Login [Register]
Don't have an account? Register now to chat, post, use our tools, and much more.
This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's TI-BASIC subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. TI-Basic => TI-BASIC
United-TI Archives -> TI-Basic
 
    » Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 28, 29, 30, 31  Next
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
nitacku


Advanced Member


Joined: 23 Aug 2005
Posts: 408

Posted: 15 Nov 2007 07:10:15 pm    Post subject:

hmm, that seems sort of like object oriented programing Smile
I'm sure there's some really great uses for this (I'm thinking of a use right now :biggrin: )
Back to top
echidna


Newbie


Joined: 10 Nov 2007
Posts: 15

Posted: 15 Nov 2007 07:32:38 pm    Post subject:

It's better not to have code in string, this is a bad way of programming
Back to top
simplethinker
snjwffl


Active Member


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 700

Posted: 15 Nov 2007 07:33:00 pm    Post subject:

Another way to do it if you have only one chunk of code is to type it in on the homescreen and just recall entry (so you only hit 2nd->enter instead of 2nd->recall->something)
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 15 Nov 2007 07:35:40 pm    Post subject:

nitacku wrote:
hmm, that seems sort of like object oriented programing Smile
I'm sure there's some really great uses for this (I'm thinking of a use right now :biggrin: )  [post="116029"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]



echidna wrote:
It's better not to have code in string, this is a bad way of programming  [post="116031"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]


Unless I'm misreading the post, this is more for the purposes of making it more convenient to write the program - the variables won't be used by the program itself, since you recall them.


Last edited by Guest on 02 Dec 2007 10:48:16 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Harrierfalcon
The Raptor of Calcs


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 25 Oct 2006
Posts: 2535

Posted: 15 Nov 2007 08:12:42 pm    Post subject:

nitacku wrote:
hmm, that seems sort of like object oriented programing Smile
I'm sure there's some really great uses for this (I'm thinking of a use right now :biggrin: )  [post="116029"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]
I've mainly been using it for repetitive xLIB functions and Asm( lines, but that could work.
simplethinker wrote:
Another way to do it if you have only one chunk of code is to type it in on the homescreen and just recall entry (so you only hit 2nd->enter instead of 2nd->recall->something)  [post="116032"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]
Except you have to retype it every time, or keep hitting [2nd]+[Enter] to loop back to it. ;)


DarkerLine wrote:
echidna wrote:
It's better not to have code in string, this is a bad way of programming  [post="116031"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]


Unless I'm misreading the post, this is more for the purposes of making it more convenient to write the program - the variables won't be used by the program itself, since you recall them. [post="116033"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]
Thanks for clearing that up, DarkerLine, you're definitely not misreading my post. :)

P.S. This is one of the reasons I haven't been working on ExθnIDE as much as I should be XD.


Last edited by Guest on 02 Dec 2007 10:54:51 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
BatBlaster


Member


Joined: 10 Oct 2007
Posts: 160

Posted: 17 Nov 2007 10:45:10 pm    Post subject:

I'm writing a program.
A trivia game.
Back to top
luby
I want to go back to Philmont!!


Calc Guru


Joined: 23 Apr 2006
Posts: 1477

Posted: 02 Dec 2007 08:33:08 pm    Post subject:

http://tibasicdev.wikidot.com/undocumented...tricks-and-tips

Enjoy and Update!
Back to top
bananaman
Indestructible


Calc Guru


Joined: 12 Sep 2005
Posts: 1124

Posted: 02 Dec 2007 10:30:25 pm    Post subject:

Wait a second. If you just documented them, you can't call them undocumented.

Anyways, that must have taken awhile to go through and compile them all, thank you for that time.
Back to top
alexrudd
pm me if you read this


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 06 Oct 2004
Posts: 2335

Posted: 02 Dec 2007 11:50:02 pm    Post subject:

DarkerLine and I mostly wikified it. The style, however...

This page should eventually be deleted, and the content spread out to other pages. Some of it already is, and is redundant. Thanks for adding it anyway, though; that's how a wiki works.
Back to top
spandiv
-- Retired --


Active Member


Joined: 25 May 2003
Posts: 650

Posted: 03 Dec 2007 05:49:48 pm    Post subject:

The undocumented tips and tricks page looks nice, but all of its content is already available on the tips & tricks page Very Happy
Back to top
Harrierfalcon
The Raptor of Calcs


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 25 Oct 2006
Posts: 2535

Posted: 03 Dec 2007 06:32:37 pm    Post subject:

Fixed a spelling error (never heard of "pgrm" Wink), added something on Hard-Coded sprites to Graphics, and clarified the copy-and-paste, as well as the string-to-list thing.

I feel terrible, I haven't really done anything for this site...Sad And the only thing that comforts me is that there's not much I can add. I think that's a good thing.


Last edited by Guest on 03 Dec 2007 06:33:50 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
luby
I want to go back to Philmont!!


Calc Guru


Joined: 23 Apr 2006
Posts: 1477

Posted: 03 Dec 2007 10:50:46 pm    Post subject:

I did that so we can have one compiled list with in grasp.

bananaman wrote:
Anyways, that must have taken awhile to go through and compile them all, thank you for that time.
[post="116787"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]


Actually, I cheated. I took the last word doc I made and updated it. And wikified it
Back to top
Harrierfalcon
The Raptor of Calcs


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 25 Oct 2006
Posts: 2535

Posted: 03 Dec 2007 11:34:22 pm    Post subject:

But you still typed up the word document...how can you cheat off of yourself?
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 20 Dec 2007 11:09:00 am    Post subject:

A new final word in If vs. If-Then:

If is not actually slower than If-Then, as we've concluded previously. The reason for the difference in timings was that If with a false condition becomes far slower inside a For( loop without a closed parenthesis.

There is indeed a striking difference between these two situations

For(I,1,2000
If 0:
End

vs.

For(I,1,2000
If 0:Then
End
End


The first piece of code is something like 20 times slower, I believe? However, if you add the ) to the end of the For( command, the two situations equal out -- then, the first is actually slightly faster.

I would appreciate it if someone with a different OS version or a different calculator model (I have a TI-83+ with OS v1.15) tested this too.


Last edited by Guest on 04 Aug 2010 01:32:46 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
luby
I want to go back to Philmont!!


Calc Guru


Joined: 23 Apr 2006
Posts: 1477

Posted: 20 Dec 2007 09:24:21 pm    Post subject:

84+SE ROM 2.41

For(I,1,2000
If 0:
End
153 seconds
vs.

For(I,1,2000
If 0:Then
End
End
7 seconds


For(I,1,2000)
If 0:
End
7 seconds
vs.

For(I,1,2000)
If 0:Then
End
End
6 seconds


Final conclusion: I'd say If: is only slightly slower.


Last edited by Guest on 04 Aug 2010 01:33:14 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 20 Dec 2007 11:23:08 pm    Post subject:

Well, while this doesn't provide the evidence for all the calcs, it should be a pretty good range (more or less oldest to newest of what anyone's actually using). I suppose I'll get some accurate timings and update the relevant TIBD pages.
Back to top
Super Speler
Super Awesome Dude


Calc Guru


Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 1391

Posted: 27 Feb 2008 05:59:15 pm    Post subject:

:VALUEidentity(DIMENSION
:cumSum(Ans)T-Ans+cumSum(Ans


This creates a matrix of dimensions DIMENSION by DIMENSION full of VALUE at a relatively fast speed without using any variables.

Correct me if there's a better way to do this; I only recently got back into using Basic for actual code as opposed to writing games :/.


Last edited by Guest on 04 Aug 2010 01:33:30 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Xphoenix


Elite


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 756

Posted: 27 Feb 2008 06:05:38 pm    Post subject:

{rows,columns→dim(matrixname
Fill(value,matrixname


This allows rectangular matrices, and I think this is faster.

:VALUEidentity(DIMENSION
:cumSum(Ans)T-Ans+cumSum(Ans

The bolded T is the transpose command, right?


Last edited by Guest on 04 Aug 2010 01:32:10 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Super Speler
Super Awesome Dude


Calc Guru


Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 1391

Posted: 27 Feb 2008 06:15:27 pm    Post subject:

Yeah, but the point was that mine used no Matrix (or any) variables.
Back to top
Xphoenix


Elite


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 756

Posted: 27 Feb 2008 06:17:58 pm    Post subject:

Sorry, missed that part. >_<
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    » Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 28, 29, 30, 31  Next
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 29 of 31 » All times are GMT - 5 Hours

 

Advertisement