Login [Register]
Don't have an account? Register now to chat, post, use our tools, and much more.
This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's Calculator Hardware subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. Calculator Modifications => Calculator Hardware
Author Message
bob7


Newbie


Joined: 31 Aug 2006
Posts: 10

Posted: 23 Jan 2007 09:59:12 pm    Post subject:

Well, I was able to get an EL panel out of an old electronic organizer. I was planning to install it in my TI-84+SE, but I soon discovered that the darn thing runs off of 120v AC power. So this is my question, how on earth do you get 120 AC volts out of the two AAAs that organizer runs on? I've looked around the internet for EL power supplies, but they all seem to be giant boxes with big fat transformers in them, yet the organizer didn't have any transformer in it. So, whats its secret? And how do I duplicate this in my TI?
Back to top
DigiTan
Unregistered HyperCam 2


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 10 Nov 2003
Posts: 4468

Posted: 23 Jan 2007 10:37:28 pm    Post subject:

A lot of EL kits come with an inverter to generate the 120V+ from batteries. I've never used one personally, but they can be built small enough for wrist watches, etc.
Back to top
bob7


Newbie


Joined: 31 Aug 2006
Posts: 10

Posted: 23 Jan 2007 11:00:37 pm    Post subject:

Where do you get one that small, though?
Back to top
luby
I want to go back to Philmont!!


Calc Guru


Joined: 23 Apr 2006
Posts: 1477

Posted: 23 Jan 2007 11:05:59 pm    Post subject:

I'd say trace the circuits back to the batteries from the screen and see what it bumps into.
Back to top
bob7


Newbie


Joined: 31 Aug 2006
Posts: 10

Posted: 23 Jan 2007 11:25:02 pm    Post subject:

Yah, I tried that. Its not as simple as it sounds.
Back to top
DigiTan
Unregistered HyperCam 2


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 10 Nov 2003
Posts: 4468

Posted: 23 Jan 2007 11:54:55 pm    Post subject:

Digikey.com has something in that line, but for some reason their site is down -which is really weirding me out because they're a top international vendor. They're actually hard to find. You might have to google for a manufacturer and ask them who distributes for them.
Back to top
bob7


Newbie


Joined: 31 Aug 2006
Posts: 10

Posted: 24 Jan 2007 12:25:38 am    Post subject:

The Digikey site is working fine for me, and it looks like they have exactly what I need here: http://dkc3.digikey.com/PDF/T071/2038.pdf
Back to top
DigiTan
Unregistered HyperCam 2


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 10 Nov 2003
Posts: 4468

Posted: 24 Jan 2007 12:39:00 am    Post subject:

Whoa! That's really weird. I can't load it, but when I go through VTunnel it works with no problem! Did I get IP banned? Cool (Need warm white leds for my PC case)

Just be sure you have a datasheet and maybe product photo before you get it. Some inverters still come pretty big.


Last edited by Guest on 24 Jan 2007 12:42:42 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
luby
I want to go back to Philmont!!


Calc Guru


Joined: 23 Apr 2006
Posts: 1477

Posted: 24 Jan 2007 09:47:09 am    Post subject:

Before you get too underway, to you think the Ti OS will accept the new screen?
Back to top
Taricorp


Member


Joined: 09 Mar 2006
Posts: 188

Posted: 24 Jan 2007 10:29:01 am    Post subject:

It should, because you're not modifying the controller hardware at all. TIOS can't even tell where the power leads go.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    »
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 1 of 1 » All times are GMT - 5 Hours