This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's Your Projects subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. Project Ideas/Start New Projects => Your Projects
Author Message
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 06 Dec 2005 05:39:10 pm    Post subject:

Nobody uses notefolio. If you do, include a .txt as well.
Back to top
Liazon
title goes here


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 01 Nov 2005
Posts: 2007

Posted: 06 Dec 2005 09:43:50 pm    Post subject:

Notefolio is available for the 83+ series?

I NEVER use notefolio on my 89. Even though I thought I might store class notes on there to help me in math class, I realized that geometry was really easy and it was just a waste of RAM.
Back to top
Brazucs
I have no idea what my avatar is.


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 31 Mar 2004
Posts: 3349

Posted: 06 Dec 2005 10:03:51 pm    Post subject:

The 89 has Notefolio? It's just a built-in text editor. Plus, the 89 has plenty of space available...

Last edited by Guest on 06 Dec 2005 10:04:03 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 06 Dec 2005 10:21:33 pm    Post subject:

The 89's text editor is actually semi-useful for programming.
Back to top
Liazon
title goes here


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 01 Nov 2005
Posts: 2007

Posted: 06 Dec 2005 10:52:52 pm    Post subject:

what's wrong with the program editor?
Back to top
Radical Pi


Advanced Member


Joined: 23 Nov 2005
Posts: 455

Posted: 07 Dec 2005 05:52:25 pm    Post subject:

...controversy...I'll stay out of it...

Now I get to program the maps. I should finish by at least the end of January...
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 07 Dec 2005 05:55:15 pm    Post subject:

calcul831415 wrote:
what's wrong with the program editor?
[post="63532"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]

You use them for different things. You can't use the text editor to edit an actual program.
Back to top
Radical Pi


Advanced Member


Joined: 23 Nov 2005
Posts: 455

Posted: 11 Dec 2005 04:08:24 pm    Post subject:

I CAN'T BELIEVE I FORGOT!

This game will be so big, and I forgot to get a program that archives/unarchives. I don't want to use Codex if I only need it for (un)archiving. Is there anything smaller specifically for archiving?
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 11 Dec 2005 05:05:23 pm    Post subject:

*ding*

Quote:

Code:
AsmPrgm21F8893E02AE77C9

This allows Archiving and UnArchiving programs from within a program.

To use this: call the routine using Asm(.
Then use the Archive and UnArchive commands to archive and unarchive the programs you want (previously, this wouldn't have worked, but with this program it does).
Then, run this program again to turn this feature off. The reason you can't leave it on is, commands such as For(, If, While, etc. won't work while this feature is turned on.


Example:


Code:
prgmZARC
AsmPrgm21F8893E02AE77C9


Code:
prgmGAME
...
Asm(prgmZARC
UnArchive prgmBOB
Archive prgmMIKE
Asm(prgmZARC
...


Edit: you can get a smaller size if you use AsmComp( to squish prgmZARC in the example above.


Last edited by Guest on 11 Dec 2005 05:06:35 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Kuro


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 50

Posted: 11 Dec 2005 06:57:03 pm    Post subject:

Radical Pi wrote:
Now that I'm primarily finished with the walking engine, I should start coding on computer.
Quote:
But can't you emulate basic games on the computer? eventhough it's totally unnecessary

Actually, my last game (BASIC) included a special blue screen crash at the first boss battle. But thats what happens when you've only had been programming since June this year...

Who thinks I should make the readme a NoteFolio appvar?
[post="63497"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]

I wouldn't. Generally, people want to take up as little mem on their calc for a prog as possible, and I know a lot of people have deleted NoteFolio anyways.
If you want something to look at for making your game (assuming the maze is on the homescreen) check out Mazer. It's small and fast, and does everything you'll need it to do unless you're going to have objects placed in different locations. You can also store the levels as separate strings, which would take up less mem than as a program.
Back to top
Liazon
title goes here


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 01 Nov 2005
Posts: 2007

Posted: 11 Dec 2005 07:32:13 pm    Post subject:

DarkerLine wrote:
*ding*

Quote:

Code:
AsmPrgm21F8893E02AE77C9

This allows Archiving and UnArchiving programs from within a program.

To use this: call the routine using Asm(.
Then use the Archive and UnArchive commands to archive and unarchive the programs you want (previously, this wouldn't have worked, but with this program it does).
Then, run this program again to turn this feature off. The reason you can't leave it on is, commands such as For(, If, While, etc. won't work while this feature is turned on.


Example:


Code:
prgmZARC
AsmPrgm21F8893E02AE77C9


Code:
prgmGAME
...
Asm(prgmZARC
UnArchive prgmBOB
Archive prgmMIKE
Asm(prgmZARC
...


Edit: you can get a smaller size if you use AsmComp( to squish prgmZARC in the example above.
[post="64080"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]


You wouldn't happen to know how to do this on the 89 by any chance? :biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin:
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 11 Dec 2005 08:31:36 pm    Post subject:

Do what? You can archive and unarchive programs without any assembly at all on the TI-89.
Back to top
Liazon
title goes here


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 01 Nov 2005
Posts: 2007

Posted: 11 Dec 2005 08:36:54 pm    Post subject:

the skinny book didn't really say. It just said unarchive/archive variable. so i was unsure
Back to top
bukwirm


Member


Joined: 06 Dec 2005
Posts: 233

Posted: 11 Dec 2005 08:44:06 pm    Post subject:

calcul831415 wrote:
the skinny book didn't really say.  It just said unarchive/archive variable. so i was unsure
[post="64107"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]


You have to look at the online manual. It is on the disk that came with the 89, or on TI's website.
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 11 Dec 2005 08:50:35 pm    Post subject:

calcul831415 wrote:
the skinny book didn't really say.  It just said unarchive/archive variable. so i was unsure
[post="64107"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]
Now you know. It also takes 5 seconds to check.
Back to top
Radical Pi


Advanced Member


Joined: 23 Nov 2005
Posts: 455

Posted: 12 Dec 2005 08:51:41 pm    Post subject:

DarkerLine wrote:
*ding*

Quote:

Code:
AsmPrgm21F8893E02AE77C9

This allows Archiving and UnArchiving programs from within a program.

To use this: call the routine using Asm(.
Then use the Archive and UnArchive commands to archive and unarchive the programs you want (previously, this wouldn't have worked, but with this program it does).
Then, run this program again to turn this feature off. The reason you can't leave it on is, commands such as For(, If, While, etc. won't work while this feature is turned on.

Does that mean you can't call on it from If, For, etc.?

Kuro wrote:
Radical Pi wrote:
Now that I'm primarily finished with the walking engine, I should start coding on computer.
Quote:
But can't you emulate basic games on the computer? eventhough it's totally unnecessary

Actually, my last game (BASIC) included a special blue screen crash at the first boss battle. But thats what happens when you've only had been programming since June this year...

Who thinks I should make the readme a NoteFolio appvar?
[post="63497"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]

I wouldn't. Generally, people want to take up as little mem on their calc for a prog as possible, and I know a lot of people have deleted NoteFolio anyways.
If you want something to look at for making your game (assuming the maze is on the homescreen) check out Mazer. It's small and fast, and does everything you'll need it to do unless you're going to have objects placed in different locations. You can also store the levels as separate strings, which would take up less mem than as a program.
[post="64088"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]

Okay, the notefolio idea was noobish.

My maze isn't going to be random, and the levels are already stored to strings, that are just called from that specific level's program. But if you meant I store the entire level to one string, I still have 11 levels and only 10 strings to work with. Razz
Back to top
Kuro


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 50

Posted: 13 Dec 2005 05:05:16 pm    Post subject:

The creation method could be altered to produce nonrandom maps.
You could still combine levels into strings, if they aren't outrageously large.
Back to top
Radical Pi


Advanced Member


Joined: 23 Nov 2005
Posts: 455

Posted: 13 Dec 2005 06:07:26 pm    Post subject:

So...
How fast would it load an 8*16 screen out of 140800 ASCII characters?
I got the big # with (rows*columns*level size*levels)
Please still keep in mind that this is my first big project.

Tell me if I'm missing your point. I probably am.
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 13 Dec 2005 08:23:42 pm    Post subject:

Radical Pi wrote:
Does that mean you can't call on it from If, For, etc.?
You can call on it out of those blocks, but it has to be on when you encounter any of the commands. For example,

Correct:

Code:
For(I,1,5
Asm(prgmARCH
Archive prgmTEST
UnArchive prgmTEST
Asm(prgmARCH
End

Incorrect:

Code:
Asm(prgmARCH
For(I,1,5
Archive prgmTEST
UnArchive prgmTEST
End
Asm(prgmARCH
While in "(Un)Archive programs mode", if you call a subprogram, that program will switch to "normal program function mode" then switch back. That is,

Code:
For(I,1,5
Asm(prgmARCH
UnArchive prgmSUBPRGM
prgmSUBPRGM
Archive prgmSUBPRGM
Asm(prgmARCH
End
will work, even if prgmSUBPRGM contains program control command such as If and For.
Back to top
Kuro


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 50

Posted: 14 Dec 2005 04:42:33 pm    Post subject:

Radical Pi wrote:
So...
How fast would it load an 8*16 screen out of 140800 ASCII characters?
I got the big # with (rows*columns*level size*levels)
Please still keep in mind that this is my first big project.

Tell me if I'm missing your point. I probably am.
[post="64331"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]

First off, I'm not saying that you put all the levels into 1 string. You could just use whatever variable that represents the level and use it in a function to determine a substring to display.
And what do you mean by "level size" in your equation? If you mean the length of the string it would just be (rows*columns*levels).
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    » Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 2 of 4 » All times are UTC - 5 Hours

 

Advertisement