Or to put the thread topic another way, I might call it "Choosing a new portable media player". That's boring, though, so we shall discuss how I may modernize my pockets herein.

History: I've been using a first-generation Zune since the winter of 2006/2007. It seems to have finally bit the dust yesterday, when I selected a track to play and it entered a reboot loop rather than greeting me with glorious music. Seems like Microsoft no longer support the original 30GB Zune and I won't mind having a device that doesn't tether me to Windows, so it's time to upgrade to a new, modern device.

Therefore, anyone have neat suggestions? I'd like at least as much storage as I've got on the Zune (so 30GB), and it shouldn't require any terribly specific software, as I want to be able to put data on it without rebooting my machine out of Linux. Good format support (flac, ogg) and storage expandability (via SD cards usually) are both good pluses.
Price is not a large consideration, as long as it's reasonable when considering the features offered.

I'm currently leaning toward the CSmiling Catn J3 [emoticon attack.. that's C-o-w-o-n], which is available with up to 32GB of storage and is expandable via MicroSD. It's also very sexy looking.

Enough about me. What do y'all think?
Well it wouldn't fit your specs, but my brother's creative zen is a small, simple solution that's worked for years despite being dropped, thrown, stepped on, and otherwise abused.
The Creative devices are indeed pretty nice. Looks like they're in rather short supply, though. Most of the ones on Amazon are refurbs or just old models.

Kerm had mentioned the Samsung YP-P3 on IRC, but the low capacity (8GB max) kinda makes it a no-go. I can't find any place that actually sells it, either.