Login [Register]
Don't have an account? Register now to chat, post, use our tools, and much more.
This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's Calculator Hardware subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. Calculator Modifications => Calculator Hardware
Author Message
compulsive_programmer


Newbie


Joined: 15 Apr 2007
Posts: 25

Posted: 19 Apr 2007 08:22:21 pm    Post subject:

I happened to notice that the configuration for the gorgeous 84+ and 84+ SE board are different than the 83 (no surprise really, but I can dream). Can someone help me locate the "magic spot" for replacing transistors for overclocking? Or better yet, could you link me to an 84+ tutorial?
Back to top
baorder54
Elite


Active Member


Joined: 25 Nov 2006
Posts: 748

Posted: 19 Apr 2007 08:58:56 pm    Post subject:

The rich files have a overclock tutorial. Looking up tuts on ticalc is always a good idea. Goto www.ticalc.com/hardware/overclocking

Here is the direct link though, hope this helps: Linkadink
Back to top
compulsive_programmer


Newbie


Joined: 15 Apr 2007
Posts: 25

Posted: 19 Apr 2007 09:23:16 pm    Post subject:

baorder54 wrote:
The rich files have a overclock tutorial.  Looking up tuts on ticalc is always a good idea.  Goto www.ticalc.com/hardware/overclocking

Here is the direct link though, hope this helps: Linkadink
[post="101312"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]


You don't understand though, those don't help because the motherboard is different. The transistors are in different spots which makes it quite difficult to find and locate one. It is a possibility that the TI-84SE uses a different transistor for CPU input than described in most tutorials for TI-83
Back to top
Xphoenix


Elite


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 756

Posted: 19 Apr 2007 10:06:26 pm    Post subject:

Me cannot find a place with instructions on overclocking an 84. However, Me has found that people are saying that the 83+ and 84+/SE are the same.
A guy said he opened both calcs, and they looked identical, except with a better memory chip for the 84.
Back to top
compulsive_programmer


Newbie


Joined: 15 Apr 2007
Posts: 25

Posted: 19 Apr 2007 11:09:38 pm    Post subject:

Xphoenix wrote:
Me cannot find a place with instructions on overclocking an 84. However, Me has found that people are saying that the 83+ and 84+/SE are the same.
A guy said he opened both calcs, and they looked identical, except with a better memory chip for the 84.
[post="101318"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]


These people were either lying or are drastically dislexic to the relative locations of chips and transistors. Observe:

What I found in my calc:
<img src="www.datamath.org/graphing/images/ti_84plus_pcb.jpg">
What isn't in my calc, but people are saying is:
<img src="www.ftp83plus.net/images/dedans.png">
Back to top
compulsive_programmer


Newbie


Joined: 15 Apr 2007
Posts: 25

Posted: 19 Apr 2007 11:13:02 pm    Post subject:

compulsive_programmer wrote:
Xphoenix wrote:
Me cannot find a place with instructions on overclocking an 84. However, Me has found that people are saying that the 83+ and 84+/SE are the same.
A guy said he opened both calcs, and they looked identical, except with a better memory chip for the 84.
[post="101318"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]


These people were either lying or are drastically dislexic to the relative locations of chips and transistors. Observe:

What I found in my calc:
<img src="www.datamath.org/graphing/images/ti_84plus_pcb.jpg">
What isn't in my calc, but people are saying is:
<img src="www.ftp83plus.net/images/dedans.png">
[post="101321"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]

Am I supposed to use the html buttons? Because it's easier for me to type it out...
Back to top
Weregoose
Authentic INTJ


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 25 Nov 2004
Posts: 3976

Posted: 19 Apr 2007 11:31:42 pm    Post subject:

You use [­img]address[/img], as in:

[­img]http://weregoose.unitedti.org/files/reg_rule1.png[/img] =



Full rules here. To your left when posting: BB Code Help

You know where the edit button is. Wink


Last edited by Guest on 19 Apr 2007 11:47:20 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
IAmACalculator
In a state of quasi-hiatus


Know-It-All


Joined: 21 Oct 2005
Posts: 1571

Posted: 20 Apr 2007 06:28:40 am    Post subject:

I just saved that image for future use! :P

@Compulsive programmer: Neither of those images work for me.
Back to top
compulsive_programmer


Newbie


Joined: 15 Apr 2007
Posts: 25

Posted: 20 Apr 2007 03:14:45 pm    Post subject:

Weregoose wrote:
You use [­img]address[/img], as in:

[­img]http://weregoose.unitedti.org/files/reg_rule1.png[/img] =



Full rules here. To your left when posting: BB Code Help

You know where the edit button is. Wink
[post="101323"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]

Read them before I joined, just didn't think to edit. Sorry.
Back to top
IAmACalculator
In a state of quasi-hiatus


Know-It-All


Joined: 21 Oct 2005
Posts: 1571

Posted: 20 Apr 2007 03:56:19 pm    Post subject:

We don't care how many people make that mistake as long as they never do it again for the rest of their miserable existences. Bwhahahahaha!!

Razz


Last edited by Guest on 20 Apr 2007 04:00:52 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    »
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 1 of 1 » All times are GMT - 5 Hours