This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's TI-BASIC subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. TI-Basic => TI-BASIC
Author Message
Jedd
1980 Pong World Champion


Elite


Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 823

Posted: 04 Jan 2004 10:49:13 pm    Post subject:

Is there any way to delete a Pic from within a BASIC program? And can you also delete GDB's?

EDIT: OK I figured out that I can delete Pics if I write the code on my computer. Still wondering about GDB's, though. I wrote this quick program to control the memory on my calc. It's really easy and uncomplicated, but its great for deleting old vars that a program left behind. Here's the code:


Code:
ClrHome
Lbl M
1??
Menu("MEMORY CONTROL","DELETE VARS",D,"QUIT",Q
Lbl Q
DelVar ?
Output(1,1,""
Stop
Lbl D
Menu("DELETE WHAT?","ALL VARS",1,"A-Z VARS",2,"LISTS L?-L?",3,"MATRICES",4,"STRINGS",5,"Y VARS",6,"PICS",7
Lbl 1
0??
Lbl 2
DelVar A:DelVar B:DelVar C:DelVar D:DelVar E:DelVar F:DelVar G:DelVar H:DelVar I:DelVar J:DelVar K:DelVar L:DelVar M:DelVar N:DelVar O:DelVar P:DelVar Q:DelVar R:DelVar S:DelVar T:DelVar U:DelVar V:DelVar W:DelVar X:DelVar Y:DelVar Z
If ?
Goto M
Lbl 3
DelVar L?:DelVar L?:DelVar L?:DelVar L?:DelVar L?:DelVar L?
If ?
Goto M
Lbl 4
DelVar [A]:DelVar [B]:DelVar [C]:DelVar [D]:DelVar [E]:DelVar [F]:DelVar [G]:DelVar [H]:DelVar [I]:DelVar [J]
If ?
Goto M
Lbl 5
DelVar Str1:DelVar Str2:DelVar Str3:DelVar Str4:DelVar Str5:DelVar Str6:DelVar Str7:DelVar Str8:DelVar Str9:DelVar Str0
If ?
Goto M
Lbl 6
DelVar Y?:DelVar Y?:DelVar Y?:DelVar Y?:DelVar Y?:DelVar Y?:DelVar Y?:DelVar Y?:DelVar Y?:DelVar Y?
If ?
Goto M
Lbl 7
DelVar Pic1:DelVar Pic2:DelVar Pic3:DelVar Pic4:DelVar Pic5:DelVar Pic6:DelVar Pic7:DelVar Pic8:DelVar Pic9:DelVar Pic0
Goto M


EDIT again: Crap. Ok for some reason theta (feta?) and the STO-> key look like question marks (?) in the coding above. Just change ? to the [theta] and ?? to ->[theta]. Also, the Lists are ? marks. That's where the subscript should be. Just change that too.

This is dumb, maybe I'll just upload it.

Wait, no, I don't care enough. Well if you want it let me know.


Last edited by Guest on 04 Jan 2004 11:38:24 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Arcane Wizard
`semi-hippie`


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 8993

Posted: 05 Jan 2004 07:02:54 am    Post subject:

What's so bad about using [2nd][mem]?

Anyway, deleting GDB's, let's say you want to delete GDB 2:
Delvar GDB2
[PRGM],[G],[VARS],[3],[2]
Back to top
Jeremiah Walgren
General Operations Director


Know-It-All


Joined: 24 May 2003
Posts: 1937

Posted: 05 Jan 2004 06:28:35 pm    Post subject:

DelVar GDB0 (or whatever) should work just fine, like Arcane Wizard stated.
Back to top
Jedd
1980 Pong World Champion


Elite


Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 823

Posted: 05 Jan 2004 06:42:40 pm    Post subject:

Oh. I didn't see it there before, thanks. The only bad thing about [2nd][mem] is that you have to delete things one at a time. If you are trying a program then you realize it sucks, and delete it, it leaves behind alot of unwanted variables. I do this often so it eases the pain of deleting them 1 at a time.
Back to top
Jeremiah Walgren
General Operations Director


Know-It-All


Joined: 24 May 2003
Posts: 1937

Posted: 05 Jan 2004 07:42:59 pm    Post subject:

You could always reset the RAM... Confused
Back to top
Jedd
1980 Pong World Champion


Elite


Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 823

Posted: 05 Jan 2004 08:00:43 pm    Post subject:

Yeah, but I have programs in the RAM, and I prefer not to have to back them up (in groups) every time I clear variables. That's actually what I used to do.
Back to top
Arcane Wizard
`semi-hippie`


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 8993

Posted: 06 Jan 2004 08:44:33 am    Post subject:

I just tab enter repeatedly until I've removed all the vars (be carefull though, if you don't stop in time you'll remove the bottom most program too).
Back to top
Adm.Wiggin
aka Tianon


Know-It-All


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 1874

Posted: 06 Jan 2004 06:07:09 pm    Post subject:

hahahaha, i use this :
[2nd][MEM][2][2]
then, just hold down [DEL] until nothing else displays.


Dont think too hard, guys, it might hurt. Laughing
Back to top
sgm


Calc Guru


Joined: 04 Sep 2003
Posts: 1265

Posted: 06 Jan 2004 07:34:51 pm    Post subject:

I don't think [DEL] is valid input for the "Are you sure?" prompt Smile
Back to top
Jeremiah Walgren
General Operations Director


Know-It-All


Joined: 24 May 2003
Posts: 1937

Posted: 06 Jan 2004 08:28:09 pm    Post subject:

I believe he meant entering the Memory Management menu and finding the Reals submenu, then holding down [DEL]. But, who knows, I could be wrong. Laughing
Back to top
Jedd
1980 Pong World Champion


Elite


Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 823

Posted: 06 Jan 2004 08:46:51 pm    Post subject:

It works for most variables and such, but it will prompt you for programs and Apps (I think). Still easier to just quickly run the program (just goes to show you how truly lazy I am).
Back to top
Adm.Wiggin
aka Tianon


Know-It-All


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 1874

Posted: 07 Jan 2004 07:59:04 am    Post subject:

HAHAHA, you guys make me smile :lol:

you are talking about deleting vars, then, when i suggest an alternative you complain that it wont work for apps Laughing Laughing
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 07 Jan 2004 05:06:37 pm    Post subject:

Jedd wrote:
It works for most variables and such, but it will prompt you for programs and Apps (I think).  Still easier to just quickly run the program (just goes to show you how truly lazy I am).

Also lists and appvars. I think it does it because those are nameable.
Back to top
Fixen


Member


Joined: 27 Jan 2004
Posts: 134

Posted: 29 Jan 2004 11:32:09 am    Post subject:

Jedd, take off all the colons between DelVars in the program, they still work if you do that. You can also save mucho memory!

DelVar ADelVar BDelVar C
Back to top
Darth Android
DragonOS Dev Team


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 31 May 2003
Posts: 2104

Posted: 29 Jan 2004 02:28:16 pm    Post subject:

it prompts on programs and apps (possiblely named lists, i havent cheched, but it will on lists like L1, etc.). the rest it just deletes.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    »
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 1 of 1 » All times are UTC - 5 Hours

 

Advertisement