Login [Register]
Don't have an account? Register now to chat, post, use our tools, and much more.
This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's z80 & ez80 Assembly subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. Z80 & 68k Assembly => z80 & ez80 Assembly
Author Message
WikiGuru
ADOS (Attention deficit... Oh! Shiny!)


Elite


Joined: 15 Sep 2005
Posts: 923

Posted: 26 Nov 2006 03:43:29 pm    Post subject:

I've been looking through the TI-83+ documented rom calls, and found a bunch of calls that closed/destroyed the edit buffer. However, I found none that opened it.

How do you open the edit buffer?
Also, how do you access it (where is it located), and exactly how big is it?
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 26 Nov 2006 03:54:15 pm    Post subject:

I believe the edit buffer is used for getting input of (ideally) any size from the user. Once you figure out how to open it, it shifts programs around so that all free RAM (not counting safe RAM areas) is in one block, and some system variable holds a pointer to the start of that block. Then you read stuff in, or I guess you could really do anything else you want with it, then close it when you're done.

I don't really know the details. But I believe _EditProg and _CloseProg are used in a similar process, and the rom call documentation does a much more thorough job of explaining these.

If you had the TI developer guide on hand (which I don't), Chapter 2 seems to be the one to read.


Last edited by Guest on 26 Nov 2006 03:57:11 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
WikiGuru
ADOS (Attention deficit... Oh! Shiny!)


Elite


Joined: 15 Sep 2005
Posts: 923

Posted: 26 Nov 2006 04:25:58 pm    Post subject:

[quote name='"me"']I've been looking through the TI-83+ documented rom calls, and found a bunch of calls that closed/destroyed the edit buffer. However, I found none that opened it.[/quote]
I've already looked.


Last edited by Guest on 26 Nov 2006 04:26:15 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 26 Nov 2006 04:32:49 pm    Post subject:

What's your point?
Back to top
WikiGuru
ADOS (Attention deficit... Oh! Shiny!)


Elite


Joined: 15 Sep 2005
Posts: 923

Posted: 26 Nov 2006 04:37:10 pm    Post subject:

I just want to know how do you open and use the Edit Buffer.
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 26 Nov 2006 05:02:21 pm    Post subject:

Hm, after looking on Google (it helps, really), I have the gnawing suspicion you only use it for hooks. That is, the 'edit buffer' is the home screen.

But that's just a suspicion.

You should also look here: http://wikiti.denglend.net/index.php?title...ame:Edit_Buffer


Last edited by Guest on 26 Nov 2006 05:03:33 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
WikiGuru
ADOS (Attention deficit... Oh! Shiny!)


Elite


Joined: 15 Sep 2005
Posts: 923

Posted: 27 Nov 2006 06:00:31 pm    Post subject:

I found a flag called [font="courier new;font-size:9pt;line-height:100%;color:darkblue"]EditOpen,(IY+EditFlags). Can I just set this, and turn on the edit buffer that way?
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 27 Nov 2006 06:29:33 pm    Post subject:

I strongly doubt it, since we don't know where it is.

Besides, when the edit buffer is open, the TIOS shifts all the memory available around, and it's certainly not going to do it just because you set a flag.


Last edited by Guest on 27 Nov 2006 06:30:35 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Deep Thought


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 09 Jun 2009
Posts: 59

Posted: 23 Sep 2010 06:30:00 pm    Post subject:

DarkerLine wrote:

I strongly doubt it, since we don't know where it is.

Besides, when the edit buffer is open, the TIOS shifts all the memory available around, and it's certainly not going to do it just because you set a flag.


Sorry for the necropost (wow, 4 years, seriously?), but basically, [bump]. I can't find any info on it either Sad
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    »
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 1 of 1 » All times are GMT - 5 Hours

 

Advertisement