Login [Register]
Don't have an account? Register now to chat, post, use our tools, and much more.
This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's Technology & Calculator Open Topic subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. Community News & Discuss Nspire => Technology & Calculator Open Topic
Author Message
yifanlu


Newbie


Joined: 21 Mar 2010
Posts: 15

Posted: 15 Sep 2010 03:39:00 pm    Post subject:

So I was casually checking the ndless repo, and as of yesterday, a new commit was made including 1.7 syscalls, a new readme talking about installing on 1.7, and just about every file was updated. However, I haven't seen news of the Ndless 1.7 release. Was it released in secret? I don't have time to compile it right now, if you compiled it (and it's the new ndless), please PM me a copy. Thank you.
Back to top
calc84maniac


Elite


Joined: 22 Jan 2007
Posts: 770

Posted: 15 Sep 2010 03:47:50 pm    Post subject:

From what I can tell, it's still an unstable copy. I wouldn't recommend trying it until a release.
Back to top
yifanlu


Newbie


Joined: 21 Mar 2010
Posts: 15

Posted: 15 Sep 2010 04:06:14 pm    Post subject:

Ok, thanks.
Back to top
bwang


Member


Joined: 15 Mar 2009
Posts: 128

Posted: 15 Sep 2010 05:02:26 pm    Post subject:

It does work - however, it is incompatible with the current release of gbc4nspire.
Do you still need a copy?
Back to top
yifanlu


Newbie


Joined: 21 Mar 2010
Posts: 15

Posted: 15 Sep 2010 07:44:29 pm    Post subject:

bwang wrote:

It does work - however, it is incompatible with the current release of gbc4nspire.
Do you still need a copy?


Also, you know what's wrong with it that makes it "unstable"?

P.S: There are many minor versions of 1.7. I assume it works with the "newest" 1.7 (the last version before 2.0)?


Last edited by Guest on 15 Sep 2010 11:33:42 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
apcalc


Newbie


Joined: 28 Jun 2010
Posts: 22

Posted: 15 Sep 2010 09:17:20 pm    Post subject:

For me, it worked fine with 1.7.2741.

I would think it would work on all versions of 1.7, though. I think that is like the differences between 2.0.0 and 2.0.1.

I believe the part that makes it "unstable" is the fact that the program loader does not completely work on hardware.
Back to top
yifanlu


Newbie


Joined: 21 Mar 2010
Posts: 15

Posted: 15 Sep 2010 10:08:25 pm    Post subject:

apcalc wrote:

For me, it worked fine with 1.7.2741.

I would think it would work on all versions of 1.7, though. I think that is like the differences between 2.0.0 and 2.0.1.

I believe the part that makes it "unstable" is the fact that the program loader does not completely work on hardware.

What do you mean by that? We have to connect to the computer at reboot or something?


Last edited by Guest on 15 Sep 2010 11:33:26 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
calc84maniac


Elite


Joined: 22 Jan 2007
Posts: 770

Posted: 16 Sep 2010 09:08:13 am    Post subject:

Yifan wrote:

apcalc wrote:

For me, it worked fine with 1.7.2741.

I would think it would work on all versions of 1.7, though. I think that is like the differences between 2.0.0 and 2.0.1.

I believe the part that makes it "unstable" is the fact that the program loader does not completely work on hardware.

What do you mean by that? We have to connect to the computer at reboot or something?

It means that running programs sometimes crashes the calculator. The cause is currently unknown, and I assume it is the main thing keeping it from release.

Edit:
Also, when looking through the source I saw some pretty important stuff was missing from the CAS version, so I think it won't even install on CAS yet.


Last edited by Guest on 16 Sep 2010 10:02:08 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
critor


Member


Joined: 04 Feb 2009
Posts: 132

Posted: 16 Sep 2010 03:37:42 pm    Post subject:

bwang wrote:

It does work - however, it is incompatible with the current release of gbc4nspire.



Can this be fixed easily ? . . . Neutral
Back to top
yifanlu


Newbie


Joined: 21 Mar 2010
Posts: 15

Posted: 16 Sep 2010 04:06:36 pm    Post subject:

critor wrote:

bwang wrote:

It does work - however, it is incompatible with the current release of gbc4nspire.



Can this be fixed easily ? . . . Neutral

That's what I'm wondering. Rumor is that calc84maniac lost the source code to it in a computer crash. However, the readme says that it's coded in assembly, so it shouldn't be THAT hard to disassemble it and modify, right?


Last edited by Guest on 16 Sep 2010 04:06:56 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
calc84maniac


Elite


Joined: 22 Jan 2007
Posts: 770

Posted: 16 Sep 2010 04:33:36 pm    Post subject:

In theory, I could do a diff between the NON-CAS and CAS versions to find where the OS routine addresses are stored in the program. Then I could just change them to be the OS 1.7 addresses.
Back to top
bwang


Member


Joined: 15 Mar 2009
Posts: 128

Posted: 16 Sep 2010 05:38:47 pm    Post subject:

Indeed, you should do that. It would be terrible if Ndless 1.7 had no end-user programs.
Back to top
Goplat


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 26 Jun 2007
Posts: 95

Posted: 16 Sep 2010 06:02:34 pm    Post subject:

calc84maniac wrote:

In theory, I could do a diff between the NON-CAS and CAS versions to find where the OS routine addresses are stored in the program. Then I could just change them to be the OS 1.7 addresses.

One problem: It looks like Ndless 1.7 doesn't provide any way to get the current program's path (it used to be passed in r9).
Back to top
calc84maniac


Elite


Joined: 22 Jan 2007
Posts: 770

Posted: 16 Sep 2010 06:06:16 pm    Post subject:

Goplat wrote:

calc84maniac wrote:

In theory, I could do a diff between the NON-CAS and CAS versions to find where the OS routine addresses are stored in the program. Then I could just change them to be the OS 1.7 addresses.

One problem: It looks like Ndless 1.7 doesn't provide any way to get the current program's path (it used to be passed in r9).

Hmm, well, I've just gotten word from ExtendeD that main(argc,argv) support has been added and the program path is in argv[0]. Smile
Back to top
critor


Member


Joined: 04 Feb 2009
Posts: 132

Posted: 16 Sep 2010 06:13:52 pm    Post subject:

calc84maniac wrote:

In theory, I could do a diff between the NON-CAS and CAS versions to find where the OS routine addresses are stored in the program. Then I could just change them to be the OS 1.7 addresses.



That would be great! Very Happy

On TI-Bank.fr, more than 80% of people downloading Ndless are also downloading gb4nspire, you know! Neutral
Back to top
Goplat


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 26 Jun 2007
Posts: 95

Posted: 16 Sep 2010 06:44:32 pm    Post subject:

calc84maniac wrote:

Goplat wrote:

calc84maniac wrote:

In theory, I could do a diff between the NON-CAS and CAS versions to find where the OS routine addresses are stored in the program. Then I could just change them to be the OS 1.7 addresses.

One problem: It looks like Ndless 1.7 doesn't provide any way to get the current program's path (it used to be passed in r9).

Hmm, well, I've just gotten word from ExtendeD that main(argc,argv) support has been added and the program path is in argv[0]. Smile

Great! Here's a copy of gbc4nspire.tns I hex-edited to make it work in Ndless 1.7.
Back to top
bwang


Member


Joined: 15 Mar 2009
Posts: 128

Posted: 16 Sep 2010 07:12:44 pm    Post subject:

Hmm...the attached file crashes on my non-CAS emulator image.
EDIT: Never mind! I didn't install the latest Ndless.


Last edited by Guest on 16 Sep 2010 07:17:13 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
calc84maniac


Elite


Joined: 22 Jan 2007
Posts: 770

Posted: 16 Sep 2010 07:17:25 pm    Post subject:

bwang wrote:

Hmm...the attached file crashes on my non-CAS emulator image.

You probably have to have the updated version I mentioned that adds argc/argv support.
Back to top
yifanlu


Newbie


Joined: 21 Mar 2010
Posts: 15

Posted: 17 Sep 2010 08:06:04 pm    Post subject:

Ok, I see why it's unstable now. (Or I didn't compile right). 1/5 of the time, it freezes at the clock. 2/5 of the time it freezes in a black screen after reboot. 1/5 of the time, it works. If anyone wants a copy of compiled svn build 236 (lastest as of now), PM me. (I also have 1.7 compiled BlockDudeNspire)

EDIT: Ok, Nspire EMU loads Ndless 1.7 perfectly every time. I suspect the thing holding up is finding out why it doesn't work on the calculator 100%.


Last edited by Guest on 17 Sep 2010 09:56:40 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
ExtendeD


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 30 Aug 2009
Posts: 91

Posted: 18 Sep 2010 02:24:20 am    Post subject:

Yifan wrote:

1/5 of the time, it freezes at the clock.

We probably won't be able to do much for this one.

Quote:
2/5 of the time it freezes in a black screen after reboot.

Try to install Ndless while the calculator is connected to a computer.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    » Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 1 of 4 » All times are GMT - 5 Hours

 

Advertisement