Login [Register]
Don't have an account? Register now to chat, post, use our tools, and much more.
This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's Calculator Hardware subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. Calculator Modifications => Calculator Hardware
Author Message
MSR5


Newbie


Joined: 22 Jun 2008
Posts: 49

Posted: 15 Oct 2008 02:04:15 am    Post subject:

Well my TI 84+SE decided that it had enough and self destructed. Most of the calculator is fine but the microprocessor got fried. Instead of buying a new calc what microprocessors would you recommended I use to replace the dead one?

thank you for helping
Back to top
darkstone knight


Advanced Member


Joined: 07 Sep 2008
Posts: 438

Posted: 15 Oct 2008 04:26:19 am    Post subject:

the same.... Z80 8MHZ
Back to top
calc84maniac


Elite


Joined: 22 Jan 2007
Posts: 770

Posted: 15 Oct 2008 06:23:16 am    Post subject:

It's actually 6MHz or 15MHz, depending on which speed is set.
Back to top
Weregoose
Authentic INTJ


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 25 Nov 2004
Posts: 3976

Posted: 15 Oct 2008 06:56:56 am    Post subject:

MSR5 wrote:
Well my TI 84+SE decided that it had enough and self destructed.  Most of the calculator is fine but the microprocessor got fried.  Instead of buying a new calc what microprocessors would you recommended I use to replace the dead one?
Whatever your upcoming classes recommend. It'd be a shame to have to use a 68k when all you carry is a z80, or vice versa.

[EDIT]

Whoops, I misread.


Last edited by Guest on 15 Oct 2008 06:29:46 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
benryves


Active Member


Joined: 23 Feb 2006
Posts: 564

Posted: 15 Oct 2008 12:18:30 pm    Post subject:

I believe that the 84+SE uses an ASIC. That is to say that several of the components are bundled into a single, TI-84+ specific chip containing the Z80 MPU, RAM and (I think?) the USB controller. In short, the only way to replace it would be to pinch one from another TI-84+.

This is in contrast to the 83+, which uses discrete, original ICs.


Last edited by Guest on 15 Oct 2008 12:21:03 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
wolfman928


Newbie


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1

Posted: 15 Oct 2008 06:23:36 pm    Post subject:

i found a site that has info on the chips

TI 84+ microprocessor information
Back to top
Taricorp


Member


Joined: 09 Mar 2006
Posts: 188

Posted: 15 Oct 2008 07:04:42 pm    Post subject:

Quite, the 84+es have an ASIC, rather than the discrete components in the 83+es.

Benryves is totally right, as usual. Very Happy
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    »
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 1 of 1 » All times are GMT - 5 Hours

 

Advertisement