Login [Register]
Don't have an account? Register now to chat, post, use our tools, and much more.
This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's Calculator Hardware, Electronics, Robotics subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. Calculator Modifications => Calculator Hardware, Electronics, Robotics
Author Message
dabombjr2000


Newbie


Joined: 17 Aug 2004
Posts: 43

Posted: 10 Oct 2004 10:30:26 pm    Post subject:

I had a cool idea the other day, a camera for the ti calculator!
There would be two parts to it, a hardware and a software part, but here's my ideas so far:
Hardware:
Just case with lense, and brightness buttons
(wether or not a pxl is blk or white)
Software:
Shows pic
if clear is pressed, quit
if enter is pressed, prompt "save? [y/n]"
If n, back
else, prompt for name, and save to an asm program

Also, the program can either draw the pic to the graphscreen, or draw it in grayscale until enter is pressed.
That's all I can think of anything else to add right now, but any suggestions would be nice!
Jason Rush
(aka dabombjr2000)
Back to top
Ray Kremer


Member


Joined: 16 Feb 2004
Posts: 237

Posted: 11 Oct 2004 12:24:32 pm    Post subject:

Odd how the Game Boy camera never really caught on, but cell phone cameras are presumably quite popular.
Back to top
leofox
INF student


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 11 Apr 2004
Posts: 3562

Posted: 11 Oct 2004 12:52:27 pm    Post subject:

that's because cell phone camera's have color, and people usually have their cell phone's with them. It would be quite stupid if you see a celebrity in the street or something like that if you pulled out your Gameboy with camera (who carries that with him) but if you pull out your cellphone it looks normal.

i think a ti-camera is kind of a lame idea, because the ti calcs have no color. You can only get some form of greyscale.

BTW, for what calculator is this? A camera for the 89-Ti sounds better than one for teh 83.
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 11 Oct 2004 04:42:12 pm    Post subject:

You could still STORE the color picture to later transmit to computer, even if you can't VIEW it on a calculator.
Back to top
DigiTan
Unregistered HyperCam 2


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 10 Nov 2003
Posts: 4468

Posted: 11 Oct 2004 04:57:17 pm    Post subject:

I like the idea of a TI-89 camera, you can really get some impressive resolution on those--I don't know how well they handle greyscale, but I'd imagine it's just as good at that too. Gameboy Camera wouldn't be a bad start; I'm told they're not as complicated to work with as they seem (its internal software does most of the work for you). There's still alot of those out on the market, but only a few sites have hard details on them. Someone once did a GBC bot project a few years back, so it's definatly possible. But who knows, maybe this will give birth to a new calculator film industry... Cool


[GBC in time lapse]
Back to top
dabombjr2000


Newbie


Joined: 17 Aug 2004
Posts: 43

Posted: 14 Oct 2004 10:43:15 pm    Post subject:

I have ti-83+'s but you would only have to port the software half to the other calculators.

Also, think about if someone had a cool idea for a graphic on a program, wouldn't it be nice to just take a picture of a sketch, or a printed picture and only have to fix up a few of the pixels and you have a completed picture in only about three minutes.

There could also be an option to choose between black and white, or grayscale.

-----

Digitan, most of the work would be done on the calculator on here too.

ray kremer, this is more for a challenge and a learning experience.
Back to top
alexrudd
pm me if you read this


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 06 Oct 2004
Posts: 2335

Posted: 15 Oct 2004 06:26:21 pm    Post subject:

Where could you get a camera that simple? I mean it's what, 1/200000th of a megapixel? unless you were planning on making one.... In that case, good luck

Maybe you could also adjust the contrast, so you can fix blocky images?
Back to top
DigiTan
Unregistered HyperCam 2


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 10 Nov 2003
Posts: 4468

Posted: 16 Oct 2004 11:45:15 am    Post subject:

Well, it's closer to like 1/64th megapixel, but that works pretty will TI screens, which are pretty close to that size anyway. Gameboy Cam uses a CMOS "artificial retena" (AR) and handles mostly all of the image processing for you. All you'd have to do is interface to its 9 AR pins and "dump" the image into an assembly program. All your calc program would have to do is set up the camera's control registers and provide a clock (there's a little more to it than that, but that's the main role).

For contrast, you can use the cam's 8 control registers to increase/decrease the exposure. They used to go for $50 but I see one on ebay going for six--so overall, I'd say it's the best option.
Back to top
alexrudd
pm me if you read this


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 06 Oct 2004
Posts: 2335

Posted: 16 Oct 2004 07:57:11 pm    Post subject:

DigiTan wrote:
Well, it's closer to like 1/64th megapixel,

I thought a megapixel was 1000000 pixels per square inch?
1/200000 isn't right of course, but isn't it more accurate than 1/64?


Last edited by Guest on 16 Oct 2004 07:57:29 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
leofox
INF student


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 11 Apr 2004
Posts: 3562

Posted: 17 Oct 2004 04:34:00 am    Post subject:

a megapixel is 1 million pixels, which is something like a resolution of 1000x1000 pixels.

the 83+ screen is 94x64 pixels = 6144 pixels = 0.006144 megapixel = 1/162.760416666666666666666666666667 megapixel
Back to top
Arcane Wizard
`semi-hippie`


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 8993

Posted: 17 Oct 2004 05:00:20 am    Post subject:

96*64
Back to top
leofox
INF student


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 11 Apr 2004
Posts: 3562

Posted: 17 Oct 2004 05:22:58 am    Post subject:

oops typo...

but the calculations are for 96x64 anyway.
Back to top
DigiTan
Unregistered HyperCam 2


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 10 Nov 2003
Posts: 4468

Posted: 17 Oct 2004 06:19:25 pm    Post subject:

I'm talking GB cam resolution, not TI-83+ resolution. The hardware mod sites describe it as having a 128 * 128 array. I'm not going to go through the math again, but if you take this into account you'll get 1/64 a megapixel. This is pretty significant because you can can dump most of this image to a TI screen without having to shrink the image like you would with a high-resolution image. Naturally, the GBC image will be a little larger than a TI-83+ screen which is why I'm more enthusiastic about a TI-89-based design. But TI-83+ will work almost as well if you're willing to work around the limits.

Seattle Robotics goes into pretty deep detail on the GBC in one of their bot projects bot projects. A few shutterbugs like lunacy8 have some nice GBC-only image galleries too.
Back to top
dabombjr2000


Newbie


Joined: 17 Aug 2004
Posts: 43

Posted: 17 Oct 2004 07:45:42 pm    Post subject:

Can anyone help me to design how to modify the gb cam, and write the asm software?

P.S. In theory, the camera could be connected to any of the ti calculators, you would just need to port the software to the other calculators.
Back to top
DigiTan
Unregistered HyperCam 2


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 10 Nov 2003
Posts: 4468

Posted: 17 Oct 2004 11:48:19 pm    Post subject:

I guess I could help out -- as far as advice goes anyway. Digital imaging to pretty new territory for me but it's a really interesting project idea.

Well I guess the first step is to choose a microcontroller for the camera. TI only gives you 2 link lines to work with, and the camera uses 7 I/O pins according to Seattle, so you'll probably need a controller like Basic Stamp, PIC, 8052, AVR, or even an intel. You might be able to pull it off without a ucontroller, but that can get very ugly very fast.
Back to top
dabombjr2000


Newbie


Joined: 17 Aug 2004
Posts: 43

Posted: 18 Oct 2004 06:54:42 pm    Post subject:

Well, it's pretty new territory for me too, but it's a project to see if it can be done, and to be a great learning experience.

ps, does anyone else want to help, because that would be great!
Back to top
DigiTan
Unregistered HyperCam 2


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 10 Nov 2003
Posts: 4468

Posted: 20 Oct 2004 07:17:38 pm    Post subject:

So did you decide on a controller yet? Alot of schools and bot groups have 'em if you need one.
Back to top
dabombjr2000


Newbie


Joined: 17 Aug 2004
Posts: 43

Posted: 24 Oct 2004 10:38:24 pm    Post subject:

I don't know what type of controller should be used, but it should probably be cheapest one that works good, or is the easiest to program.
Back to top
DigiTan
Unregistered HyperCam 2


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 10 Nov 2003
Posts: 4468

Posted: 25 Oct 2004 02:17:10 pm    Post subject:

I'll maybe go with PIC. It's cheaper than most of the other varieties and people say it's easier to program. PIC16F84 seems to be a pretty standard series (retails around $6).
Back to top
dabombjr2000


Newbie


Joined: 17 Aug 2004
Posts: 43

Posted: 27 Oct 2004 12:26:50 am    Post subject:

That sounds like a plan, where can I buy some of these, and learn how to program them?
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    » Goto page 1, 2  Next
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 1 of 2 » All times are GMT - 5 Hours

 

Advertisement