Login [Register]
Don't have an account? Register now to chat, post, use our tools, and much more.
This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's TI-BASIC subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. TI-Basic => TI-BASIC
Author Message
GloryMXE7
Puzzleman 3000


Active Member


Joined: 02 Nov 2008
Posts: 604

Posted: 16 Oct 2009 10:08:11 am    Post subject:

I was wondering what the best way to store levels for a game. I'm not sure if i should program them directly into the program , or store them and pull them from somewhere else when i need them. I guess it would depend on how many I have, but i can worry about that later. I only want to know for future reference only right now though.
Back to top
ztrumpet


Active Member


Joined: 06 May 2009
Posts: 555

Posted: 16 Oct 2009 02:37:11 pm    Post subject:

Personally I'd store them as lists (within the program) because then if you wish to make a level editor you can still use (external) lists to store user made levels.
Examples of this:
Drifter (Mine)
Donut Quest (Darkerline)
Back to top
GloryMXE7
Puzzleman 3000


Active Member


Joined: 02 Nov 2008
Posts: 604

Posted: 16 Oct 2009 03:02:46 pm    Post subject:

thats what i was thinking mostly because matrices take a long time to write out, and i can easily convert list to matrices. well i just had to be sure, so thanks.
Back to top
GloryMXE7
Puzzleman 3000


Active Member


Joined: 02 Nov 2008
Posts: 604

Posted: 16 Oct 2009 10:22:55 pm    Post subject:

what if i stored the levels in a picture, i mean since i am using x lib i am probably going to need a pic for my sprite map any way. i can use a for( loop and pxl-test to set up the matrix then add the start position. also i can make the levels sprites for a level select screen to. oh and sorry about the double post
Back to top
ztrumpet


Active Member


Joined: 06 May 2009
Posts: 555

Posted: 17 Oct 2009 09:02:01 am    Post subject:

Bottom line is it's up to you. Do whatever you think is the best method. Smile
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    »
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 1 of 1 » All times are GMT - 5 Hours

 

Advertisement