Login [Register]
Don't have an account? Register now to chat, post, use our tools, and much more.
This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's Your Projects subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. Destiny Realm => Your Projects
United-TI Archives -> Destiny Realm
 
    » Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 01 Jul 2004 10:49:49 am    Post subject:

Also, why ask me? I have no idea how to do a map loader.
Back to top
ISUCK


Newbie


Joined: 09 Feb 2004
Posts: 41

Posted: 01 Jul 2004 11:46:41 pm    Post subject:

leofox wrote:
RL3 is The Reign of Legends 3, a huge BASIC RPG. It was a featured project here, but i don't know what happened to it.

Well, kevin (rl3 programmer) doesn't have net access over da summer... the versions we have are SLOW. but he hassince switched to flash gordon other than codex's archving stuff, so it's faster loading time now Laughing

Quote:
Everything is too slow if you're used to assembly games.

SO PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE CAN SOMEONE MAKE AN ASSEMBLY MAP LOADER FOR ME??!!! SIGMA? SIR ROBIN? JUSTIN, JUSTIN, JUSTIN OR JUSTIN?!! ANYONE??!!


Have you considered using ASM subprograms like zapi?
Back to top
leofox
INF student


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 11 Apr 2004
Posts: 3562

Posted: 02 Jul 2004 03:43:06 am    Post subject:

Okay Arcane, here's the proof BASIC routines are slow:

Code:
For(x,0,7
For(y,0,11
[B](x,y
If Ans=1
If Ans=2
....
If Ans=50
End
End

takes 42 seconds, way longer than the 27 seconds CODEX has. And it doesn't even include the sprites.

Quote:
Have you considered using ASM subprograms like zapi?

what's zapi?

Quote:
Here's a crazy idea: Learn assembly and do it yourself.

yeah, i'm trying to learn it, but it doesn't really work, i don't get it. I think i'll read the asm 28 days tutorial and try some stuff, but it will take ages before i can make a map loader (i think)

Quote:
Also, why ask me? I have no idea how to do a map loader.

I asked you because i HOPED you would know how to make it...

okay, i'll try to learn ASM, but the main part of the game will stay BASIC.
Back to top
Arcane Wizard
`semi-hippie`


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 8993

Posted: 02 Jul 2004 04:25:26 am    Post subject:

leofox wrote:
Okay Arcane, here's the proof BASIC routines are slow:

Code:
For(x,0,7
For(y,0,11
[B](x,y
If Ans=1
If Ans=2
....
If Ans=50
End
End

takes 42 seconds, way longer than the 27 seconds CODEX has. And it doesn't even include the sprites.

Actually, it won't run at all, [B](0,x or [B](x,0 will return an error, and you're branching if statements in a wrong way, not to mention you put the end for the for(y,0,11 right after if Ans=50 so you're not even ending the loop correctly.

And it only took 12 seconds to run that loop properly on my regular 83.

Conclusion: you never even tested it yet claim it took 42 seconds.


Last edited by Guest on 02 Jul 2004 04:40:17 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
leofox
INF student


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 11 Apr 2004
Posts: 3562

Posted: 02 Jul 2004 07:23:22 am    Post subject:

Tha Wizard wrote:
Actually, it won't run at all, [B](0,x or [B](x,0 will return an error, and you're branching if statements in a wrong way, not to mention you put the end for the for(y,0,11 right after if Ans=50 so you're not even ending the loop correctly.

And it only took 12 seconds to run that loop properly on my regular 83.

Conclusion: you never even tested it yet claim it took 42 seconds.


i tested it, in 2 different ways actually. And the [B](X,Y) is supposed to be [B](X+1,Y+1).

The end doesn't matter, because If only looks for an End if there is a Then.
This was the exact code i tested(except the [B](X,Y stuff) and which took 42 seconds on my TI-83+ Black Edition which has not been modified (yet) since it came out of the original packaging.

Weird thing is that

Code:
For(X,0,7
For(Y,0,11
[B](X+1,Y+1
If Ans
....... (48 other If Ans's
If Ans
End
End

takes 48 seconds, even though it's smaller and stuff.

If your loop takes only 12 seconds you probably forgot the If Ans stuff.
Back to top
Arcane Wizard
`semi-hippie`


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 8993

Posted: 02 Jul 2004 10:02:15 am    Post subject:

Hahaha, the end isn't for the if statements but for the loop.

If Ans=50
End

Only ends the loop if Ans=50 is true.
Back to top
leofox
INF student


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 11 Apr 2004
Posts: 3562

Posted: 02 Jul 2004 10:26:20 am    Post subject:

that would mean the loop would never end: there is no 50 in the matrix i used. I'll test it with a PtOn next to every If statement to make it more realistic:

Code:
For(X,0,7
For(Y,0,11
[B](X+1,Y+1
If Ans=1:Pt-On(1,1
...
If Ans=50:Pt-On(1,1

takes 80 seconds
Back to top
Arcane Wizard
`semi-hippie`


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 8993

Posted: 02 Jul 2004 11:10:00 am    Post subject:

For(A,1,12
For(B,1,8
[A](B,A
If Ans=1
..
If Ans=50
//empty line so you don't mess up the loop!!!!!!!!1111111
End
End

12 seconds.

I'm too lazy test with pt-on for every line, I have better things to do as well, if you do, keep in mind to use if..then..else..end because it's faster than just if and depending on your spruite drawing routine Ans getting messed up won't matter.

But I don't think you should be using such an inefficient for loop+simple if test for handling the map data.


Last edited by Guest on 02 Jul 2004 11:11:19 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 02 Jul 2004 11:35:43 am    Post subject:

It took me 11 seconds to do it with 25 if statements because I was lazy so it should take less than 22 seconds for 50 if statements.
Back to top
leofox
INF student


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 11 Apr 2004
Posts: 3562

Posted: 02 Jul 2004 11:48:48 am    Post subject:

How come it is so slow on my calc? Did someone underclock it? What calc do you use Sir Robin? because you have a Silver Edition and a 84+ right? I was talking about the TI-83 plus BE. Can someone with a non-overclocked 83+ BE test it?

yes BE means black edition.
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 02 Jul 2004 12:09:04 pm    Post subject:

I borrowed someone's TI-83 Plus that isn't overclocked. I have an 84+.
Back to top
leofox
INF student


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 11 Apr 2004
Posts: 3562

Posted: 09 Jul 2004 12:02:01 pm    Post subject:

OK, i now found out how easy it is to make ASM picture programs, so i'm using that until i find a better way. I'm currently reading the 28 day tutorial, but i have a question:

how do you read from a Matrix? I want to know the number that's in the Matrix at a place, and then draw the sprite corresponding to the number. I did find something about If-like statements in ASM, but it's doesn't say anything about reading from a Matrix...
Back to top
leofox
INF student


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 11 Apr 2004
Posts: 3562

Posted: 04 Oct 2004 11:41:00 am    Post subject:

I have completed demo v0.10, you can download it here. You can see info about my other projects there too.

I would like as many people as possible to alpha test this demo, point out bugs (there shouldn't be any, but maybe something unexpected happens) and tell me how this could be better. You'll need a TI-83+ (SE) (maybe it works on 84+ too) to test this. Maybe the number of halts needs to be changed because the character walks to fast or to slow.

A readme is included within the file. You'll need a zip program that works with .rar files to unzip the file.

run prgmY to install, and prgmMAPCTRL to play


Last edited by Guest on 12 Oct 2004 01:05:04 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
leofox
INF student


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 11 Apr 2004
Posts: 3562

Posted: 12 Oct 2004 03:08:19 pm    Post subject:

hello?

why does no one reply? It's been over a week now :(

i'll just post some stuff about the game:

the game speed has increased significantly since the last demo, because i use an asm sprite program and map program, instead of basic. I have deleted the cheat map, and replaced the inside of the house with a potion shoppe. Another difference is that pressing "clear" doesn't immediately stop the program, like it did in the first demo, but shows a nice little exit menu.

some weird stuff:
-most items are only accesible by editing the item list
-you can't drink potions, even though you can buy them
-you can buy whatever you want, even if you have no money left
Back to top
koolmansam375


Advanced Member


Joined: 09 Oct 2004
Posts: 254

Posted: 12 Oct 2004 05:47:25 pm    Post subject:

leofox wrote:
how do you read from a Matrix? I want to know the number that's in the Matrix at a place, and then draw the sprite corresponding to the number. I did find something about If-like statements in ASM, but it's doesn't say anything about reading from a Matrix...

It depends how youre array is ordered. It talks about this at the bottom of day 3. Just use 'cp's and 'jr/jp' along with the formula for the matrix.

btw, a matrix is also a 2-D array so just type (of course with the sizes you want)

Code:
Matrix:
.db 0,0,0,0,0
.db 0,0,0,0,0
.db 0,0,0,0,0
.db 0,0,0,0,0
and you have a matrix!

So this game is going to be in ASM? We could use another ASM rpg Laughing
Back to top
leofox
INF student


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 11 Apr 2004
Posts: 3562

Posted: 13 Oct 2004 09:38:26 am    Post subject:

koolmansam375 wrote:
leofox wrote:
how do you read from a Matrix? I want to know the number that's in the Matrix at a place, and then draw the sprite corresponding to the number. I did find something about If-like statements in ASM, but it's doesn't say anything about reading from a Matrix...

It depends how youre array is ordered. It talks about this at the bottom of day 3. Just use 'cp's and 'jr/jp' along with the formula for the matrix.

btw, a matrix is also a 2-D array so just type (of course with the sizes you want)

Code:
Matrix:
.db 0,0,0,0,0
.db 0,0,0,0,0
.db 0,0,0,0,0
.db 0,0,0,0,0
and you have a matrix!

well i actually meant the user variable matrix.

I know how to do that, my demo uses it. The downside is that one map takes 875B, and about 250B if stored in a program ([[1,1,1][1,1,1]]->[A] format). I'm planning to use a 10KB file with data in 1B format (96B per map) in archive that the asm subprog directly reads from to draw a map.

I can store over a hundred screens this way without wasting ram, or slowing down using Archive/Unarchive :D


Quote:
So this game is going to be in ASM? We could use another ASM rpg  Laughing

It's BASIC and ASM. The main part is basic, but i'll write things that can't be done fast enough in BASIC in ASM. Like sprite movement and drawing maps.

I know it can be done better in full assembly, i just like basic. Very Happy
Back to top
Intell Officer J


Newbie


Joined: 10 May 2004
Posts: 7

Posted: 22 Oct 2004 01:16:52 pm    Post subject:

OI cut the crap Maarten!
why don't use my scenario for the game?!
Ok, it's a bit sawn off....... but it's cooler than: Slave Work harder!

[I like <fst rply> it's the best!]
Back to top
Toksyuryel
Crimson Dragon Software


Elite


Joined: 14 Jun 2003
Posts: 880

Posted: 22 Oct 2004 01:27:35 pm    Post subject:

:?

Could someone maybe translate that... please...?
Back to top
DJ Omnimaga
http://i-lost-the-ga.me


Calc Guru


Joined: 14 Nov 2003
Posts: 1196

Posted: 22 Oct 2004 01:52:14 pm    Post subject:

Sheur uisda dam judibilatus musibuetsu orirital culubitump asticalus

This is a language I created two second ago.

BTW I played Leofox RPG demo and it look really nice!


Last edited by Guest on 22 Oct 2004 01:53:07 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
leofox
INF student


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 11 Apr 2004
Posts: 3562

Posted: 23 Oct 2004 04:02:21 am    Post subject:

Intell Officer J wrote:
OI cut the crap Maarten!
why don't use my scenario for the game?!
Ok, it's a bit sawn off....... but it's cooler than: Slave Work harder!

[I like <fst rply> it's the best!]

I'm not using your scenario! It was about a tower that was as high as the moon! It had cheesy characters like cpn. Spock VI!

And i want to first make a engine that fully works bug-free before bothering about a story/scenario.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    » Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 4 of 6 » All times are GMT - 5 Hours

 

Advertisement