This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's Your Projects subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. Robot War => Your Projects
United-TI Archives -> Robot War
 
    » Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
darkstone knight


Advanced Member


Joined: 07 Sep 2008
Posts: 438

Posted: 26 May 2009 04:21:06 pm    Post subject:

digitan for president! Razz
Back to top
IAmACalculator
In a state of quasi-hiatus


Know-It-All


Joined: 21 Oct 2005
Posts: 1571

Posted: 26 May 2009 05:17:26 pm    Post subject:

Oh man, if I were a Photoshop ninja I'd be on that comment like a five-year-old in a candy store (I have slightly more competence than that). Time to break out the 'ol Gimp skillz...
Back to top
ztrumpet


Active Member


Joined: 06 May 2009
Posts: 555

Posted: 26 May 2009 06:46:57 pm    Post subject:

darkstone knight wrote:
digitan for president! Razz
Back to top
Eeems


Advanced Member


Joined: 25 Jan 2009
Posts: 277

Posted: 26 May 2009 06:57:18 pm    Post subject:

This works better! GIMP FTW!!!!!!!!!!!
Back to top
DigiTan
Unregistered HyperCam 2


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 10 Nov 2003
Posts: 4468

Posted: 26 May 2009 08:11:53 pm    Post subject:

You can put the flag on top. The 'tan is nothing if not patriotic. :D

- The mapping problem was fixed. Turns out the tilemapper was just referenced to the wrong spot in RAM. Yesterday, I ran a scroll speed test. It worked but 83+'s fastcopy seems measurable slower than 82's call Cr_GrbCopy utiltity--which scrolls illegibly fast in this sort of thing.

Anyway, I promised myself I would start on the JET Fortress video as soon as the maps were working. Will hopefully have that done before next week.
Back to top
Mapar007


Advanced Member


Joined: 04 Oct 2008
Posts: 365

Posted: 27 May 2009 12:31:23 pm    Post subject:

You could take the "old" fastcopy which is faster but shows mess on badly configured LCD drivers...
Back to top
tr1p1ea


Elite


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 870

Posted: 28 May 2009 01:47:47 am    Post subject:

I wonder what version of fastcopy you are using? You are using fastcopy right? (not the grBufCpy bcall?)
Back to top
darkstone knight


Advanced Member


Joined: 07 Sep 2008
Posts: 438

Posted: 28 May 2009 02:31:53 am    Post subject:

this one?
Back to top
DigiTan
Unregistered HyperCam 2


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 10 Nov 2003
Posts: 4468

Posted: 31 May 2009 09:35:26 pm    Post subject:

Okay, here's this week's challenge. As you've probably heard, Robot War II will be multi-page app. Based on the direction things are going, I'll need 2 pages for executable code, which means I'll have to jump from one page to the other occasionally. Does anyone know the name of the ROM call for doing that?
Back to top
Graphmastur


Advanced Member


Joined: 25 Mar 2009
Posts: 360

Posted: 31 May 2009 10:09:15 pm    Post subject:

You use a jump table at the beginning of your app. You can find out more at z80-heaven.wikidot.com

Last edited by Guest on 31 May 2009 10:11:34 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
calc84maniac


Elite


Joined: 22 Jan 2007
Posts: 770

Posted: 31 May 2009 10:23:37 pm    Post subject:

If you're going for speed, though, OS routines aren't the way to go.
Back to top
DigiTan
Unregistered HyperCam 2


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 10 Nov 2003
Posts: 4468

Posted: 31 May 2009 10:34:49 pm    Post subject:

I just looked at the 83+ SDK Guide and it's saying I can just use BCALL lable or BJUMP lable. From FloppusMaximus's post last week on ROM call times I'm guessing off-page jumps have a price measured in 100's of clock cycles. So my best bet so far is to group the codes with high-speed requirements in one app. That way I can minimize the number of off-page jumps during the main game loop.


Also in response to the other questions, I'm using the non-safe fastcopy version. But only for learning convenience. I'll switch to the safe version on a later date.
Back to top
FloppusMaximus


Advanced Member


Joined: 22 Aug 2008
Posts: 472

Posted: 31 May 2009 10:39:15 pm    Post subject:

If you need the speed, switching between pages isn't the way to go, if you can avoid it! With that said, if you really wanted to, you could create a "stub" like this, for each page-1 routine that you want to be able to call from page 0:

Code:
call_someRoutine:
   push af
   in a,(6)
   dec a
   out (6),a
   pop af
   call someRoutine
   push af
   in a,(6)
   inc a
   out (6),a
   pop af
   ret


Of course, this code must be placed at the exact same address on both page 0 and page 1. And of course, there are ways to make it more compact, and depending on the circumstances, there may be ways to make it even faster.

When it comes to compactness, though, B_CALLs are hard to beat.

Edit: Yeah, what you said. Smile


Last edited by Guest on 31 May 2009 10:41:10 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Mapar007


Advanced Member


Joined: 04 Oct 2008
Posts: 365

Posted: 01 Jun 2009 02:12:45 pm    Post subject:

a, I was going to post about the same... Laughing
Back to top
tr1p1ea


Elite


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 870

Posted: 02 Jun 2009 01:16:33 am    Post subject:

You can also just chuck it into a saferam area.
Back to top
Galandros


Active Member


Joined: 29 Aug 2008
Posts: 565

Posted: 02 Jun 2009 08:44:46 am    Post subject:

As we are in one off suggesting:

don't forget the jp (hl)


Code:
#define RWcall(label)   ld hl,label  call call_someRoutine
RWccall:
call_someRoutine:
   push af
   in a,(6)
   dec a
   out (6),a
   pop af
   call jumping
   push af
   in a,(6)
   inc a
   out (6),a
   pop af
   ret

jumping:
jp (hl)

Putting this into saferam would be great.


Last edited by Guest on 02 Jun 2009 08:46:02 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
DigiTan
Unregistered HyperCam 2


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 10 Nov 2003
Posts: 4468

Posted: 20 Jun 2009 01:17:30 pm    Post subject:

Looks like I have enough info to go on. This weekend, I'll start the 82-83+ code merger. There are 25 inter-connected source files that need to be updated so it could take a while before it will assemble again. The flash edition placed a lot of codes and buffers in saferams whereas the 82 version was mostly self-contained. So it could take a while to sort out all the memory bookkeeping.

Last edited by Guest on 20 Jun 2009 01:34:46 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Mapar007


Advanced Member


Joined: 04 Oct 2008
Posts: 365

Posted: 25 Jun 2009 01:54:38 am    Post subject:

#define is your friend Smile
Back to top
DigiTan
Unregistered HyperCam 2


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 10 Nov 2003
Posts: 4468

Posted: 25 Jun 2009 08:24:25 am    Post subject:

So far, the RWcall is working. I put it the TempSwapArea area along with a smaller version that only handles sprite draws. Right now, the game can use code and graphics with impunity...versus the bcalls which would've seriously slowed things down.

Still haven't actually started merging the codes yet. (Wanted to see that RWcalls were working first).

After adding to the character bios, I decided to definitely port over the original RW1. The story (which was pretty sparce on TI82 due to space limits) is being retconned a bit to focus on the role of the Atlas Institute, the villian's rise to power, and Edgar's rivalry with Reed. All the original characters are in RW2 also, and there's a sprite sheet at Maxcoderz of the characters so far.


Last edited by Guest on 25 Jun 2009 08:25:53 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
DigiTan
Unregistered HyperCam 2


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 10 Nov 2003
Posts: 4468

Posted: 03 Jul 2009 11:05:13 pm    Post subject:

Things ported this week:
- Physics (ok) / collisions (untested)
- All maps and sprites (all ok)
- Object create/ object locate / object explosion / object remove (all ok)
- AI (buggy)
- Key checks (buggy)
- Pause/Menus (unstable)
- Text routines (unstable)

Things to work on:
- Debug object manager
- Debug key checks
- Add text support

Right now the TI-83+ version is able to load maps, put unlimited *basic* enemies on-screen and run without crashing for the most part. The only bad part is it can't display Edgar yet because of differences in how this version stores object data. And anything involving text is 100% FUBAR until those codes are ported to recognize outside flash pages. Things for both versions will need to be restructured before that will work.


Last edited by Guest on 03 Jul 2009 11:07:21 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    » Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 7 of 10 » All times are UTC - 5 Hours

 

Advertisement