Login [Register]
Don't have an account? Register now to chat, post, use our tools, and much more.
This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's Your Projects subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. Final Fantasy => Your Projects
Author Message
Babyboy


Advanced Member


Joined: 11 Jun 2003
Posts: 499

Posted: 12 Jan 2006 12:58:42 pm    Post subject:

Ok, what i need is an experience curve, and all the rest of the stats stuff, is there an equasion for this? like, i need something for experience gained, experience needed increase and how much stronger the enemys should be





((((((FF is almost ready for a release!!! the enemys are coming!)))))))))
Back to top
elfprince13
Retired


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 11 Apr 2005
Posts: 3500

Posted: 12 Jan 2006 01:20:56 pm    Post subject:

http://arianne.sourceforge.net/wiki/index....ence_and_levels

this might be helpful
Back to top
Babyboy


Advanced Member


Joined: 11 Jun 2003
Posts: 499

Posted: 12 Jan 2006 01:59:41 pm    Post subject:

yes, yes it does
Back to top
Vinthian
formerly known as shortround4271


Advanced Member


Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 258

Posted: 12 Jan 2006 03:12:50 pm    Post subject:

experience curves aren't too difficult, you can do soemthing like 1.25X where X is the level, and calculate the experience needed with antoher variable.
Back to top
elfprince13
Retired


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 11 Apr 2005
Posts: 3500

Posted: 12 Jan 2006 04:15:04 pm    Post subject:

but then it wouldn't be a curve..
Back to top
DigiTan
Unregistered HyperCam 2


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 10 Nov 2003
Posts: 4468

Posted: 12 Jan 2006 05:13:55 pm    Post subject:

For Robot War, the exp requirement was always the square of your current level. So going from LEVEL 2->3 required 4 exp; LEVEL 3->4 required 9 exp; LEVEL 4->5 required 16, and so on. It could just as well be linear, but an exponential curves make it harder to level-up off of low-level toadies, and actually make the game a little easier to balance, IMHO.

Basically, once you've decided your exp curve, you need to decide how long you want the gamer to stay in that area (20 battles? 100 battles?). That tells you how much the exp reward per battle should be. Once you've decided that, then you program the enemy difficulty. That was a lot trickier than I expected, and eventually a started Excel spreadsheets to help set enemy levels.


Last edited by Guest on 12 Jan 2006 05:18:47 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Liazon
title goes here


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 01 Nov 2005
Posts: 2007

Posted: 12 Jan 2006 06:05:07 pm    Post subject:

What about passive exp stuffs?
Back to top
DigiTan
Unregistered HyperCam 2


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 10 Nov 2003
Posts: 4468

Posted: 12 Jan 2006 08:00:10 pm    Post subject:

That part's up to your imagination. There aren't any calc RPG's that I know of that use reward-based promotions, so I'd suspect you'd be the first to do it.
Back to top
Liazon
title goes here


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 01 Nov 2005
Posts: 2007

Posted: 12 Jan 2006 10:17:39 pm    Post subject:

No, I plan to make individual attacks and options have their power increase the more you use it. I'm just wondering if I should curve. Even if I did curve it, people willing to put in the time might just constantly use one technique to max it out. Fortunately, I plan to make attack type key, that ways you can't always beat the game using just one attack.
Back to top
Vinthian
formerly known as shortround4271


Advanced Member


Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 258

Posted: 12 Jan 2006 10:41:53 pm    Post subject:

elfprince13 wrote:
but then it wouldn't be a curve..
[post="66730"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]


then do X^1.5 or something =/
Back to top
DigiTan
Unregistered HyperCam 2


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 10 Nov 2003
Posts: 4468

Posted: 12 Jan 2006 10:43:37 pm    Post subject:

Yeah, that's what I mean. I guess if you wanted to discourage stacking up on one skill you could add in some kind of "stale moves" penalty. If you really wanted to go all-out, you could the monsters get wise to that strategy and use a counter move to stop it.
Back to top
Liazon
title goes here


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 01 Nov 2005
Posts: 2007

Posted: 12 Jan 2006 10:59:45 pm    Post subject:

Is making some monsters immune too challenging or stupid?
Back to top
DigiTan
Unregistered HyperCam 2


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 10 Nov 2003
Posts: 4468

Posted: 12 Jan 2006 11:07:14 pm    Post subject:

Not at all, it just depends on how the rest of the game is balanced and a lot of other factors. It's really something only you the developer (and maybe the beta guys) can decide. It sort of comes from your gut instinct.

Last edited by Guest on 12 Jan 2006 11:08:19 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Babyboy


Advanced Member


Joined: 11 Jun 2003
Posts: 499

Posted: 14 Jan 2006 11:39:22 pm    Post subject:

i like the squared idea, that would be easy to work into the other areas, thanks!

making monsters "smart" like that has never ben done, that would be a great advancement in RPG AI.
Back to top
Liazon
title goes here


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 01 Nov 2005
Posts: 2007

Posted: 14 Jan 2006 11:56:16 pm    Post subject:

I haven't evenstarted figuring out how to do squares in ASM. Probably some routine with a series of loops and counters.
Back to top
leofox
INF student


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 11 Apr 2004
Posts: 3562

Posted: 15 Jan 2006 05:59:04 am    Post subject:

calcul831415 wrote:
I haven't evenstarted figuring out how to do squares in ASM.  Probably some routine with a series of loops and counters.
[post="66913"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]
Just use someone else's multiplication routine, and load the same number in.

What i used in some old version of destiny realm was 100*lvl^2 for the next level. The experience you got for defeating an enemy was strength+HP. It was amazingly balance for something so random Razz.

Of course, you can change the 100 if your enemies have relatively high strength and hp.
Back to top
Liazon
title goes here


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 01 Nov 2005
Posts: 2007

Posted: 15 Jan 2006 02:06:10 pm    Post subject:

I've never tried d20's level up system for any of my programs. D20 is current level times 1000 for EXP needed to get to next level. I just don't like big numbers, which is why I'll just use passive for each skill. Probably a 2 byte counter and a byte for the skill's actual level
Back to top
Babyboy


Advanced Member


Joined: 11 Jun 2003
Posts: 499

Posted: 15 Jan 2006 07:03:46 pm    Post subject:

ok, i went with the squared of the current level for experience needed.
i went with enemyhp+enemyattack-enemy defence-a Random number of -2to+2.
Back to top
ISUCK


Newbie


Joined: 09 Feb 2004
Posts: 41

Posted: 16 Jan 2006 10:44:15 pm    Post subject:

EDIT: Well I jsut realized you decided on a curve... dang... Oh well -.-

I have a fairly decent way. Basically all you n eed is a ti-83+ calc (but u already ahave that don't u ? Smile) and ur brain... wow I'm good huh :dry:

I didn't know if I wanted to post this cause it was kinda weird, but what the hey eh?

Ok, basically you need to have something like this in mind:

Level 1 EXP Required :20
LVL 2 EXP Required: 32
LVL 3 EXP Required: 50
LVL 4 EXP Required: 76
LVL 5 EXP Required: 120
LVL 6 EXP Required: 182
LVL 7 EXP Required: 265
LVL 8 EXP Required: 372

Edit: this is what the screen'll look like:


Code:
L1          |L2         |L3
-------------------------
1            |20         | _ _ _
2            |32         |
3            |50         |
4            |76         |
5            |120       |
6            |182       |
7            |265       |
8            |372       |


... And so on. Basically you map out the first few levels depending on the game. Now press the following keys on your calc (this'll lead to the list editing thing)

Code:
STAT, Enter


ok, now you should put the level on L1 and the exp required on L2, make sure that the right EXP is next to the Right LVL.

OK, now press graph, and activate plot 1 (so it's highlighted). From my following example, I used Xmin-Xmax 0-10 and Ymin-Ymax 0-500

Now if you hit graph, you'll see a little curve start to go... but you want a equation for this curve you say?

Go to the homescreen, now press:

Code:
Stat, right, up, up, up

You should now be at pwrreg, either that or expreg, either is fine for what we're doing. If you can't find it, just catalog it. Press enter once that command is on the homescreen, and you'll find something like this:

Quote:
PwrReg
y=ax^b
A=14.02702435
B=1.420747248


Now, this is basically your exp curve equation! if you plug it in to the graphscreen, you'll see that if you turn ur data into some nice numbers like y=14x^1.4, it won't exactly fit the points curve, but it'll be pretty close. You can try to experiment with this by editing the exp needed in L2 to find what you really want.


Last edited by Guest on 16 Jan 2006 10:49:43 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Babyboy


Advanced Member


Joined: 11 Jun 2003
Posts: 499

Posted: 24 Jan 2006 07:46:42 pm    Post subject:

wow, that is indepth! i will work the exp required into it, i love that one. would like to say that i have finally released, no, not released, more like pushed out a steaming turd of my dream of an RPG. this umm... kinda works. It does have features though! such great things as automatic saving, moving, going in doors, buying things, and (OMG) killing and gaining levels! (sarcasmic WOO HOO). i think this game can be chalked up to an idea farm, the best way to utilize this game would be to pull some of the routines out and use them in a real game, there is nothing i would like more than to see some of my code in a real game. (seriously)

thankyou for sticking with me for the last 5 years, please get something out of this time!


The Beta


Last edited by Guest on 24 Jan 2006 10:02:41 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    » Goto page 1, 2  Next
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 1 of 2 » All times are GMT - 5 Hours

 

Advertisement