Author |
Message |
|
calc84maniac
Elite

Joined: 22 Jan 2007 Posts: 770
|
Posted: 11 Oct 2008 05:52:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Wow, I never knew about that trick. That's quite nifty! And, actually, quite similar to seq( from what I can tell.
Last edited by Guest on 11 Jul 2010 06:22:25 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
TheStorm
Calc Guru

Joined: 17 Apr 2007 Posts: 1233
|
Posted: 11 Oct 2008 09:53:53 pm Post subject: |
|
|
u, v, and w are the equation vars used in "seq" graphing mode so yeah they will act similar to seq( :P
Another cool thing is that they can be used in almost every case you would use expr(str# though ans behaves differently in each of the two situations.
Last edited by Guest on 11 Oct 2008 09:56:37 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
elfprince13 Retired
Super Elite (Last Title)

Joined: 11 Apr 2005 Posts: 3500
|
Posted: 16 Oct 2008 07:52:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
DarkerLine wrote: Okay, this one's technically documented (probably) but it's cool:
You can evaluate u, v, and w at a range of values to create a list of results: u(1,10) will be the list {u(1),u(2), ...,u(10)}. If you add a third argument, it will be used as a step value: u(1,10,3) will be the list {u(1),u(4),u(7),u(10)}.
Also, evaluating one of these variables at a specific point will set n to be the next value: u(5) will set n to 6. This applies for the range syntax as well.
[post="127794"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]
how does that work with the range syntax?
does it just use the last value?
what if you do u(10,17,3)? does n hold 16, 17 or 19?
Last edited by Guest on 11 Jul 2010 06:22:44 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
DarkerLine ceci n'est pas une |
Super Elite (Last Title)

Joined: 04 Nov 2003 Posts: 8328
|
Posted: 16 Oct 2008 08:54:59 pm Post subject: |
|
|
u(10,17,3) calculates u(10), u(13), and u(16); u(16) is the last calculated so n will be set to 17.
Last edited by Guest on 11 Jul 2010 06:23:02 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Harrierfalcon The Raptor of Calcs
Super Elite (Last Title)

Joined: 25 Oct 2006 Posts: 2535
|
Posted: 19 Feb 2009 07:13:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
*bump*
Seq(), as well all know, has a second argument. The one which holds the variable which will be iterated through in order to change the given formula as needed.
Seq(), however, does not affect said variable.
Tested on OS 2.43 (84+SE) and 1.16 (83+, with PindurTI).
[attachment=2595:ptiani1.gif]
Just found this out today while messing around...I don't know if this is widely known or documented.
It is now, for sure >_<.
Last edited by Guest on 11 Jul 2010 06:24:07 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
calc84maniac
Elite

Joined: 22 Jan 2007 Posts: 770
|
Posted: 19 Feb 2009 09:19:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Yes, I have tried that before. (It doesn't work with Solve( either). That would be pretty nifty, since you could combine it with expr( and some string manipulation to store to any variable given the name in a string. But, alas, this is impossible.
Last edited by Guest on 11 Jul 2010 06:22:12 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Galandros
Active Member

Joined: 29 Aug 2008 Posts: 565
|
Posted: 20 Feb 2009 03:15:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I know of that many time ago, Harrierfalcon >.<
But sometimes confuses when you want to use the variable itself instead of the letter of expression in seq()...
Last edited by Guest on 20 Feb 2009 04:38:00 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jakethepspguy
Advanced Newbie

Joined: 04 Aug 2008 Posts: 50
|
Posted: 16 Apr 2009 09:30:14 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hey guys. I got bored one day so I decided to code a "replacement OS" in BASIC (lol). Anyway, I created this huge code block in a text() function to output the solution to the user's input in the correct location on the screen. Unfortunately, I found this to be too slow.
If I ever decide to optimize the code it won't run like this (because it's not really an OS if it uses expr()... but then again it wouldn't be an OS anyway because of the limitations of pure BASIC) But currently it runs something like this. And I'll show you where the error comes in:
Code:
:expr(Str1)->X //Where Str1 contains the user's input
:{X,0->L1 //Can't remember if these lists are correct for what I'm trying to do
:{1,0->L2 //But you guys know I'm doing the "easy number to string" code
:LinReg(MX+8) L1,L2,Y1 //This successfully plugs the number into Y1, but it also clears the screen! StorePic X RecallPic X don't work fast enough :(
:Equ>Str(Y1,Str2
:Text(C,D,Str2
Is there a fast way to convert number to string without clearing the screen, a way to execute this code without clearing the screen, or a fast enough algorithm to get the text's onscreen location?
Extra info: The user inputs data on a command line, and my program attempts to make it look like the 89 (somewhat) by outputting the input text on the left and the solution on the right on the same line. I have code that does fast screen scrolling so the input data looks nice as it is scrolled upscreen. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
simplethinker snjwffl
Active Member

Joined: 25 Jul 2006 Posts: 700
|
Posted: 16 Apr 2009 10:03:03 am Post subject: |
|
|
You could try switching to Polar/Parametric/Sequence graphing so the Yn vars will never be graphed, so modifying them won't cause the graph screen to be redrawn.
Alternatively, you could try this little assembly program. Whenever you modify the function vars (and you're in function graphing mode), the screen is marked "dirty", so next time the graph screen is displayed it's cleared and redrawn. If you execute that program after modifying the functions (or before displaying the screen) it shouldn't have to be redrawn. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
DarkerLine ceci n'est pas une |
Super Elite (Last Title)

Joined: 04 Nov 2003 Posts: 8328
|
Posted: 16 Apr 2009 12:12:51 pm Post subject: |
|
|
simplethinker wrote: You could try switching to Polar/Parametric/Sequence graphing so the Yn vars will never be graphed, so modifying them won't cause the graph screen to be redrawn. Or you could use an equation such as rn instead.
Last edited by Guest on 16 Apr 2009 12:13:04 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ztrumpet
Active Member

Joined: 06 May 2009 Posts: 555
|
Posted: 27 May 2009 03:45:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I don't know if this had been posted yet:
When you add the 4th argument to circle (a list of complex numbers) like Circle(X,Y,R,{i} (this is the [2nd] [.] i) it is unbreakable untill it finishes drawing the circle. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Eeems
Advanced Member

Joined: 25 Jan 2009 Posts: 277
|
Posted: 27 May 2009 05:18:42 pm Post subject: |
|
|
really? I just thought that that made the circle draw faster |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Mapar007
Advanced Member

Joined: 04 Oct 2008 Posts: 365
|
Posted: 28 May 2009 10:11:32 am Post subject: |
|
|
List formulas (I don't know if this was posted earlier, but)
You can store a string to a list variable, and every time you use the list the string will be evaluated (it must return a list value) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
darkstone knight
Advanced Member

Joined: 07 Sep 2008 Posts: 438
|
Posted: 28 May 2009 10:17:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
lol
i posted that here a few hours ago.. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Mapar007
Advanced Member

Joined: 04 Oct 2008 Posts: 365
|
Posted: 28 May 2009 10:47:29 am Post subject: |
|
|
It's been MONTHS since I visited tibd last time... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Weregoose Authentic INTJ
Super Elite (Last Title)

Joined: 25 Nov 2004 Posts: 3976
|
Posted: 28 May 2009 01:51:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Mind the thread title, guys. Don't make me cite page numbers...  |
|
Back to top |
|
|
DrDnar
Member

Joined: 28 Aug 2009 Posts: 116
|
Posted: 23 Sep 2009 03:10:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Get("L stores the language localization value to Ans. You have to mask out the language and sublanguage fields yourself.
One of the more random features of the parser. We need a place to keep track of undocumented parser features/overloaded commands.
Previously documented:
Text(-1,1,1,"Text to display in large font.
sub(x returns x/100
Circle(x,y,r,{i for fast circles |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|