Login [Register]
Don't have an account? Register now to chat, post, use our tools, and much more.
This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's TI-BASIC subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. TI-Basic => TI-BASIC
United-TI Archives -> TI-Basic
 
    » Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 29, 30, 31
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
calc84maniac


Elite


Joined: 22 Jan 2007
Posts: 770

Posted: 11 Oct 2008 05:52:44 pm    Post subject:

Wow, I never knew about that trick. That's quite nifty! Smile And, actually, quite similar to seq( from what I can tell.

Last edited by Guest on 11 Jul 2010 06:22:25 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
TheStorm


Calc Guru


Joined: 17 Apr 2007
Posts: 1233

Posted: 11 Oct 2008 09:53:53 pm    Post subject:

u, v, and w are the equation vars used in "seq" graphing mode so yeah they will act similar to seq( :P

Another cool thing is that they can be used in almost every case you would use expr(str# though ans behaves differently in each of the two situations.


Last edited by Guest on 11 Oct 2008 09:56:37 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
elfprince13
Retired


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 11 Apr 2005
Posts: 3500

Posted: 16 Oct 2008 07:52:22 pm    Post subject:

DarkerLine wrote:
Okay, this one's technically documented (probably) but it's cool:

You can evaluate u, v, and w at a range of values to create a list of results: u(1,10) will be the list {u(1),u(2), ...,u(10)}. If you add a third argument, it will be used as a step value: u(1,10,3) will be the list {u(1),u(4),u(7),u(10)}.

Also, evaluating one of these variables at a specific point will set n to be the next value: u(5) will set n to 6. This applies for the range syntax as well.
[post="127794"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]


how does that work with the range syntax?
does it just use the last value?
what if you do u(10,17,3)? does n hold 16, 17 or 19?


Last edited by Guest on 11 Jul 2010 06:22:44 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 16 Oct 2008 08:54:59 pm    Post subject:

u(10,17,3) calculates u(10), u(13), and u(16); u(16) is the last calculated so n will be set to 17.

Last edited by Guest on 11 Jul 2010 06:23:02 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Harrierfalcon
The Raptor of Calcs


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 25 Oct 2006
Posts: 2535

Posted: 19 Feb 2009 07:13:25 pm    Post subject:

*bump*

Seq(), as well all know, has a second argument. The one which holds the variable which will be iterated through in order to change the given formula as needed.

Seq(), however, does not affect said variable.

Tested on OS 2.43 (84+SE) and 1.16 (83+, with PindurTI).

[attachment=2595:ptiani1.gif]

Just found this out today while messing around...I don't know if this is widely known or documented.

It is now, for sure >_<.


Last edited by Guest on 11 Jul 2010 06:24:07 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
calc84maniac


Elite


Joined: 22 Jan 2007
Posts: 770

Posted: 19 Feb 2009 09:19:33 pm    Post subject:

Yes, I have tried that before. (It doesn't work with Solve( either). That would be pretty nifty, since you could combine it with expr( and some string manipulation to store to any variable given the name in a string. But, alas, this is impossible.

Last edited by Guest on 11 Jul 2010 06:22:12 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Galandros


Active Member


Joined: 29 Aug 2008
Posts: 565

Posted: 20 Feb 2009 03:15:15 pm    Post subject:

I know of that many time ago, Harrierfalcon >.<

But sometimes confuses when you want to use the variable itself instead of the letter of expression in seq()...


Last edited by Guest on 20 Feb 2009 04:38:00 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
jakethepspguy


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 04 Aug 2008
Posts: 50

Posted: 16 Apr 2009 09:30:14 am    Post subject:

Hey guys. I got bored one day so I decided to code a "replacement OS" in BASIC (lol). Anyway, I created this huge code block in a text() function to output the solution to the user's input in the correct location on the screen. Unfortunately, I found this to be too slow.

If I ever decide to optimize the code it won't run like this (because it's not really an OS if it uses expr()... but then again it wouldn't be an OS anyway because of the limitations of pure BASIC) But currently it runs something like this. And I'll show you where the error comes in:


Code:

:expr(Str1)->X                   //Where Str1 contains the user's input
:{X,0->L1                          //Can't remember if these lists are correct for what I'm trying to do
:{1,0->L2                          //But you guys know I'm doing the "easy number to string" code
:LinReg(MX+8) L1,L2,Y1     //This successfully plugs the number into Y1, but it also clears the screen!  StorePic X RecallPic X don't work fast enough :(
:Equ>Str(Y1,Str2
:Text(C,D,Str2


Is there a fast way to convert number to string without clearing the screen, a way to execute this code without clearing the screen, or a fast enough algorithm to get the text's onscreen location?

Extra info: The user inputs data on a command line, and my program attempts to make it look like the 89 (somewhat) by outputting the input text on the left and the solution on the right on the same line. I have code that does fast screen scrolling so the input data looks nice as it is scrolled upscreen.
Back to top
simplethinker
snjwffl


Active Member


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 700

Posted: 16 Apr 2009 10:03:03 am    Post subject:

You could try switching to Polar/Parametric/Sequence graphing so the Yn vars will never be graphed, so modifying them won't cause the graph screen to be redrawn.

Alternatively, you could try this little assembly program. Whenever you modify the function vars (and you're in function graphing mode), the screen is marked "dirty", so next time the graph screen is displayed it's cleared and redrawn. If you execute that program after modifying the functions (or before displaying the screen) it shouldn't have to be redrawn.
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 16 Apr 2009 12:12:51 pm    Post subject:

simplethinker wrote:
You could try switching to Polar/Parametric/Sequence graphing so the Yn vars will never be graphed, so modifying them won't cause the graph screen to be redrawn.
Or you could use an equation such as rn instead.

Last edited by Guest on 16 Apr 2009 12:13:04 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
ztrumpet


Active Member


Joined: 06 May 2009
Posts: 555

Posted: 27 May 2009 03:45:22 pm    Post subject:

I don't know if this had been posted yet:

When you add the 4th argument to circle (a list of complex numbers) like Circle(X,Y,R,{i} (this is the [2nd] [.] i) it is unbreakable untill it finishes drawing the circle.
Back to top
Eeems


Advanced Member


Joined: 25 Jan 2009
Posts: 277

Posted: 27 May 2009 05:18:42 pm    Post subject:

really? I just thought that that made the circle draw faster
Back to top
Mapar007


Advanced Member


Joined: 04 Oct 2008
Posts: 365

Posted: 28 May 2009 10:11:32 am    Post subject:

List formulas (I don't know if this was posted earlier, but)

You can store a string to a list variable, and every time you use the list the string will be evaluated (it must return a list value)
Back to top
darkstone knight


Advanced Member


Joined: 07 Sep 2008
Posts: 438

Posted: 28 May 2009 10:17:22 am    Post subject:

lol

i posted that here a few hours ago..
Back to top
Mapar007


Advanced Member


Joined: 04 Oct 2008
Posts: 365

Posted: 28 May 2009 10:47:29 am    Post subject:

It's been MONTHS since I visited tibd last time...
Back to top
Weregoose
Authentic INTJ


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 25 Nov 2004
Posts: 3976

Posted: 28 May 2009 01:51:57 pm    Post subject:

Mind the thread title, guys. Don't make me cite page numbers... Razz
Back to top
DrDnar


Member


Joined: 28 Aug 2009
Posts: 116

Posted: 23 Sep 2009 03:10:22 pm    Post subject:

Get("L stores the language localization value to Ans. You have to mask out the language and sublanguage fields yourself.

One of the more random features of the parser. We need a place to keep track of undocumented parser features/overloaded commands.

Previously documented:
Text(-1,1,1,"Text to display in large font.
sub(x returns x/100
Circle(x,y,r,{i for fast circles
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    » Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 29, 30, 31
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 31 of 31 » All times are GMT - 5 Hours

 

Advertisement