Login [Register]
Don't have an account? Register now to chat, post, use our tools, and much more.
This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's Calculator Hardware subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. Calculator Modifications => Calculator Hardware
Author Message
Raster


Active Member


Joined: 17 May 2004
Posts: 529

Posted: 09 Jan 2006 08:41:54 pm    Post subject:

Anyway, I have been researching on hard drives and I ran accrossed this site, and I think it is very possible to hook up a hard drive to a TI calc through the serial port. It may take a while for the files to transfer between the hard drive and the calc (maybe a few seconds), but whats a few seconds compared to having a 20gig harddrive or something hooked up to it.

Here is the plan. I have a farely basic serial to parallel converter, similar to my EEPROM Burner schematic, and on the harddrive itself will have the names of the files listed on an allocation table, and the location of the files (what Cylinder, Head, and Sector). The calc caches as much names as it can for the files. The user selects what file he wants to load, and the calc will load up the location of the file, and start uploading it. About how to get files onto the hard drive, that is still under planning. All the calc need to remeber is the protocols for requesting/writing files and what-knot.

It maybe more food thatn I can chew basicly, but it is something for me to think about.
Back to top
elfprince13
Retired


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 11 Apr 2005
Posts: 3500

Posted: 09 Jan 2006 10:07:17 pm    Post subject:

O_o

/me wants one really bad....thinks of watching Spider Man 2 during math class
Back to top
Liazon
title goes here


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 01 Nov 2005
Posts: 2007

Posted: 09 Jan 2006 10:12:33 pm    Post subject:

Unfortunately I don't have a calc, so I really don't care. But what about the people who don't have serial cables and only silver USBs?
Back to top
alexrudd
pm me if you read this


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 06 Oct 2004
Posts: 2335

Posted: 09 Jan 2006 10:52:35 pm    Post subject:

They use the program that's already created to run movies from a flash drive. Find the link on ticalc.
Back to top
Raster


Active Member


Joined: 17 May 2004
Posts: 529

Posted: 10 Jan 2006 12:07:35 am    Post subject:

calcul831415 wrote:
Unfortunately I don't have a calc, so I really don't care.  But what about the people who don't have serial cables and only silver USBs?
[post="66473"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]


No, not the serial link cable, the serial port itself, just audio jack thingy...
Back to top
Brazucs
I have no idea what my avatar is.


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 31 Mar 2004
Posts: 3349

Posted: 10 Jan 2006 03:38:22 am    Post subject:

Wouldn't it be easier to just get a USB HDD working with an 84 or 89t?
Back to top
IAmACalculator
In a state of quasi-hiatus


Know-It-All


Joined: 21 Oct 2005
Posts: 1571

Posted: 10 Jan 2006 06:17:32 am    Post subject:

That's been done, but not for the 89Ti. :dry: Darn... :dry: I don't even have an 84+(se).
Back to top
elfprince13
Retired


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 11 Apr 2005
Posts: 3500

Posted: 10 Jan 2006 10:22:37 am    Post subject:

its fun! but USB harddrives probably take more than 100mA of power, and flash drives dont have nearly that much storage.
Back to top
Raster


Active Member


Joined: 17 May 2004
Posts: 529

Posted: 10 Jan 2006 11:24:07 am    Post subject:

Ya, but If i get this to work through a serial port, it would work on most TI calculators. I just dont have the money to buy a USB hard drive, so Im going to build one that will communicate through the link port.
Back to top
elfprince13
Retired


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 11 Apr 2005
Posts: 3500

Posted: 10 Jan 2006 03:03:05 pm    Post subject:

how will you connect the hard drive to a serial cable? thats gotta be one funky looking adapter.....
Back to top
threefingeredguy


Advanced Member


Joined: 01 Sep 2005
Posts: 479

Posted: 10 Jan 2006 05:58:11 pm    Post subject:

I like the idea, but where will the power come from?
Back to top
Raster


Active Member


Joined: 17 May 2004
Posts: 529

Posted: 11 Jan 2006 03:42:04 pm    Post subject:

elfprince13 wrote:
how will you connect the hard drive to a serial cable? thats gotta be one funky looking adapter.....  [post="66541"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]


It's not so much an adapter, but a translator... It is going to be tough, but the way it seems to me, is fairly basic.

threefingeredguy wrote:
I like the idea, but where will the power come from?  [post="66566"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]


A big battery pack, and/or a wall adapter... Yes I know, the standard hard drive takes up about 1.5 amps...

I have been busy with this dam play at my school, that I never wanted to do in the first place, but I'm the only one who knows lighting that is available. So it's going to be about 3 weeks before I will start on this project.


Last edited by Guest on 11 Jan 2006 05:17:04 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Brazucs
I have no idea what my avatar is.


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 31 Mar 2004
Posts: 3349

Posted: 11 Jan 2006 03:48:46 pm    Post subject:

I've seen some USB HDDs that have power supplies. Besides, you can also break the 100mA limit:


Quote:
That's been done, but not for the 89Ti.
Very awesome video.

Last edited by Guest on 11 Jan 2006 03:52:22 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
elfprince13
Retired


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 11 Apr 2005
Posts: 3500

Posted: 11 Jan 2006 04:48:47 pm    Post subject:

I remembering seeing a vid for 84+SE, not 89Ti


(i didn't watch that link cause Ive got dial-up at home, just saying what I remember from earlier in the year)
Back to top
Brazucs
I have no idea what my avatar is.


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 31 Mar 2004
Posts: 3349

Posted: 11 Jan 2006 05:06:34 pm    Post subject:

That's probably the one you saw. I was just saying it's cool, 0x5
Back to top
DigiTan
Unregistered HyperCam 2


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 10 Nov 2003
Posts: 4468

Posted: 11 Jan 2006 05:10:35 pm    Post subject:

Brazucs wrote:
Quote:
That's been done, but not for the 89Ti.
Very awesome video.
[post="66642"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]


Gah! Why am I the last one to hear about these things?!? Having the Matrix on your calc has a whole new meaning now. Razz


Last edited by Guest on 11 Jan 2006 06:42:22 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
threefingeredguy


Advanced Member


Joined: 01 Sep 2005
Posts: 479

Posted: 11 Jan 2006 06:36:08 pm    Post subject:

I saw that over the summer :ninja:
Back to top
DigiTan
Unregistered HyperCam 2


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 10 Nov 2003
Posts: 4468

Posted: 11 Jan 2006 06:47:24 pm    Post subject:

Excellent, you win a cookie. On-topic: you might have some luck with a laptop battery. My only other suggestion is maybe use a microcontroller instead of all the 7400 logic, so the circuit doesn't become supersized. I'd wager you could move the data faster as well.

Last edited by Guest on 11 Jan 2006 06:48:27 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Raster


Active Member


Joined: 17 May 2004
Posts: 529

Posted: 11 Jan 2006 10:44:13 pm    Post subject:

I feel, the first thing I got to do is to make a simple push button prototype board so I can control the Hard drive manualy. It'll make things alot more understandable. Then I got to read up on, most likely, PIC controllers, because it is hard to find an IDE/ATA hard drive microprosessor. And after that, I'll figure out later.
Back to top
kalan_vod


Advanced Member


Joined: 04 Sep 2005
Posts: 446

Posted: 13 Jan 2006 12:49:41 am    Post subject:

Well maybe you could go with something smaller like a flash chip from a mp3 player? I have a yepp with 35mb, could I combine it with my calcs flash?
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    » Goto page 1, 2  Next
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 1 of 2 » All times are GMT - 5 Hours