This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's Technology & Calculator Open Topic subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. Calculator Tech Support => Technology & Calculator Open Topic
DigiTan
Unregistered HyperCam 2

Super Elite (Last Title)

Posted: 16 Mar 2004 10:22:34 pm    Post subject:

Evil or Very Mad The Crime:

I just came back from a plane trip to Washington D.C. recently. As an avid programmer, I decided to take my calculator along on the trip for development reasons. On the way back, I passed through airport security ahead of schedule, and decided to make the most of my time and write a short prog. That's when I decovered by calc had been reset!

:evil: The Setting:

The calculator was in my sight the whole time and was just fine the same morning. Plus, I'm still using the Expansion Device, so it had 2 independent battery sources running, in addition to the miniature 'button cell'. I tested this device extensively but I was never able to reproduce this effect.

:evil: Theory:

I suspect an X-ray machine cleared by RAM. Or an EMI field within these machines to be precise. My backpack went though a number of these devices during that time. Luckily nothing of importance was in RAM when this happened. But I'm curious to know if anyone else has witnessed this.

Any theories? I'm donning my foil hat as I speak. Evil or Very Mad
Jedd
1980 Pong World Champion

Elite

Posted: 16 Mar 2004 10:45:46 pm    Post subject:

Hmmmmmmm very interesting. I might ask my physics teacher about that. And next time anyone goes on a plane trip, bring your calc to test it out!