Login [Register]
Don't have an account? Register now to chat, post, use our tools, and much more.
This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's Your Projects subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. Dragon OS => Your Projects
United-TI Archives -> Dragon OS
 
    » Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Darth Android
DragonOS Dev Team


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 31 May 2003
Posts: 2104

Posted: 16 Jan 2004 09:17:01 am    Post subject:

JACstudios_ceo wrote:
It would appear that your computer problems have caused #unitedti to shut down; it no longer shows up on searchIRC.

i have disscussed this problem with mary (she works for searchirc). it is because Quakenet has serveral million channels, and the server disconnects them before they can get all the channels. and guess what: Unitedti starts with a "U, which means it's gonna be at the end of the list. they are hoping to get and I line so that they can get all the channels without being dissconnected.


Last edited by Guest on 16 Jan 2004 09:18:07 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Arcane Wizard
`semi-hippie`


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 8993

Posted: 16 Jan 2004 10:13:11 am    Post subject:

Can't they use some kind of method that interacts with the /list command?
Back to top
Toksyuryel
Crimson Dragon Software


Elite


Joined: 14 Jun 2003
Posts: 880

Posted: 16 Jan 2004 10:44:08 am    Post subject:

Well THAT's just perfect... is there another way I can get on to #unitedti (aside from mIRC)?
Back to top
Darth Android
DragonOS Dev Team


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 31 May 2003
Posts: 2104

Posted: 16 Jan 2004 01:02:50 pm    Post subject:

Arcane Wizard wrote:
Can't they use some kind of method that interacts with the /list command?

they have a robot that gets on and does a /list, then stores the data. i know that doing a full /list command will get my 2.66 ghz computer (dsl line) kicked off because i cant respont to the incoming data fast enough.

yes. connect to any channel on quakenet, then type /join #unitedti


Last edited by Guest on 16 Jan 2004 01:39:29 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Toksyuryel
Crimson Dragon Software


Elite


Joined: 14 Jun 2003
Posts: 880

Posted: 16 Jan 2004 01:21:01 pm    Post subject:

Alright. How do I do that without mIRC? Got a url for me?
Back to top
Darth Android
DragonOS Dev Team


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 31 May 2003
Posts: 2104

Posted: 16 Jan 2004 01:36:31 pm    Post subject:

goto searchirc.com. do a search on quakenet or something. find a channel that is on the quakenet network login to it asif you were logging onto #unitedti. once you are in that channel, type /join #unitedti in the edit box. im sorry if i didnt make it clear the first time

Last edited by Guest on 16 Jan 2004 01:40:20 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
shadowing
Powered by 64


Calc Guru


Joined: 06 Jan 2004
Posts: 1002

Posted: 17 Jan 2004 12:44:44 am    Post subject:

Huh? Any new ideas for Dragon OS?
Back to top
Arcane Wizard
`semi-hippie`


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 8993

Posted: 17 Jan 2004 04:11:25 am    Post subject:

JACstudios_ceo wrote:
Well THAT's just perfect... is there another way I can get on to #unitedti (aside from mIRC)?

Start mirc and type the following when you can:
/server irc.quakenet.org (if you want to stay connected to your current server, use /server -m irc.quakenet.org)
/join #unitedti

Quote:
they have a robot that gets on and does a /list, then stores the data. i know that doing a full /list command will get my 2.66 ghz computer (dsl line) kicked off because i cant respont to the incoming data fast enough.
That sounds quite odd to me since my 800mhz (512k cable) handles it fine, in fact it handled it fine back when it had 256mb less ram, a TNT2 16mb vid card (instead of a GF2 Ti 64mb) and a 56k dialup modem.

Last edited by Guest on 17 Jan 2004 04:12:40 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Adm.Wiggin
aka Tianon


Know-It-All


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 1874

Posted: 17 Jan 2004 01:28:31 pm    Post subject:

JACstudios_ceo wrote:
(aside from mIRC)

did you miss this ArcWiz? jus' makin' sure :P




Darth already explained how to log into the channel from SearchIRC, now could we please get back on topic?
Back to top
shadowing
Powered by 64


Calc Guru


Joined: 06 Jan 2004
Posts: 1002

Posted: 17 Jan 2004 09:47:40 pm    Post subject:

Hear hear! Let's get back on topic. As I stated earlier, any new ideas?
Back to top
Darth Android
DragonOS Dev Team


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 31 May 2003
Posts: 2104

Posted: 19 Jan 2004 10:44:50 am    Post subject:

well, i plan to move dragonOS to an app, so i dont eat the user's mem
Back to top
Toksyuryel
Crimson Dragon Software


Elite


Joined: 14 Jun 2003
Posts: 880

Posted: 21 Jan 2004 10:41:57 am    Post subject:

As and APP, you'll be competing with Nimbus. I think that people will ultimately have to decide on if they want just a basic OS that lists the programs and does various simple commands on them (NimbusOS), or if they want a cool GUI that can do so much more (DragonOS). I'm confident that they'll make the right choice.
Back to top
David
The XORcist!


Advanced Member


Joined: 20 May 2003
Posts: 268

Posted: 21 Jan 2004 12:00:29 pm    Post subject:

JACstudios_ceo wrote:
As and APP, you'll be competing with Nimbus. I think that people will ultimately have to decide on if they want just a basic OS that lists the programs and does various simple commands on them (NimbusOS), or if they want a cool GUI that can do so much more (DragonOS). I'm confident that they'll make the right choice.

Uhmm, isn't NimbusOS an app written in assembly? Neutral
Back to top
Toksyuryel
Crimson Dragon Software


Elite


Joined: 14 Jun 2003
Posts: 880

Posted: 21 Jan 2004 01:00:32 pm    Post subject:

By "basic" I mean "simple".
Back to top
Darth Android
DragonOS Dev Team


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 31 May 2003
Posts: 2104

Posted: 21 Jan 2004 01:43:04 pm    Post subject:

basic == simple,easy
BASIC == a high-level programming language

David, if you can find me an application written in BASIC, send it to me with all haste!

JAC: you are right. Nimbus is for running programs, that kind of stuff. DragonOS is more like a palm pilot: there won't be a calculator unless you install one! So, personally, i do not think they will be competing.
im sorry if this post came across as degrading to Nimbus, that is not my intention.
Back to top
Keith Pierce


Advanced Member


Joined: 02 Feb 2004
Posts: 411

Posted: 02 Feb 2004 09:02:25 am    Post subject:

Hey This is the one of the Staff members of Kat-Productions and i was wondering if the maker or developer of DragonOs is still interested in becoming a member? If you are just go to this link and tell us at the boards and we will set you up! Also we are looking for other members so just go there and we can see what me, and the other person think! thanks
Kat-Productions
Back to top
Darth Android
DragonOS Dev Team


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 31 May 2003
Posts: 2104

Posted: 02 Feb 2004 09:16:14 am    Post subject:

im sorry, but i have my own group, and am a part of 2 others. i dont really need one more right now. Sad
Back to top
Keith Pierce


Advanced Member


Joined: 02 Feb 2004
Posts: 411

Posted: 02 Feb 2004 09:18:29 am    Post subject:

its all ok its just a few members were asking if you were coming back so! Its ok! No probe!
Back to top
Darth Android
DragonOS Dev Team


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 31 May 2003
Posts: 2104

Posted: 02 Feb 2004 02:03:14 pm    Post subject:

coming back? was i a part of kat-produtions??
Back to top
Keith Pierce


Advanced Member


Joined: 02 Feb 2004
Posts: 411

Posted: 24 Feb 2004 01:34:30 pm    Post subject:

Hey I was wondering something! I am not trying to be mean or anything, but whats the point with having the mouse?
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    » Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 3 of 4 » All times are GMT - 5 Hours

 

Advertisement