This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's Your Projects subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. Project Ideas/Start New Projects => Your Projects
Author Message
His Eminence


Newbie


Joined: 22 Mar 2004
Posts: 1

Posted: 22 Mar 2004 03:15:19 pm    Post subject:

For my AP chem class, electron config. is both tedious and boring, i'd rather not do it. So i have searched for several electron config. programs and all of them use the same method,
"If E=1
Then
Disp "1s1"
End
If ...."
This is all nice an dandy but i'm sure other methods are out there rather than simple output.
My teacher tought us a way...
The electrons are aranged in the following pattern:
1s
2s 2p
3s 3p 3d
4s 4p 4d 4f
5s 5p 5d 5f
6s 6p 6d 6f
7s 7p 7d 7f
(if the spacing is messed up then, the same letter is supposed to be in the same column)
So the idea is that first the 1s if filled, then 2s, then 2p, 3s, 3p, 4s, 3d, 4p, 5s, and so on in a diagonal pattern from the top right to the bottom left in a top to bottom motion.
So if anyone can program it in this way, please tell me, i can maybe help, email or pm me.

A very challenging program Wink
Back to top
JeePee


Member


Joined: 18 Jan 2004
Posts: 181

Posted: 22 Mar 2004 04:27:51 pm    Post subject:

I've seen an electron config program, with another "algorithme" (if you can call that an algorithme.. Confused )

I'll do my best to search it Laughing
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 22 Mar 2004 05:28:37 pm    Post subject:

This wouldn't be an algorithm since he can't program it. An algorithm is what he's looking for.
Back to top
JesusFreak
JesusFreak


Active Member


Joined: 17 Jun 2003
Posts: 537

Posted: 22 Mar 2004 07:58:58 pm    Post subject:

If it works, then why complain

i did this a while ago,

You could so a If E>= (one sign) then Disp "1S_" (_ = a space, and do that over with each, it would be a lot smaller, or you could work backwards

Like if e = 100 Then
disp" 2s2 and so on

{edit}

You could do a loop, and i might be easy

i will try it later tonight, i am confusing my self

or do youknow the quick way, use the noble gases ie

if it was Na then it would be {first noble gas} 2S
later it is {3rd noble gas} 3S 4D

i forgot all of this so ask me if you need more explaining


Last edited by Guest on 22 Mar 2004 08:15:23 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
JeePee


Member


Joined: 18 Jan 2004
Posts: 181

Posted: 23 Mar 2004 11:24:32 am    Post subject:


Code:
PlotsUit
ZStandaard
WisTabel
AssenUit
Lbl 1
WisBasisscherm
Input "Aantal eú :",E
If E>112
Then
WisBasisscherm
Pauze "Te Veel!"
Goto 1
End
0üN
1üO
20üX
1üS
0üY
ZStandaard
Tekst(3,0,"Electron configuratie")
Tekst(10,0,"voor ",E," electronen")
Lbl 2
If E=0
Goto 8
E-1üE
N+1üN
If N=2 en S=1
Goto 3
If N=6 en S=2
Goto 4
If N=10 en S=3
Goto 5
If N=14 en S=4
Goto 6
Goto 2
Lbl 3
Tekst(X,Y,O,"S"
Tekst(X-3,Y+8,N
Y+12üY
0üN
S+1üS
If O=1
Then
1üS
O+1üO
End
If O=4 of O=5
Then
S+1üS
O-1üO
End
If O=6 of O=7
Then
S+1üS
O-1üO
End
Goto 2
Lbl 4
If O=4
Then
X+11üX
0üY
End
Tekst(X,Y,O,"P"
Tekst(X-3,Y+8,N
Y+12üY
0üN
O+1üO
1üS
Goto 2
Lbl 5
If O=5
Then
X+11üX
0üY
End
Tekst(X,Y,O,"D"
Tekst(X-3,Y+8,N
Y+16üY
0üN
O+1üO
S-1üS
Goto 2
Lbl 6
Tekst(X,Y,O,"F"
Tekst(X-3,Y+8,N
Y+16üY
0üN
S-1üS
O+1üO
Goto 2
Lbl 8
If N=0
Goto 9
If S=1
Tekst(X,Y,O,"S"
If S=2
Tekst(X,Y,O,"P"
If S=3
Tekst(X,Y,O,"D"
If S=4
Tekst(X,Y,O,"F"
Tekst(X-3,Y+8,N
Lbl 9
Pauze
AssenAan
WisTek
WisBasisscherm


ü = Sto->
Back to top
Arcane Wizard
`semi-hippie`


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 8993

Posted: 23 Mar 2004 11:46:49 am    Post subject:

Translated since most people here aren't Dutch:

PlotsOff
ZStandard
ClrTabel
AxesOff
Lbl 1
ClrHome
Input "nr of e- :",E
If E>112
Then
ClrHome
Pause "Too many!"
Goto 1 //comment from the wizard: goto is bad when used in open if..then..else..end statements or loops, unless used properly, which it isn't in this case
End
0->N
1->O
20->X
1->S
0->Y
ZStandard
Text(3,0,"Electron configuration")
Text(10,0,"for ",E," electrons")
Lbl 2
If E=0
Goto 8
E-1->E
N+1->N
If N=2 And S=1
Goto 3
If N=6 And S=2
Goto 4
If N=10 And S=3
Goto 5
If N=14 And S=4
Goto 6
Goto 2
Lbl 3
Text(X,Y,O,"S"
Text(X-3,Y+8,N
Y+12->Y
0->N
S+1->S
If O=1
Then
1->S
O+1->O
End
If O=4 of O=5
Then
S+1->S
O-1->O
End
If O=6 of O=7
Then
S+1->S
O-1->O
End
Goto 2
Lbl 4
If O=4
Then
X+11->X
0->Y
End
Text(X,Y,O,"P"
Text(X-3,Y+8,N
Y+12->Y
0->N
O+1->O
1->S
Goto 2
Lbl 5
If O=5
Then
X+11->X
0->Y
End
Text(X,Y,O,"D"
Text(X-3,Y+8,N
Y+16->Y
0->N
O+1->O
S-1->S
Goto 2
Lbl 6
Text(X,Y,O,"F"
Text(X-3,Y+8,N
Y+16->Y
0->N
S-1->S
O+1->O
Goto 2
Lbl 8
If N=0
Goto 9
If S=1
Text(X,Y,O,"S"
If S=2
Text(X,Y,O,"P"
If S=3
Text(X,Y,O,"D"
If S=4
Text(X,Y,O,"F"
Text(X-3,Y+8,N
Lbl 9
Pause
AxesOn
ClrDraw
ClrHome

You could replace the goto inside the if..then..end like this:

Lbl 1
ClrHome
Input "nr of e- :",E
If E<112 //If not(E>112)
Goto 0
ClrHome
Pause "Too many!"
Goto 1
Lbl 0


Last edited by Guest on 23 Mar 2004 11:54:52 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 23 Mar 2004 06:49:36 pm    Post subject:

Arcane Wizard wrote:
Translated since most people here aren't Dutch:

And since most or all of us aren't german, thanks also for replacing the "ü"s
Back to top
Arcane Wizard
`semi-hippie`


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 8993

Posted: 24 Mar 2004 12:03:06 pm    Post subject:

No problem, but that was more because most people here don't have a build-in ticonnect output -> normal source code parser in their head.
Back to top
JeePee


Member


Joined: 18 Jan 2004
Posts: 181

Posted: 24 Mar 2004 01:02:01 pm    Post subject:

Sorry I didn't translate it, but I got it right from a Dutch forum Razz
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    »
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 1 of 1 » All times are UTC - 5 Hours

 

Advertisement