Login [Register]
Don't have an account? Register now to chat, post, use our tools, and much more.
This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's Calculator Hardware subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. Calculator Modifications => Calculator Hardware
Author Message
slayer117


Member


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 105

Posted: 03 Apr 2007 07:42:51 am    Post subject:

I was just woundering if there is a way to add electronic defense to a calculator...
help
:ninja:
Back to top
Weregoose
Authentic INTJ


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 25 Nov 2004
Posts: 3976

Posted: 03 Apr 2007 08:25:38 am    Post subject:

Do you mean that if someone were to touch your calculator without permission, they would get shocked? Or are you looking for a way to protect your calculator in high voltage areas? :)

Be more specific.


Last edited by Guest on 03 Apr 2007 08:27:35 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
rcfreak0


Advanced Member


Joined: 27 Mar 2007
Posts: 354

Posted: 03 Apr 2007 08:27:04 am    Post subject:

If that what he means, couldnt you just run open wire around the calc and amp up the power from a 9v better to shock people?

Last edited by Guest on 03 Apr 2007 08:27:38 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
DigiTan
Unregistered HyperCam 2


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 10 Nov 2003
Posts: 4468

Posted: 03 Apr 2007 09:31:35 pm    Post subject:

Exploding dye packs! Exploding dye packs!
Back to top
slayer117


Member


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 105

Posted: 09 Apr 2007 07:12:02 am    Post subject:

well I don'y want to kill anybody, and I don't want any "dye" on my calc. what I was thinking was a wire around my calc so that my teachers would not take my calc away anymore. basically my question is: A how to set up a shocker that won't kill, adn B how to give the shocker power with out taking from my calc.
Back to top
Weregoose
Authentic INTJ


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 25 Nov 2004
Posts: 3976

Posted: 09 Apr 2007 11:27:00 am    Post subject:

... :?

Let your teacher take away your calculator. If he/she gets shocked while doing so, then you're looking at more dire consequences than a temporary loss of gaming entertainment.


Last edited by Guest on 09 Apr 2007 11:27:56 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Xphoenix


Elite


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 756

Posted: 09 Apr 2007 11:48:56 am    Post subject:

... Unless of course the shock is so small that they think it's static...

What if the shock makes them drop the calc...?
Back to top
Omega


Newbie


Joined: 06 Apr 2007
Posts: 28

Posted: 09 Apr 2007 01:00:34 pm    Post subject:

You could use it as a gag/prank for your friends, similarily to those shocking cell-phones/pens/gum packs. Better yet, buy one of those and just rewire it around like the on button or something.

You don't have to worry about volts that kill people, you only have to worry about amps.

And, yes, weregoose is right. Don't use it on a teacher!
Back to top
Xphoenix


Elite


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 756

Posted: 09 Apr 2007 03:20:43 pm    Post subject:

But the topic is titled electric DEFENSE. Not offense. Even if the latter is funnier.
Back to top
baorder54
Elite


Active Member


Joined: 25 Nov 2006
Posts: 748

Posted: 09 Apr 2007 08:05:41 pm    Post subject:

As for not draining your battery, I have never taken apart my calculator but from pics that i have seen of this done, (overclock tutorials/lcd enhancments) there is not really any extra room. You can see inside the calc better with a ti 83+ silver or blue edish.
Back to top
Xphoenix


Elite


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 756

Posted: 09 Apr 2007 08:22:59 pm    Post subject:

Well, you could save room by painting the calc and changing the words at the top, making it say TI-GA876 (or whatever), adding the electric thingy, and saying it's a new "secure" model.
Back to top
rcfreak0


Advanced Member


Joined: 27 Mar 2007
Posts: 354

Posted: 09 Apr 2007 08:36:24 pm    Post subject:

You know, im gonna do that now just to screw with people. Sounds like fun.
Back to top
Omega


Newbie


Joined: 06 Apr 2007
Posts: 28

Posted: 10 Apr 2007 07:28:15 am    Post subject:

Well, if it is a defense then I'd try to make it like this:
Take an open wire and run it through an alternate battery to make the first circuit. Then make a circuit that opens (electrical speak) the first circuit when a switch is pressed. Make the switch hard to get to (like deep inside the case). Then, make a ring that will press the switch while you are holding it. Brilliant, no?

However, it seems incredibly difficult to put all that inside a TI-83 or whatever. It might be easier on the TI-92/V200, but I still think they need all the space they can get.
Back to top
kbyoyoa


Newbie


Joined: 21 Apr 2007
Posts: 41

Posted: 22 Apr 2007 01:00:57 pm    Post subject:

wouldn't the electric shock fry your calculator?
Back to top
frenchcalc1
جان ألعريم


Active Member


Joined: 14 Mar 2007
Posts: 648

Posted: 22 Apr 2007 05:48:25 pm    Post subject:

kbyoyoa wrote:
wouldn't the electric shock fry your calculator?
[post="101541"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]

Well, if the circuit was connected to an important piece of hardwarethat would rsult in a short circuit, then yes. But since most people in these forums are good in these kinds of things, then I don't think it's a problem. Laughing


Last edited by Guest on 22 Apr 2007 05:50:03 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
DigiTan
Unregistered HyperCam 2


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 10 Nov 2003
Posts: 4468

Posted: 23 Apr 2007 03:41:22 am    Post subject:

It depends on the voltage applied. An arc from a 100,000 stun gun can move through almost 2 inches of air. I started working on a throwable, electrified disc and had to use a non-toxic resin to keep it from destroying itself.

Last edited by Guest on 23 Apr 2007 03:42:32 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
frenchcalc1
جان ألعريم


Active Member


Joined: 14 Mar 2007
Posts: 648

Posted: 23 Apr 2007 04:46:55 pm    Post subject:

DigiTan wrote:
It depends on the voltage applied.  An arc from a 100,000 stun gun can move through almost 2 inches of air.  I started working on a throwable, electrified disc and had to use a non-toxic resin to keep it from destroying itself.
[post="101633"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]

What would do with that disk? :ninja: Just Joking
Back to top
DigiTan
Unregistered HyperCam 2


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 10 Nov 2003
Posts: 4468

Posted: 23 Apr 2007 10:11:03 pm    Post subject:

It was going to be a throwable taser basically, with arcs following the contour of the disc. I was too heavy and I couldn't find a way to stick to clothing, so the parts are pretty much gathering dust. Shock briefcases are actually used by the extremely paranoid. I've never seen that stuff on anything as small as a calc though.

Last edited by Guest on 23 Apr 2007 10:16:44 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
ForthReich


Member


Joined: 02 May 2007
Posts: 228

Posted: 05 May 2007 09:42:29 pm    Post subject:

Not to say any of you are wrong, but why not just create an interupt to turn off the LCD when a certain key is pressed, turn it back on again when another is pressed. Wouldn't that save the teacher?
Back to top
baorder54
Elite


Active Member


Joined: 25 Nov 2006
Posts: 748

Posted: 05 May 2007 09:46:23 pm    Post subject:

Mirage does do that. When in mirage pressing [On] does that. in a program [On] + [del]
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    » Goto page 1, 2  Next
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 1 of 2 » All times are GMT - 5 Hours

 

Advertisement