This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's Technology & Calculator Open Topic subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. Calculator Tech Support => Technology & Calculator Open Topic
Author Message
Jeremiah Walgren
General Operations Director


Know-It-All


Joined: 24 May 2003
Posts: 1937

Posted: 29 Apr 2004 06:27:16 pm    Post subject:

sigma wrote:
Darth Android wrote:
there are no "hidden functions" other than the archive self test....everything else is documented, therefore not a "hidden function"
text(-1,... is not a hiddenfunction, because it is documented. let's get this straight people!

If it's not in the official manual, it's undocumented.

Some people just have to get so technical... Laughing
Back to top
sgm


Calc Guru


Joined: 04 Sep 2003
Posts: 1265

Posted: 30 Apr 2004 11:16:53 am    Post subject:

Jeremiah Walgren wrote:
Some people just have to get so technical... Laughing

He started it!

Back to top
Keith Pierce


Advanced Member


Joined: 02 Feb 2004
Posts: 411

Posted: 30 Apr 2004 12:18:58 pm    Post subject:

Here are some hidden functions, tricks, and glitches that i like to play around with and/or do:

Lowercase Letters:

AsmPrgm
21148A3E08AE77C9

Erasing the Run Indicator:

For(X,0,500
Output(1,16,"[single space]
End

Erasing the Done Message:

Clrhome
Disp "Hello
Pause
ClrHome
Output(5,2,"Goodbye!
Stop

Gettting rid of the Done message in On-Calc Hex Assembly:

AsmPrgm
FDCB00AEC9
C9

Inverted Text:

AsmPrgm
FDCB05DE
C9

Uninverted text:

AsmPrgm
FDCB059E
C9

Blue Lines:

AsmPrgm
3E1F
D310
C9

Cool Scrolling:

-On the home screen press [alpha], ["], and then anything you want after the quotation mark.
-Press [sto->], [vars], [7], [enter], [enter]. This will store your previous entry to Str1.
-Press [2nd], [(-)], [+], [2nd], [(-)]. Press [enter] many times until the calc says ERR:MEMORY.
-Clear the screen. Press [2nd], [sto->], [2nd], [(-)], [enter].
-The scrolling will stop when it is finished. Pressing [clear] will reverse the scrolling process.

To create some cool looking patterns, use some of these in the first step:

"3[4 spaces] 141592654"
"*[4 spaces] *********"

I got these from Jamcalc.org( What used to be Jamcalc.org).
Back to top
Iambian


Advanced Member


Joined: 13 Mar 2004
Posts: 423

Posted: 30 Apr 2004 01:36:36 pm    Post subject:

Self-Test? Do you really want to clean out the entire FlashROM chip like that and wait forever!?

Dude! Using the code found in my sig is a lot faster than that.
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 30 Apr 2004 03:50:19 pm    Post subject:

Keith Pierce wrote:
Lowercase Letters:

AsmPrgm
21148A3E08AE77C9

There is a flag to turn on for lowercase letters.

Quote:
Erasing the Done Message:

Clrhome
Disp "Hello
Pause
ClrHome
Output(5,2,"Goodbye!
Stop

You could also type something on the program's last line to have that be displayed instead of Done.
Quote:
Gettting rid of the Done message in On-Calc Hex Assembly:

AsmPrgm
FDCB00AEC9
C9

You don't need more than one C9.
Quote:
Blue Lines:

AsmPrgm
3E1F
D310
C9

AsmPrgm3E18D310C9 will undo blue lines.
Back to top
Arcane Wizard
`semi-hippie`


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 8993

Posted: 30 Apr 2004 04:23:00 pm    Post subject:

You also don't need stop at the last line of the program.
Back to top
Awesome1


Advanced Member


Joined: 28 Jan 2004
Posts: 269

Posted: 30 Apr 2004 07:05:55 pm    Post subject:

It's interesting to hear about the self test, im not sure if i wanna let it run...lol, mayne i will back up my calc and do it.... the blue lines arn't really good for the screen, the run indicator thing works only on the home screen, and if u just put:
Output(1,1,"", it will remove the done screen also...

Interesting stuff though...
Back to top
Adm.Wiggin
aka Tianon


Know-It-All


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 1874

Posted: 01 May 2004 12:07:33 am    Post subject:

if you put this it will work for graphscreen :
Code:
Text(-1,0,90," "
end quote to show the 1 space Laughing
Back to top
Ray Kremer


Member


Joined: 16 Feb 2004
Posts: 237

Posted: 01 May 2004 12:20:44 am    Post subject:

sigma wrote:
There's the ol' "negative one as an argument to Text(".

Hey, wow, it really is an honest to God undocumented function! I'm amazed and astounded!
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 01 May 2004 11:28:15 am    Post subject:

Awesome1 wrote:
and if u just put:
Output(1,1,"", it will remove the done screen also...

Interesting stuff though...

Hasn't this been posted and classified as useless already?
Back to top
Jeremiah Walgren
General Operations Director


Know-It-All


Joined: 24 May 2003
Posts: 1937

Posted: 01 May 2004 04:46:42 pm    Post subject:

Ray Kremer wrote:
sigma wrote:
There's the ol' "negative one as an argument to Text(".

Hey, wow, it really is an honest to God undocumented function! I'm amazed and astounded!

Did you honestly not know that, or are you being sarcastic?
Back to top
Ray Kremer


Member


Joined: 16 Feb 2004
Posts: 237

Posted: 02 May 2004 11:47:50 pm    Post subject:

Honestly didn't know it. As good as TI's manuals are, I would never have believed anything in the OS was undocumented.
Back to top
Toksyuryel
Crimson Dragon Software


Elite


Joined: 14 Jun 2003
Posts: 880

Posted: 05 May 2004 03:03:20 pm    Post subject:

Iambian wrote:
Self-Test? Do you really want to clean out the entire FlashROM chip like that and wait forever!?

Dude! Using the code found in my sig is a lot faster than that.

The point of the Self-Test is NOT to wipe the FLASH. The point is to make sure the FLASH is working.
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 05 May 2004 04:56:11 pm    Post subject:

And the total mem-clearedness of your calc afterwards just an unfortunate side effect.
Back to top
leofox
INF student


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 11 Apr 2004
Posts: 3562

Posted: 06 May 2004 03:48:06 am    Post subject:

The Selftest is save, right? So if I just have back ups of everything, my calc (graphing handheld!!) will still work? How long does it take to entirely wipe out the memory?

Yeah, i'm asking this because i want to try! Another clean up besides the dayly Ram Clear and the Weekly Mem Clear. Now: the monthly self test!
Back to top
Keith Pierce


Advanced Member


Joined: 02 Feb 2004
Posts: 411

Posted: 06 May 2004 07:43:33 am    Post subject:

I wouldnt recommend doing it if I were you. Something unexpected can happen. I have two calcs to Prove it! Confused
Back to top
Jeremiah Walgren
General Operations Director


Know-It-All


Joined: 24 May 2003
Posts: 1937

Posted: 06 May 2004 08:32:47 am    Post subject:

Unless you happen to have an extra calc you're not worried about.
Back to top
Adm.Wiggin
aka Tianon


Know-It-All


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 1874

Posted: 06 May 2004 04:27:19 pm    Post subject:

Go to Ebay, buy used TI-81, fill with explosives, burn. Laughing
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 06 May 2004 05:11:11 pm    Post subject:

Down with the evil 81 regime!!

And I don't see the purpose of Daily Ram Clears, Weekly Mem Clears, or Monthly Self Tests. What gets on my calc, stays on my calc.
Back to top
leofox
INF student


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 11 Apr 2004
Posts: 3562

Posted: 07 May 2004 06:05:07 am    Post subject:

the Daily ram clear is because Mario bugs so much, the weekly mem clear isn't really weekly, i only did it once Razz. But it helps to clear your whole memory now and then. Computers should be formatted twice a year too, cuz they get filled up with spyware and stuff, what makes it run faster.

Like if you had two computers that are the same, but one computer was hooked to the internet for a year, and the other one is just completely formatted, the formatted one is way faster. Why wouldn't that apply to calcs?
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    » Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 3 of 6 » All times are UTC - 5 Hours

 

Advertisement