo
2) blacks the entire screen
3) pixel off the word SHADOW in the middle off the screen
4) output STORM under that on homescreen
5) Repeat getKey, DispGraph, Output(8,16," "), End

For me it jumps from graphscreen to homscreen quickly, with a nice zigzag effect.
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 04 Dec 2005 06:03:54 pm    Post subject:

You can replace Output(8,16," ") with Disp without an argument.
Back to top
alexrudd
pm me if you read this


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 06 Oct 2004
Posts: 2335

Posted: 04 Dec 2005 10:34:47 pm    Post subject:

You can probably use Text(-1, column, row, "SHADOW instead of Pxl commands for the graphscreen version.

Did you figure out this method yourself or did you see the posts about it in some other topic?
Back to top
TStach


Newbie


Joined: 30 Nov 2005
Posts: 40

Posted: 04 Dec 2005 10:41:42 pm    Post subject:

Quote:
You can probably use Text(-1, column, row, "SHADOW instead of Pxl commands for the graphscreen version.

Quote:
For me it jumps from graphscreen to homscreen quickly, with a nice zigzag effect.

I think he likes the effect it creates, but I think that might be a better idea. Then you could pixel-out that too (like you did SHADOW)
Back to top
Radical Pi


Advanced Member


Joined: 23 Nov 2005
Posts: 455

Posted: 05 Dec 2005 05:40:29 pm    Post subject:

Quote:
You can probably use Text(-1, column, row, "SHADOW instead of Pxl commands for the graphscreen version.

I was going to do that, but black text surrounded by white pixels surrounded by black screen was...hideous.
But now that you bring it up again I could pxl-change it within a For( loop.

Quote:
You can replace Output(8,16," ") with Disp without an argument.

Awesome! I didn't know Disp can go argumentless! *checks manual*
I always seem to overlook obvious things Very Happy

Quote:
Did you figure out this method yourself or did you see the posts about it in some other topic?

I haven't seen this anywhere in forums, but I did get the idea for the flashes from the "first ever RPG," Swordmaster.

Does anyone know if that screen jumping wears the LCD out?


Last edited by Guest on 05 Dec 2005 05:50:41 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
TStach


Newbie


Joined: 30 Nov 2005
Posts: 40

Posted: 05 Dec 2005 06:37:35 pm    Post subject:

Quote:
Does anyone know if that screen jumping wears the LCD out?
If you mean from homescreen to graphscreen: Your answer is no. It just switches the pixel mode or something fancy with the LCD driver.
Back to top
Radical Pi


Advanced Member


Joined: 23 Nov 2005
Posts: 455

Posted: 05 Dec 2005 06:58:37 pm    Post subject:

Relief.
I was worried about what all that switching could do.

Now I should probably get off the computer and start coding.
Back to top
Liazon
title goes here


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 01 Nov 2005
Posts: 2007

Posted: 05 Dec 2005 06:59:23 pm    Post subject:

Why not code on the computer?
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 05 Dec 2005 07:59:56 pm    Post subject:

The classical, hardcore way of coding Basic is on the calculator. You can test it immediately and don't have to deal with link cable trouble except at the very end.

Last edited by Guest on 05 Dec 2005 08:00:11 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Liazon
title goes here


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 01 Nov 2005
Posts: 2007

Posted: 05 Dec 2005 08:29:08 pm    Post subject:

But can't you emulate basic games on the computer? eventhough it's totally unnecessary :biggrin:
Back to top
Radical Pi


Advanced Member


Joined: 23 Nov 2005
Posts: 455

Posted: 06 Dec 2005 05:21:31 pm    Post subject:

Now that I'm primarily finished with the walking engine, I should start coding on computer.
Quote:
But can't you emulate basic games on the computer? eventhough it's totally unnecessary

Actually, my last game (BASIC) included a special blue screen crash at the first boss battle. But thats what happens when you've only had been programming since June this year...

Who thinks I should make the readme a NoteFolio appvar?
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    » Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 1 of 4 » All times are UTC - 5 Hours

 

Advertisement