Login [Register]
Don't have an account? Register now to chat, post, use our tools, and much more.
This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's Calculator Hardware subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. Calculator Modifications => Calculator Hardware
Author Message
bob7


Newbie


Joined: 31 Aug 2006
Posts: 10

Posted: 27 Feb 2007 11:26:32 pm    Post subject:

Just wondering, is it even remotely possible that we could replace the Z80s in our calculators with newer eZ80s, assuming someone can actually desolder those tiny little pins? Sapposedly, the eZ80 is binary compatible with the Z80, but also 4 times faster and is capable of addressing 16mb (more than enough to allow access to all the RAM in a TI-84).
Back to top
Jim e


Advanced Member


Joined: 05 Sep 2005
Posts: 360

Posted: 27 Feb 2007 11:59:59 pm    Post subject:

bob7 wrote:
Just wondering, is it even remotely possible that we could replace the Z80s in our calculators with newer eZ80s, assuming someone can actually desolder those tiny little pins? Sapposedly, the eZ80 is binary compatible with the Z80, but also 4 times faster and is capable of addressing 16mb (more than enough to allow access to all the RAM in a TI-84).
[post="98100"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]
The 84 doesn't have a z80, so no.

There won't be any gain even on a 83+.
Back to top
IAmACalculator
In a state of quasi-hiatus


Know-It-All


Joined: 21 Oct 2005
Posts: 1571

Posted: 28 Feb 2007 09:28:40 am    Post subject:

It doesn't? That's news to me.
Back to top
Jim e


Advanced Member


Joined: 05 Sep 2005
Posts: 360

Posted: 28 Feb 2007 09:58:41 am    Post subject:

http://www.datamath.org/Graphing/JPEG_TI-8...tm#TI-84%20Plus

It also doesn't have a ram chip.
Back to top
Liazon
title goes here


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 01 Nov 2005
Posts: 2007

Posted: 28 Feb 2007 03:47:55 pm    Post subject:

o.o it's that small!! No wonder they can easily add more ROM in Nspire.

wow, to have RAM and processor in such a small space. o.o
Back to top
IAmACalculator
In a state of quasi-hiatus


Know-It-All


Joined: 21 Oct 2005
Posts: 1571

Posted: 28 Feb 2007 06:25:42 pm    Post subject:

Ah, my mistake.
Back to top
calc84maniac


Elite


Joined: 22 Jan 2007
Posts: 770

Posted: 28 Feb 2007 06:51:13 pm    Post subject:

What? 84's DO have z80 processors...
Back to top
IAmACalculator
In a state of quasi-hiatus


Know-It-All


Joined: 21 Oct 2005
Posts: 1571

Posted: 28 Feb 2007 07:56:45 pm    Post subject:

Yes, but it's integrated into an ASIC, so you can't simply take out the Z80 and put in an eZ80.
Back to top
calc84maniac


Elite


Joined: 22 Jan 2007
Posts: 770

Posted: 01 Mar 2007 09:16:58 am    Post subject:

Oh I see now. Thanks for explaining.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    »
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 1 of 1 » All times are GMT - 5 Hours