Author |
Message |
|
leofox INF student
Super Elite (Last Title)
Joined: 11 Apr 2004 Posts: 3562
|
Posted: 30 Jun 2004 07:28:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
Only with 2.
I think checkerboard sprites are really slow in BASIC. And I used Pxl-On instead of PtOn. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Arcane Wizard `semi-hippie`
Super Elite (Last Title)
Joined: 02 Jun 2003 Posts: 8993
|
Posted: 30 Jun 2004 07:32:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
Pxl-On is even faster, yes, though one can usually replace several Pxl-Ons with Lines, which can sometimes be even faster if used correctly.
It just takes a bit of testing and experience to balance it.
Also, checkerboard sprites? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
agility Calc Spammer
Calc Guru
Joined: 16 May 2004 Posts: 1266
|
Posted: 30 Jun 2004 07:33:49 am Post subject: |
|
|
Quick question: how do you do delays in BASIC? I'm trying to simulate the TI cursor block thing in the upper right corner of the screen in one of my programs. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Arcane Wizard `semi-hippie`
Super Elite (Last Title)
Joined: 02 Jun 2003 Posts: 8993
|
Posted: 30 Jun 2004 07:37:14 am Post subject: |
|
|
It depends, though you could use a simple for loop, you could also use something like this:
For(X,1,10
If X=10:Then
//code
1->X
End
End
And there's many other possiblities, like using a slow functoin such as tan() or cos() or sin().
Repeat 0
Disp "GAME LOOP!!!!!!111
tan(1)
tan(1)
tan(1)
tan(1)
tan(1)
End
Last edited by Guest on 30 Jun 2004 07:38:12 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
leofox INF student
Super Elite (Last Title)
Joined: 11 Apr 2004 Posts: 3562
|
Posted: 30 Jun 2004 07:39:20 am Post subject: |
|
|
Arcane Wizard wrote: Also, checkerboard sprites?
yeah, like this:
Code: #.#.#.#.
.#.#.#.#
#.#.#.#.
.#.#.#.#
#.#.#.#.
.#.#.#.#
#.#.#.#.
.#.#.#.#
it's for grey-like roofs and stuff |
|
Back to top |
|
|
agility Calc Spammer
Calc Guru
Joined: 16 May 2004 Posts: 1266
|
Posted: 30 Jun 2004 07:40:09 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks for the help! Can you even put comments in BASIC like what you posted as //code? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Arcane Wizard `semi-hippie`
Super Elite (Last Title)
Joined: 02 Jun 2003 Posts: 8993
|
Posted: 30 Jun 2004 07:47:10 am Post subject: |
|
|
leofox wrote: Arcane Wizard wrote: Also, checkerboard sprites?
yeah, like this:
Code: #.#.#.#.
.#.#.#.#
#.#.#.#.
.#.#.#.#
#.#.#.#.
.#.#.#.#
#.#.#.#.
.#.#.#.#
it's for grey-like roofs and stuff
It's slow because you should use lines instead, any bunch (4 or more, to a max of course) pixels that are either vertically, horizontally, or diagonally connected should be drawn with line( instead of pxl-on.
Quote: Thanks for the help! Can you even put comments in BASIC like what you posted as //code? Please, don't ever use comments in TIBASIC programs. You can put it in posted source code just fine, but never actually put it in a program on the calc, it's simply a waste of space and slows things down because the parser can't skip comments since it sees everything as code.
If you want to know how anyway, there's many possibilities of course, but here's an example:
prgmEXAMPLE wrote: Goto 0
"COMMENTS
"I MADE THIS LOL!!!!1111
Lbl 0
Repeat 0
"DISPLAY LOLOLOLOL:
DISP "LOLOLOL
"ADD A AND B AND STORE TO C:
A+B->C
End |
|
Back to top |
|
|
leofox INF student
Super Elite (Last Title)
Joined: 11 Apr 2004 Posts: 3562
|
Posted: 30 Jun 2004 07:50:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
I doubt it will be faster, i'm not going to change the routine to something i'm not sure of if it will be faster, and waste precious developing time. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Arcane Wizard `semi-hippie`
Super Elite (Last Title)
Joined: 02 Jun 2003 Posts: 8993
|
Posted: 30 Jun 2004 07:53:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
I know for a fact it can be done faster in BASIC, but you should be willing to test new ways of doing things in order to improve your programs anyway, you don't have to replace code, just copy your program to another one, edit there, test, use the results. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
leofox INF student
Super Elite (Last Title)
Joined: 11 Apr 2004 Posts: 3562
|
Posted: 30 Jun 2004 08:00:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
To fully test it, i have to make all the 50+ sprites in BASIC, make a huge routine and then test it a hundred times, and come to the conclusion it's really slow.
If BASIC routines are faster, why doesn't RL3, for example, use it?
But the program that lets you save 255 pics looks interesting. How much space does every pic take? The same as regular (767 bytes)? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Arcane Wizard `semi-hippie`
Super Elite (Last Title)
Joined: 02 Jun 2003 Posts: 8993
|
Posted: 30 Jun 2004 09:37:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
leofox wrote: To fully test it, i have to make all the 50+ sprites in BASIC, make a huge routine and then test it a hundred times, and come to the conclusion it's really slow.
You don't know that without testing it.
Quote: If BASIC routines are faster, why doesn't RL3, for example, use it? BASIC routines aren't always faster, I'm just saying you can load a 11*7 map with 50+ different sprites in less than half a minute using TIBASIC. And what the heck is RL3?
Last edited by Guest on 30 Jun 2004 10:16:42 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
leofox INF student
Super Elite (Last Title)
Joined: 11 Apr 2004 Posts: 3562
|
Posted: 30 Jun 2004 10:15:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
RL3 is The Reign of Legends 3, a huge BASIC RPG. It was a featured project here, but i don't know what happened to it. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
agility Calc Spammer
Calc Guru
Joined: 16 May 2004 Posts: 1266
|
Posted: 30 Jun 2004 11:08:10 am Post subject: |
|
|
Not sure exactly. It doesn't say in the readme. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
leofox INF student
Super Elite (Last Title)
Joined: 11 Apr 2004 Posts: 3562
|
Posted: 01 Jul 2004 07:47:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
Arcane Wizard wrote: [ Quote: If BASIC routines are faster, why doesn't RL3, for example, use it? BASIC routines aren't always faster, I'm just saying you can load a 11*7 map with 50+ different sprites in less than half a minute using TIBASIC. And what the heck is RL3?
the map isn't 11x7, it's 12x8.
The reason that it's so slow is that it is in fact a huge job. It will have in total 96x50= 4800 If Then Else routines
96x9= 864 pixel ons, pt ons and lines.
96x50=4800 Matrix loads
the matrix loads alone take 1056 seconds, with Ans as variable it takes 120 seconds if you want to check for all the 50 different sprites.
The sprite routine can be done faster because it can use one routine for a row of 12 sprites.
Code: {5,1,Ans-20,X8,Y8}
Asm(prgmCODEX
can handle all sprites on row one (which is in fact the second row).
And there's the benefit of using the 64th row and 96th column
Last edited by Guest on 01 Jul 2004 07:47:56 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
DarkerLine ceci n'est pas une |
Super Elite (Last Title)
Joined: 04 Nov 2003 Posts: 8328
|
Posted: 01 Jul 2004 07:57:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
Matrix loads? Where would a matrix come in? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Arcane Wizard `semi-hippie`
Super Elite (Last Title)
Joined: 02 Jun 2003 Posts: 8993
|
Posted: 01 Jul 2004 07:57:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
I don't care that it doesn't work with your basic code, I've had 15*10 maps load faster than 30 seconds, even 23*15 maps.
If programmed correctly, the number of sprites practically shouldn't matter at all.
Last edited by Guest on 01 Jul 2004 07:59:08 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
leofox INF student
Super Elite (Last Title)
Joined: 11 Apr 2004 Posts: 3562
|
Posted: 01 Jul 2004 08:00:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
Sir Robin wrote: Matrix loads? Where would a matrix come in?
i use a 8x12 matrix that represents the map. It has to look in that matrix for what sprite to use.
Quote: I don't care that it doesn't work with your basic code, I've had 15*10 maps load faster than 30 seconds, even 23*15 maps.
If programmed correctly, the number of sprites practically shouldn't matter at all.
of course it doesn't work with my code, as i don't have a Basic code.
But the walking and map routines work fine now, i'm now working on the shops and the item pack.
Last edited by Guest on 01 Jul 2004 08:01:37 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Arcane Wizard `semi-hippie`
Super Elite (Last Title)
Joined: 02 Jun 2003 Posts: 8993
|
Posted: 01 Jul 2004 08:03:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
leofox wrote: Sir Robin wrote: Matrix loads? Where would a matrix come in?
i use a 8x12 matrix that represents the map. It has to look in that matrix for what sprite to use.
Quote: I don't care that it doesn't work with your basic code, I've had 15*10 maps load faster than 30 seconds, even 23*15 maps.
If programmed correctly, the number of sprites practically shouldn't matter at all.
of course it doesn't work with my code, as i don't have a Basic code.
As in whatever basic code you planned on using, with all your matrix loads and all.
My problem is that I even find 9 seconds for a 23*15 map too slow. : ( |
|
Back to top |
|
|
leofox INF student
Super Elite (Last Title)
Joined: 11 Apr 2004 Posts: 3562
|
Posted: 01 Jul 2004 08:08:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
Everything is too slow if you're used to assembly games.
SO PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE CAN SOMEONE MAKE AN ASSEMBLY MAP LOADER FOR ME??!!! SIGMA? SIR ROBIN? JUSTIN, JUSTIN, JUSTIN OR JUSTIN?!! ANYONE??!! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Arcane Wizard `semi-hippie`
Super Elite (Last Title)
Joined: 02 Jun 2003 Posts: 8993
|
Posted: 01 Jul 2004 08:13:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
Here's a crazy idea: Learn assembly and do it yourself.
:o |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|