Login [Register]
Don't have an account? Register now to chat, post, use our tools, and much more.
This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's Your Projects subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. Robot War => Your Projects
Author Message
DigiTan
Unregistered HyperCam 2


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 10 Nov 2003
Posts: 4468

Posted: 08 Oct 2005 01:12:42 pm    Post subject:

That's correct. There are some shells for 86, but just about everybody uses NoStub (not sure how it works). There would be a big advantage on that version because there's so much RAM, the full version is all we really need to develop.
Back to top
AlienCC
Creative Receptacle!


Know-It-All


Joined: 24 May 2003
Posts: 1927

Posted: 08 Oct 2005 02:14:04 pm    Post subject:

The TI-85 should be right on par with where the TI-82 sits memory wise after your shell is loaded, give or take a few bits and bytes.

--AlienCC
Back to top
lloydkirk1989


Member


Joined: 18 Apr 2005
Posts: 161

Posted: 08 Oct 2005 03:02:57 pm    Post subject:

Do nostub programs on the 86 have the size limit like the 83+ has?
Back to top
DJ Omnimaga
http://i-lost-the-ga.me


Calc Guru


Joined: 14 Nov 2003
Posts: 1196

Posted: 08 Oct 2005 03:31:48 pm    Post subject:

I dunno. I guess it require more RAM to run them than with a shell. On the 83+ for example Galaxian will require 4000 bytes of ram to run from homescreen (yes it run from homescreen, I tried with version 1.0 on OS 1.12,1.13 and 1.14) and from Ion it requires 50 bytes of RAM
Back to top
sgm


Calc Guru


Joined: 04 Sep 2003
Posts: 1265

Posted: 08 Oct 2005 03:46:48 pm    Post subject:

lloydkirk1989 wrote:
Do nostub programs on the 86 have the size limit like the  83+ has?  [post="58105"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]


No.


Last edited by Guest on 10 Oct 2005 06:56:19 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
DigiTan
Unregistered HyperCam 2


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 10 Nov 2003
Posts: 4468

Posted: 10 Oct 2005 03:54:17 pm    Post subject:

The 86 really is a great machine, it's suprising there's not more development on that model. I'm not sure of how addressing would work if a prog got over 64KB tough. I guess that's never happened before.

[edit]

Or maybe it has 24-bit addressing? :confused:


Last edited by Guest on 10 Oct 2005 03:55:16 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
leofox
INF student


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 11 Apr 2004
Posts: 3562

Posted: 11 Oct 2005 07:42:45 am    Post subject:

I think it uses seperate Ram pages like the 83+ does with archive.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    » Goto page Previous  1, 2
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 2 of 2 » All times are GMT - 5 Hours

 

Advertisement