Login [Register]
Don't have an account? Register now to chat, post, use our tools, and much more.
This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's TI-BASIC subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. 68k Calculator Basic => TI-BASIC
Author Message
negativezero48


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 21 May 2006
Posts: 86

Posted: 24 May 2006 04:56:18 pm    Post subject:

i need a way to handle a number of variables. I want to be able to convert them to integers to manipulate them, and convert them back to strings so that i can display them on the graph screen using PxlText without having to use string(x) and int(x) every time i need to convert. What is the best way to do this. Also, i want the variables to primarily stay as numbers that are converted to strings as needed.
Back to top
SilverCalcKnight
|_


Active Member


Joined: 15 Nov 2005
Posts: 577

Posted: 24 May 2006 04:58:13 pm    Post subject:

Why don't you use a list? I like them a lot.
Back to top
negativezero48


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 21 May 2006
Posts: 86

Posted: 24 May 2006 04:59:59 pm    Post subject:

eehhhhh... had too many experiences with lists...
Back to top
Cure


Active Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2006
Posts: 739

Posted: 24 May 2006 05:02:58 pm    Post subject:

Well, like Silver said, it's better to use lists. You can have an almost unlimited amount, plus lists are used for numbers Neutral
Oh 89??? Hmm, sorry this is for 84. But hopefully you get the idea...
I'm not sure what you mean...only thing I could think off would would be

Code:
"4"->String1


Last edited by Guest on 24 May 2006 05:09:37 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Liazon
title goes here


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 01 Nov 2005
Posts: 2007

Posted: 24 May 2006 05:03:39 pm    Post subject:

89 BASIC, dunno if it's the same though.
Back to top
SilverCalcKnight
|_


Active Member


Joined: 15 Nov 2005
Posts: 577

Posted: 24 May 2006 05:05:52 pm    Post subject:


Code:
Pxl-Text x,y,list1[element]


For lists, lest you change your mind...
Back to top
Super Speler
Super Awesome Dude


Calc Guru


Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 1391

Posted: 24 May 2006 05:06:38 pm    Post subject:

It does not Cure777, there needs to be quotes.

A->Y1
Y1->Str1

should work though.

Use Expr( to convert back to intergers (which is very slow so I recomend as Silver said, to use lists).

Edit: Oh... 89... sorry...


Last edited by Guest on 24 May 2006 05:08:11 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
negativezero48


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 21 May 2006
Posts: 86

Posted: 24 May 2006 05:07:56 pm    Post subject:

Liazon wrote:
89 BASIC, dunno if it's the same though.
[post="80409"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]


yeah its different. No var called String1.2.3.4.5
you have to define like:

Code:
"My name is Negativezero48"->name
Back to top
negativezero48


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 21 May 2006
Posts: 86

Posted: 24 May 2006 05:10:41 pm    Post subject:

SilverCalcKnight wrote:

Code:
Pxl-Text x,y,list1[element]


For lists, lest you change your mind...
[post="80412"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]


But then I would get a "variable is not a string" error
Back to top
Cure


Active Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2006
Posts: 739

Posted: 24 May 2006 05:11:46 pm    Post subject:

This topic should probably be moved to a 68k section...
Back to top
LolBbq


Advanced Member


Joined: 08 Apr 2006
Posts: 351

Posted: 24 May 2006 05:55:07 pm    Post subject:

Cure777 wrote:
This topic should probably be moved to a 68k section...
[post="80419"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]


Yeah...it's really causing confusion among us Z80 basic-ers. Cool
Back to top
negativezero48


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 21 May 2006
Posts: 86

Posted: 24 May 2006 06:00:05 pm    Post subject:

can a mod or admin or someone please move this. my bad

for now, is there any 68k programmers?


Last edited by Guest on 24 May 2006 06:00:48 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
IAmACalculator
In a state of quasi-hiatus


Know-It-All


Joined: 21 Oct 2005
Posts: 1571

Posted: 24 May 2006 06:50:54 pm    Post subject:

I am one. Could you maybe give me an example of what you're trying to do? I'm a little in the dark.
Back to top
SilverCalcKnight
|_


Active Member


Joined: 15 Nov 2005
Posts: 577

Posted: 24 May 2006 07:08:11 pm    Post subject:

Use the newList command.
Back to top
negativezero48


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 21 May 2006
Posts: 86

Posted: 24 May 2006 07:15:50 pm    Post subject:

SilverCalcKnight wrote:
Use the newList command.
[post="80494"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]


:confused: ? never used that before. explain
Back to top
IAmACalculator
In a state of quasi-hiatus


Know-It-All


Joined: 21 Oct 2005
Posts: 1571

Posted: 24 May 2006 07:20:18 pm    Post subject:

I think he's trying to do something like change

X+52Y->X

to

X+21Z->X

or something like that. Until you give me an example of what you want to do, however, I can't help you.
Back to top
SilverCalcKnight
|_


Active Member


Joined: 15 Nov 2005
Posts: 577

Posted: 24 May 2006 07:37:34 pm    Post subject:

Something like newList(# of elements) or newList # of elements. Try it, I think it'll work.

BTW, I am one as well. And so is everyone who signed.


Last edited by Guest on 24 May 2006 07:39:19 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
negativezero48


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 21 May 2006
Posts: 86

Posted: 24 May 2006 08:07:58 pm    Post subject:

IAmACalculator wrote:
I think he's trying to do something like change

X+52Y->X

to

X+21Z->X

or something like that. Until you give me an example of what you want to do, however, I can't help you.
[post="80501"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]

not realy. just convert an integer (lots of) variable to a string for graph screen displaying in an EFFICIANT way withou long lines of converting lots of vars.
Back to top
IAmACalculator
In a state of quasi-hiatus


Know-It-All


Joined: 21 Oct 2005
Posts: 1571

Posted: 24 May 2006 08:14:58 pm    Post subject:

Something like

expr(x&"X+"&y)->Y1(X)?
Back to top
SilverCalcKnight
|_


Active Member


Joined: 15 Nov 2005
Posts: 577

Posted: 24 May 2006 08:17:30 pm    Post subject:

You don't need to convert it into a string to display it. Use the code I posted a while back.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    » Goto page 1, 2  Next
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 1 of 2 » All times are GMT - 5 Hours

 

Advertisement