Login [Register]
Don't have an account? Register now to chat, post, use our tools, and much more.
This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's Your Projects subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. Sonic => Your Projects
United-TI Archives -> Sonic
 
    » Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
DigiTan
Unregistered HyperCam 2


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 10 Nov 2003
Posts: 4468

Posted: 09 Mar 2005 10:21:51 pm    Post subject:

koolmansam375 wrote:
well in this case i would say a max of 5 (maybe 6) rings should fall out and each worth one ring

This solves the CPU problem, but it'll lead to gamer frustration. These Sonic 1 levels were known to hold hundreds of rings, so I'd like to make them more 'recoverable' if we have big levels. Also, since we're doing a Sonic game, I want to keep things as "authentic" as possible without taxing the CPU badly. The reason I like the Game Gear method is because its true to the series, plus it'll still work for us on TI.

As far as a sprite limit goes, in Genesis you could drop up to 31 rings and the rest simply did not appear. Phoenix III could support around this number of sprites (including bullets), so maybe the sprite limit will actually be higher than we're expecting. Cool
Back to top
Madskillz


Active Member


Joined: 02 Jan 2004
Posts: 608

Posted: 09 Mar 2005 10:53:26 pm    Post subject:

Yeah, I was looking in one of those old topics in this thread for a possible story, I know SniperOfTheNight had a plot already written up, I am pretty sure he posted it here too...hmm.
Back to top
koolmansam375


Advanced Member


Joined: 09 Oct 2004
Posts: 254

Posted: 10 Mar 2005 05:44:00 pm    Post subject:

yea heres something else i found. (it was in one of the old topics)

sic aka Joe P wrote:
I have a suggestion for this game. Since the majority of the time sonic will be moving faster horizontally than he would vertically, I would flip the virtual screen by 90 degrees. IIRC, you send a certain byte out port 10h to "rotate" the screen. The reason for this is that when doing smooth scrolling, it is much easier and faster to move all the data in one ldir or lddr as the case may be (rather than a long series of rr (hl) \ inc hl or rl (hl) \ dec hl). This way you could scroll horizontally in jumps of 1 or 2 or 3 or 4 (etc) pixels at a time with almost no decrease in speed (except for the extra time it takes to populate the new lines). Post over at maxcoderz if you have questions.
Back to top
DigiTan
Unregistered HyperCam 2


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 10 Nov 2003
Posts: 4468

Posted: 11 Mar 2005 05:59:34 pm    Post subject:

Wouldn't that only apply to screen-shifting though? I had the impression DWedit's code worked by offsets. There aren't too many progs that shift their levels one pixel at a time.
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 11 Mar 2005 10:07:42 pm    Post subject:

I am sure that when you jump upward, the screen only gets shifted several pixels at a time.
Back to top
Madskillz


Active Member


Joined: 02 Jan 2004
Posts: 608

Posted: 11 Mar 2005 11:08:13 pm    Post subject:

I got a routine for jumping already...it is one that is used in Cobra, it basically follows the character...L-man also had a very nice routine in some source he gave me... Laughing
Back to top
shadowing
Powered by 64


Calc Guru


Joined: 06 Jan 2004
Posts: 1002

Posted: 12 Mar 2005 12:36:44 am    Post subject:

Sweet!! So who's working on the other parts instead of the graphics?
Back to top
DigiTan
Unregistered HyperCam 2


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 10 Nov 2003
Posts: 4468

Posted: 12 Mar 2005 09:44:10 pm    Post subject:

Mainly, I'm just here to make sure we can port everything to 82 ASM--which shouldn't be too hard unless we do greyscale or something.
Back to top
BatBlaster


Member


Joined: 10 Oct 2007
Posts: 160

Posted: 21 Jan 2008 10:05:45 am    Post subject:

Then do grayscale.
LOL
Back to top
alexrudd
pm me if you read this


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 06 Oct 2004
Posts: 2335

Posted: 21 Jan 2008 03:02:10 pm    Post subject:



This topic was over two and a half years old. Grayscale is out of the question for the speed Sonic requires, anyway.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    » Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 3 of 3 » All times are GMT - 5 Hours

 

Advertisement