This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's TI-BASIC subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. TI-Basic => TI-BASIC
United-TI Archives -> TI-Basic
 
    » Goto page 1, 2  Next
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
JesusFreak
JesusFreak


Active Member


Joined: 17 Jun 2003
Posts: 537

Posted: 21 Jul 2003 06:35:35 pm    Post subject:

Is it possable to make a pure basic prgm that creates sprites in under 30 seconds?

Yes!

Right now I have the first version of a map editor and loader almost done.
It has one set of tiles, nine total, it can load 54 of them in
[font="Impact"]24 Seconds

Yes 24 seconds
The map is saved in a list that is about 200-500 bytes i think

Why did I post this?

I need graphic sprites nine per set

Desert
Forest
Indoors (home)
Indoors (shop)
Grass Land
Water
Water and Land

Anymore you think?

If you would like to make graphic e-mail me, don't post here, Watchfordanomes@att.net

Last edited by Guest on 06 Aug 2003 10:30:31 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
62 52 53 53
Formerly known as 62 52 53 53


Active Member


Joined: 30 May 2003
Posts: 607

Posted: 21 Jul 2003 08:02:14 pm    Post subject:

Woah! I want that! please post the routine here.
Back to top
JesusFreak
JesusFreak


Active Member


Joined: 17 Jun 2003
Posts: 537

Posted: 21 Jul 2003 09:59:58 pm    Post subject:

I can't (and don't want to b/c i am lazy i will send it and you can look at the code there)

It uses pre built tiles, you can't create your own, but if you send me some (up to 9 per set) i can create the tiles. If you do send me some files, pics are okay, but it would be better in A B, in line(, pt-on(

e-mail me and i will tell you how to do it in A ,B
Back to top
Arcane Wizard
`semi-hippie`


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 8993

Posted: 22 Jul 2003 05:05:09 am    Post subject:

It looks nice so far, bit of a bummer that it's all hard-coded (not much faster than what I'm used to) but I'll have a proper look at it later and tell you what I think of it (maybe come up with some optimalisations?).
Back to top
Arcane Wizard
`semi-hippie`


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 8993

Posted: 22 Jul 2003 08:00:34 am    Post subject:

Hmm, it doesn't work, again. Just a big buch of gibberish (random characters that can only be used by asm programs) and a couple of basic statements every couple of pages.

Could you just post the code here, shouldn't be more work than e-mailing it to somebody if you use ti-connect and copy+paste it.

BTW saw a bunch of if statements that could be optimized (maybe, stupid gibberish was in the way).


Last edited by Guest on 22 Jul 2003 08:01:09 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
JesusFreak
JesusFreak


Active Member


Joined: 17 Jun 2003
Posts: 537

Posted: 22 Jul 2003 05:31:52 pm    Post subject:

why is hard coding bad?

i'll post it after this.

And why does it show asm, i don't use asm, and i works for me, all i see is basic not asm ever.
Back to top
JesusFreak
JesusFreak


Active Member


Joined: 17 Jun 2003
Posts: 537

Posted: 22 Jul 2003 05:33:44 pm    Post subject:


Code:
Lbl A
ClrDraw
Menu("Underground","Start",G,"Load",B
Lbl G
Menu("Load?","LV 1",H,"LV 2",I,"LV 3",J,"LV 4",K,"LV 5",L
Lbl H
ClrDraw
1üZ
For(X,1,56
0üáBOB(X
End
Goto 2
End
Lbl I
ClrDraw
56üZ
For(X,57,112
0üáBOB(X
End
Goto 2
End
Lbl J
ClrDraw
112üZ
For(X,113,169
0üáBOB(X
End
Goto 2
End
Lbl K
ClrDraw
169üZ
For(X,170,226
0üáBOB(X
End
Goto 2
End
Lbl L
ClrDraw
226üZ
For(X,227,283
0üáBOB(X
End
Goto 2
End
Lbl B
Menu("LOAD","LV 1",C,"LV 2",D,"LV 3",E,"LV 4",F
Lbl C
0üC
55üD
0üZ
CüV
Goto 3
End
Lbl F
170üC
226üD
CüV
Goto 1
End
Lbl F
227üC
283üD
CüV
Goto 1
End
Lbl E
113üC
169üD
CüV
Goto 3
End
Lbl D
56üC
112üD
CüV
Goto 3
End
Lbl 3
0üA:62üB
For(Z,C+1,D
If Z>V+1 and Z÷V+9
Then
A+10üA
End
If Z=V+10
Then
B-10üB
0üA
End
If Z>V+10 and Z÷V+18
Then
A+10üA
End
If Z=V+19
Then
B-10üB
0üA
End
If Z>V+19 and Z÷V+27
Then
A+10üA
End
If Z=V+28
Then
B-10üB
0üA
End
If Z>V+28 and Z÷V+36
Then
A+10üA
End
If Z=V+37
Then
B-10üB
0üA
End
If Z>V+38 and Z÷V+45
Then
A+10üA
End
If Z=V+46
Then
B-10üB
0üA
End
If Z>V+47 and Z÷V+55
Then
A+10üA
End
If áBOB(Z)=1
Then
Line(A+1,B-1,A+9,B-1):Line(A+1,B-1,A+1,B-9):Line(A+9,B-1,A+9,B-9):Line(A+1,B-9,A+9,B-9
End
If áBOB(Z)=2
Then
Line(A+1,B-1,A+9,B-1):Line(A+1,B-1,A+1,B-9):Line(A+9,B-1,A+9,B-9):Line(A+1,B-9,A+9,B-9):Line(A+5,B-4,A+4,B-5):Line(A+6,B-5,A+5,B-6
End
If áBOB(Z)=3
Then
Line(A+1,B-1,A+9,B-1):Line(A+1,B-1,A+1,B-9):Line(A+9,B-1,A+9,B-9):Line(A+1,B-9,A+9,B-9):Line(A+3,B-3,A+4,B-4):Line(A+3,B-7,A+4,B-6):Line(A+5,B-5,A+7,B-5
End
If áBOB(Z)=4
Then
Line(A+5,B-3,A+5,B-7):Line(A+3,B-5,A+7,B-5):Pt-Off(A+5,B-5
End
If áBOB(Z)=5
Then
Line(A+4,B-3,A+6,B-3):Line(A+3,B-4,A+4,B-4):Line(A+6,B-4,A+7,B-4):Line(A+4,B-7,A+6,B-7):Line(A+3,B-6,A+4,B-6):Line(A+6,B-6,A+7,B-6):Pt-On(A+4,B-5):Pt-On(A+6,B-5)
End
If áBOB(Z)=6
Then
Line(A+4,B-2,A+5,B-2):Line(A+4,B-3,A+5,B-3):Line(A+2,B-6,A+4,B-6):Line(A+4,B-6,A+4,B-8):Line(A+7,B-3,A+7,B-7):Pt-On(A+8,B-7):Pt-On(A+8,B-3
End
End
Goto 1
End
Lbl 2
0üA
62üB
Goto 1
End
Lbl 1
Line(A,B,A+2,B
Line(A,B,A,B-2
Line(A+10,B,A+10,B-2
Line(A+8,B,A+10,B
Line(A+2,B-10,A,B-10
Line(A,B-8,A,B-10
Line(A+10,B-8,A+10,B-10
Line(A+8,B-10,A+10,B-10
getKeyüX
If X
Then
Line(A,B,A+2,B,0
Line(A,B,A,B-2,0
Line(A+10,B,A+10,B-2,0
Line(A+8,B,A+10,B,0
Line(A+2,B-10,A,B-10,0
Line(A,B-8,A,B-10,0
Line(A+10,B-8,A+10,B-10,0
Line(A+8,B-10,A+10,B-10,0
End
If X=21
Then
ClrDraw
Goto A
End
If X=26
Then
Z+1üZ
A+10üA
Goto 1
End
If X=34
Then
Z+9üZ
B-10üB
Goto 1
End
If X=25
Then
Z-9üZ
B+10üB
Goto 1
End
If X=24
Then
Z-1üZ
A-10üA
Goto 1
End
If X=92
Then
Line(A+1,B-1,A+9,B-1):Line(A+1,B-1,A+1,B-9):Line(A+9,B-1,A+9,B-9):Line(A+1,B-9,A+9,B-9
1üáBOB(Z
Goto 1
End
If X=93
Then
Line(A+1,B-1,A+9,B-1):Line(A+1,B-1,A+1,B-9):Line(A+9,B-1,A+9,B-9):Line(A+1,B-9,A+9,B-9):Line(A+5,B-4,A+4,B-5):Line(A+6,B-5,A+5,B-6
2üáBOB(Z
Goto 1
End
If X=94
Then
Line(A+1,B-1,A+9,B-1):Line(A+1,B-1,A+1,B-9):Line(A+9,B-1,A+9,B-9):Line(A+1,B-9,A+9,B-9):Line(A+3,B-3,A+4,B-4):Line(A+3,B-7,A+4,B-6):Line(A+5,B-5,A+7,B-5
3üáBOB(Z
Goto 1
End
If X=82
Then
Line(A+5,B-3,A+5,B-7):Line(A+3,B-5,A+7,B-5):Pt-Off(A+5,B-5
4üáBOB(Z
Goto 1
End
If X=83
Then
Line(A+4,B-3,A+6,B-3):Line(A+3,B-4,A+4,B-4):Line(A+6,B-4,A+7,B-4):Line(A+4,B-7,A+6,B-7):Line(A+3,B-6,A+4,B-6):Line(A+6,B-6,A+7,B-6):Pt-On(A+4,B-5):Pt-On(A+6,B-5)
5üáBOB(Z
Goto 1
End
If X=84
Then
Line(A+4,B-2,A+5,B-2):Line(A+4,B-3,A+5,B-3):Line(A+2,B-6,A+4,B-6):Line(A+4,B-6,A+4,B-8):Line(A+7,B-3,A+7,B-7):Pt-On(A+8,B-7):Pt-On(A+8,B-3
6üáBOB(Z
Goto 1
End
Goto 1
End
Back to top
62 52 53 53
Formerly known as 62 52 53 53


Active Member


Joined: 30 May 2003
Posts: 607

Posted: 22 Jul 2003 06:20:11 pm    Post subject:

that's not ASM, That's the computers lack of certain symbols used by the TI83+
Back to top
Darth Android
DragonOS Dev Team


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 31 May 2003
Posts: 2104

Posted: 22 Jul 2003 09:19:27 pm    Post subject:

the symbols become what they should be with ti graphlink program, its free, an dmakes interpreting those easyier.

Last edited by Guest on 22 Jul 2003 09:19:39 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Arcane Wizard
`semi-hippie`


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 8993

Posted: 23 Jul 2003 08:03:48 am    Post subject:

JesusFreak wrote:
why is hard coding bad?

i'll post it after this.

And why does it show asm, i don't use asm, and i works for me, all i see is basic not asm ever.

I didn't say hardcoding is bad just meant that if your prgm used a list or string to load the sprites in that time it would be great.

It doesn't show asm it shows characters that you could normally only accces with asm (ä, û, @, etc.) and when I try to run it I get a syntax error (wow, what a surprise).
Back to top
Darth Android
DragonOS Dev Team


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 31 May 2003
Posts: 2104

Posted: 23 Jul 2003 09:43:43 am    Post subject:

just remove the characters
Back to top
JesusFreak
JesusFreak


Active Member


Joined: 17 Jun 2003
Posts: 537

Posted: 23 Jul 2003 12:52:42 pm    Post subject:

Can anyone find a faster way for lbl H

(that is the load screen and right now it is 24 seconds, not 244 which was up there a little while but i change it now, now you might have no idea what i was talking about)
Back to top
JesusFreak
JesusFreak


Active Member


Joined: 17 Jun 2003
Posts: 537

Posted: 23 Jul 2003 04:34:51 pm    Post subject:

opps. i ment Lbl 3
Back to top
Arcane Wizard
`semi-hippie`


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 8993

Posted: 23 Jul 2003 05:18:39 pm    Post subject:

Darth Android wrote:
just remove the characters

Let me explain, instead of showing the basic code, VTI shows parts of it as random characters.

It's almost as if the file is corrupted or VTI loads it incorrectly. /sarcasm.
Back to top
Arcane Wizard
`semi-hippie`


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 8993

Posted: 23 Jul 2003 05:19:38 pm    Post subject:

JesusFreak wrote:
Can anyone find a faster way for lbl H

(that is the load screen and right now it is 24 seconds, not 244 which was up there a little while but i change it now, now you might have no idea what i was talking about)

A faster way to go to lbl3 or optimisation of everything that happends after lbl3?
Back to top
JesusFreak
JesusFreak


Active Member


Joined: 17 Jun 2003
Posts: 537

Posted: 23 Jul 2003 05:24:49 pm    Post subject:

Darth is optimizing it right now to see if it will go faster
Back to top
Darth Android
DragonOS Dev Team


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 31 May 2003
Posts: 2104

Posted: 23 Jul 2003 07:05:44 pm    Post subject:

eek! at with this code, it would be impossible to make it not run faster.
Back to top
JesusFreak
JesusFreak


Active Member


Joined: 17 Jun 2003
Posts: 537

Posted: 23 Jul 2003 09:23:03 pm    Post subject:

how?
Back to top
Darth Android
DragonOS Dev Team


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 31 May 2003
Posts: 2104

Posted: 24 Jul 2003 01:11:14 am    Post subject:

rule #1:
labels are one of the the worst things to have in your code.

almost done
loads from 18.39 - 24.28 seconds, depending on the sprite
editor needs to be finished, i can get the cursor to move up/down but moves right/left.

unlike ur, it is an editor (recalls data for editing) , not a creator (wipes data and starts over)
Back to top
NETWizz
Byte by bit


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 20 May 2003
Posts: 2369

Posted: 24 Jul 2003 01:23:06 am    Post subject:

I changed 24 to 244 as a joke.

Sorry, I guess that was irresponsible.

I would ban myself, but like the president, I am subject to laws in a less severe manner.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    » Goto page 1, 2  Next
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 1 of 2 » All times are UTC - 5 Hours

 

Advertisement