I have a question. I know that there is data in the VAT relating to a program that is not really used and can be modified without causing issues, as evidenced by Kerm's folder creation in DCS7. I need to set up a flag for something using one of those pieces of info, but it cannot interfere with DCS, obviously. Any ideas?
If I recall correctly, there are two bytes of data that are able to be used. DCS uses one, the other is not used by anything important.
Can someone who knows, or perhaps Kerm, indicate which?
You can use CalcSys to find out.
SirCmpwn wrote:
You can use CalcSys to find out.

I suppose, but I don't trust myself with this stuff yet. I'm still learning. I think that there is a post somewhere about it.
The worst you can do with CalcSys at your skill level is clear RAM.
Ok, I will try. How do I locate a program with CalcSys?
There's a file in there called "readme.txt", you should follow the instructions in the filename.
Ok, found my program. Now what? Never used CalcSys for this before.
CalcSys is a low-level tool for investigating how your calculator works. Read the readme, please, then play around with it and ask specific questions. To view the VAT entry from a program screen, press Alpha+V.
SirCmpwn wrote:
CalcSys is a low-level tool for investigating how your calculator works. Read the readme, please, then play around with it and ask specific questions. To view the VAT entry from a program screen, press Alpha+V.

Ok, so the bytes that aren't really used I found are this...

the type byte (I can't really touch this)
the type-2 byte (DoorsCS uses this)
the version byte (can I use this? I think not?)
You can't touch any of them, sadly. Type is obviously important, MirageOS and Doors CS each use the T2 byte to indicate parent folder for things, and the version byte is only modifiable if you want your calculator to refuse to send that program to any other calculator.
You could set the high bit of T2 and mess around with DCS to try and get around it.