42%  [ 3 ]
Linux Mint
 0%  [ 0 ]
Fedora
 28%  [ 2 ]
Ubuntu Netbook Edition
 28%  [ 2 ]
Total Votes : 7

What would be the best Linux distribution for a laptop with a Pentium M processor, 512mb RAM, and a 32GB hard drive? It has to run reasonably fast and also needs to have WiFi drivers. I was thinking of either Xubuntu, Linux Mint, Fedora, or Ubuntu Netbook edition, but I am willing to try others too.
Ubuntu I guess, it is the only linux OS that I would use.
Why is debian not listed?

With those specs, you're better off running Fluxbox or JWM.
qazz42 wrote:
Ubuntu I guess, it is the only linux OS that I would use.

I used that before, but that was too slow. Sad
allynfolksjr wrote:
Why is debian not listed?

With those specs, you're better off running Fluxbox or JWM.

I'll think about Debian, but I've never used it before. Can it be installed/run from a live CD/USB?
I've tried Mint, Xubuntu, and Fedora. Personally, I wouldn't know much for Xubuntu because I could never get it to even load on my desktop (256 mb of ram), I've even heard of Windows 7 running on 512 mb though. My personal vote would have to go to the Ubuntu Netbook edition, simply because I haven't tried it yet. I love the look and feel of Mint, and the number of programs for Ubuntu.
Ubuntu on a 512MB system and a M proc? HAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHA
oh, wait, I didnt look at the specs properly, ignore my last post
http://www.go2linux.org/installing-a-light-linux-operating-system-debian-fluxbox
allynfolksjr wrote:
http://www.go2linux.org/installing-a-light-linux-operating-system-debian-fluxbox

Thank you! Very Happy
IMO Xubuntu would be a nice choice. I've used it on a slower system (Celeron III) and worked great. It also has a benefit in form of a massive software repository.
Ubuntu Netbook Remix is godly on my EEEPC 901 netbook, which has a 1.6GHz Atom, a gig of RAM, and 28GB of storage among a 4GB primary SSD, a 16GB secondary SSD, and an 8GB SD card.