Login [Register]
Don't have an account? Register now to chat, post, use our tools, and much more.
This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's Your Projects subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. Robot War => Your Projects
United-TI Archives -> Robot War
 
    » Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Madskillz


Active Member


Joined: 02 Jan 2004
Posts: 608

Posted: 14 Oct 2008 11:06:01 pm    Post subject:

Alright Digi sounds great...get ready for that brutally cold winter that will surely come!
Back to top
elfprince13
Retired


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 11 Apr 2005
Posts: 3500

Posted: 16 Oct 2008 08:15:23 pm    Post subject:

nice to see progress on the 83/84+ version of this :)

i'm quite happy to have the 84+ so I can have Zelda and this at the same time!!!
Back to top
DigiTan
Unregistered HyperCam 2


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 10 Nov 2003
Posts: 4468

Posted: 19 Oct 2008 10:47:32 pm    Post subject:

Yep, definitely. This app is going to take up only 3 flash pages (not including postcards), so there's plenty of room for both and then some. Next week I move into a newer apartment with a cable connection. So the dial-up from this summer and this week's touch-and-go wireless will be in the past.
Back to top
DigiTan
Unregistered HyperCam 2


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 10 Nov 2003
Posts: 4468

Posted: 18 Nov 2008 11:28:20 pm    Post subject:

Well...cable's hooked up. Lights are on. Everything's survived the move so far. Most of the work being done in the past week or so has been in the new Jet Fortress stage. This week (starting tomorrow) I want to take another cracks at the grayscale titlescreen. Tr1plea donated a GS library that will solve the flicker problem.

All I have to do now is get InsertMem working to set it up as a temporary RAM buffer. But hopfully, I'll be handing out another grayscale test 8xk with a flicker-free title on it before Friday.
Back to top
DigiTan
Unregistered HyperCam 2


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 10 Nov 2003
Posts: 4468

Posted: 23 Nov 2008 02:55:04 pm    Post subject:

Here's another executable hot off the press. It display three test strings and then the improved titlescreen for about 3 seconds.

The app leaves an appvar called []PsychoRW that can be deleted at any time. And if there's less than 2kB, the program will just jump back into TI-OS without showing the title or creating the AppVar. My debugging says everything's stable, but as usual I recommend backing up everything.

Also, for those who tested the last version, let me know how the grayscale compares to October's build.


Last edited by Guest on 23 Nov 2008 02:56:55 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Bronco


Member


Joined: 23 Oct 2008
Posts: 147

Posted: 23 Nov 2008 03:04:32 pm    Post subject:

I think it looks really good.
Back to top
DigiTan
Unregistered HyperCam 2


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 10 Nov 2003
Posts: 4468

Posted: 23 Nov 2008 05:54:00 pm    Post subject:

Okay. It looks like I have enough working now to start merging all this with the TI-82 source files.

The next part is getting the File Select screen up and ready. So naturally, that will involve creating and modifying outside files. (Deleting will be left to TI-OS). Unlike the 82 version where games are named G1, G2, and G3, I want to have these filenames customizable. I also need to find out whether saved games are best suited as progs or appvars. My guess would be progs so you can manage them in MirageOS.

Also, I'll be porting the sprite drawer this week.
Back to top
TheStorm


Calc Guru


Joined: 17 Apr 2007
Posts: 1233

Posted: 23 Nov 2008 06:05:09 pm    Post subject:

Actually I'd say appvars would be better. That way they don't clog up the program menu for people like me who use Calcutil, and I doubt people who use MOS want one more program in the the list of games on their calc.
Back to top
Bronco


Member


Joined: 23 Oct 2008
Posts: 147

Posted: 23 Nov 2008 06:21:19 pm    Post subject:

Plus, you can't (easily) jack with AppVars.
Back to top
DigiTan
Unregistered HyperCam 2


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 10 Nov 2003
Posts: 4468

Posted: 23 Nov 2008 06:23:27 pm    Post subject:

Hmmm...good points. AppVars it is then.

Last edited by Guest on 23 Nov 2008 06:23:45 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
elfprince13
Retired


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 11 Apr 2005
Posts: 3500

Posted: 24 Nov 2008 09:38:35 pm    Post subject:

saving things from an app, is, by definition, what AppVars are for.

just make sure that your loading menu allows the ability to delete the vars, and make sure also that the save files will automatically be archived-unarchived if they archived to start with.


Last edited by Guest on 24 Nov 2008 09:40:10 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
DigiTan
Unregistered HyperCam 2


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 10 Nov 2003
Posts: 4468

Posted: 24 Nov 2008 11:36:19 pm    Post subject:

Well, I guess an in-game delete function wouldn't hurt too much with all the extra memory space. I'm still flying by the seat of my pants here though, do I need this DelVar thing to do that?
Back to top
calc84maniac


Elite


Joined: 22 Jan 2007
Posts: 770

Posted: 25 Nov 2008 10:35:38 am    Post subject:

DigiTan wrote:
Well, I guess an in-game delete function wouldn't hurt too much with all the extra memory space.  I'm still flying by the seat of my pants here though, do I need this DelVar thing to do that?
[post="129451"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]

If you mean bcall(_DelVar), then yes. Though, bcall(_DelVarArc) might work better, since it might be archived.

Just FYI, you call the deleting bcall after you have _chkFindSym'd the variable.
Back to top
DigiTan
Unregistered HyperCam 2


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 10 Nov 2003
Posts: 4468

Posted: 30 Nov 2008 03:06:48 pm    Post subject:

Okay, I'm gonna use those then. I'll maybe just say in the readme that it's recommended to leave savegames unarchived to prevent Flash aging.

----------------
*Whew!* Well it got ugly for a while, but I merged the 83+ work done so far into the 82 source with help from Spencer. In the process, the main source file had to be completely restructured. The good news is it can switch between generating TI-82 progs and TI-83+ apps with just one assembler flag change.

I'm in the process of adding the window-drawing and sprite-drawing routines. I could use a definitive list of the common safe RAM areas and their sizes. So far, I've taken

PlotSScreen - 768 bytes
AppBackUpScreen - 768 bytes
TextShadow - 128 bytes
SavesScreen - ??? (is this seperate from AppBackUpscreen?)
??? - 128 bytes
Back to top
bananaman
Indestructible


Calc Guru


Joined: 12 Sep 2005
Posts: 1124

Posted: 30 Nov 2008 04:08:51 pm    Post subject:

Savesscreen is indeed separate from AppBackUpScreen.

Savescreen is also 768 bytes, but you need to disable APD before you use savesscreen or you will risk destroying all your data if the calc is left inactive.
Back to top
DigiTan
Unregistered HyperCam 2


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 10 Nov 2003
Posts: 4468

Posted: 30 Nov 2008 04:20:01 pm    Post subject:

Okay, how do I disable that? Savescreen will shave 25% off my current AppVar size if it works.

Also what other text safe ram is there besides TextShadow?
Back to top
luby
I want to go back to Philmont!!


Calc Guru


Joined: 23 Apr 2006
Posts: 1477

Posted: 30 Nov 2008 05:46:21 pm    Post subject:

TempSwapArea is 232 bytes (pretty sure)

You won't have to worry about APD unless you have a user input (like Input()) spot where nothing is happening. But, a res apdAble, (IY +apdFlags) will turn it off.


Last edited by Guest on 22 Jul 2010 11:16:29 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
TheStorm


Calc Guru


Joined: 17 Apr 2007
Posts: 1233

Posted: 30 Nov 2008 07:16:50 pm    Post subject:

Just make sure to turn it back on when your done. Razz
Back to top
DigiTan
Unregistered HyperCam 2


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 10 Nov 2003
Posts: 4468

Posted: 30 Nov 2008 09:41:12 pm    Post subject:

Is there an easy way to create random numbers besides the r register? With CrASH, it was as easy as "call RAND."

Last edited by Guest on 30 Nov 2008 09:41:24 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
TheStorm


Calc Guru


Joined: 17 Apr 2007
Posts: 1233

Posted: 30 Nov 2008 09:57:41 pm    Post subject:

well you could always throw in the ion random number routine It isn't too big though it does require a one byte random seed.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    » Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 4 of 10 » All times are GMT - 5 Hours

 

Advertisement