Login [Register]
Don't have an account? Register now to chat, post, use our tools, and much more.
This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's TI-BASIC subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. TI-Basic => TI-BASIC
Author Message
Newbie


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 2247

Posted: 14 Feb 2004 04:15:40 pm    Post subject:

Is there a way to slow down shade so it could look like when you run a game it would load across slowly and there would be words at the bottom that would change for instance saying Loading menus, scenery, texture and so forth as a black bar crosses the screen?
Back to top
Darth Android
DragonOS Dev Team


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 31 May 2003
Posts: 2104

Posted: 14 Feb 2004 04:27:34 pm    Post subject:

no, sorry.
you could draw the lines your self though....
Back to top
Fr0sty


Member


Joined: 27 Nov 2003
Posts: 202

Posted: 14 Feb 2004 05:48:59 pm    Post subject:

Can you please tell me what kind of program requires: A ticker, a timer, shade, inverted text, boxes with options, fractions, a copyright, and a password?
Also I hope you know with all of those, your program's gonna run really slow.
Back to top
Darth Android
DragonOS Dev Team


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 31 May 2003
Posts: 2104

Posted: 14 Feb 2004 06:41:23 pm    Post subject:

why are you hoping that someone's programming project turns out bad? if you dont care about his project, you shouldnt post at all!
maybe he's making a shell!


Last edited by Guest on 14 Feb 2004 06:51:31 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Fr0sty


Member


Joined: 27 Nov 2003
Posts: 202

Posted: 14 Feb 2004 08:11:56 pm    Post subject:

I don't hope his project turns out bad, I'm just wondering why he has to ask how to do everything. Part of programming is experience and learning how to do things on your own. You don't learn anything using everyone else's codes. Plus, he said he'd try to learn ASM if someone would teach him how and then he's been given tutorials but yet he has no threads in the ASM forums.
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 14 Feb 2004 08:50:08 pm    Post subject:

Fr0sty wrote:
Can you please tell me what kind of program requires: A ticker, a timer, shade, inverted text, boxes with options, fractions, a copyright, and a password?
Also I hope you know with all of those, your program's gonna run really slow.

Not necessarily, he's not going to do them all at once. And you forgot about scenery and texture. I don't think this will be very small either.
Back to top
Arcane Wizard
`semi-hippie`


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 8993

Posted: 15 Feb 2004 10:16:55 am    Post subject:

Newbie wrote:
Is there a way to slow down shade so it could look like when you run a game it would load across slowly and there would be words at the bottom that would change for instance saying Loading menus, scenery, texture and so forth as a black bar crosses the screen?

Yes there is! Just use a delay like a for loop to slow down the drawing of a line or (better) have a little routine that calculates where to draw the line (how far on the progress bar) compared to where it should be when it has finished everything.

Example of the latter:

Output(1,0,"LOADING:
"Levels 1-100"->Str0
For(X,1,250)
randInt(1,10)->L1(X) //load random value into L1(X could befor a random map generator for example
X(16/250)+(X=0) //calculate where to update the progress bar, the X(16/250 makes the 16 x coordinates on te homescreen be relative to 250 and the +(X=0 makes it so it doesn't try to draw stuff at 5,0 which is impossible on the homescreen
Output(5,Ans,"-") //update progress bar
If X>100:"LEVELS 101-200"->Str0
If X>200:"FINALS LEVELS"->Str0
Output(8,0,Str0)
End

Yes, I know it's unoptimized

Quote:
no, sorry.
He doesn't mean the shading function, he means the shading effect you get when drawing a lot of lines in succession. (right, newbie?)

Last edited by Guest on 15 Feb 2004 10:17:27 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Newbie


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 2247

Posted: 15 Feb 2004 10:58:08 am    Post subject:

Yes, thats what I meant.

Edit: Where was that link to learn ASM in something amount of days. I just never got arund to it and I want to stick it on my Pocket PC.


Last edited by Guest on 15 Feb 2004 11:06:08 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Arcane Wizard
`semi-hippie`


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 8993

Posted: 15 Feb 2004 11:21:34 am    Post subject:

Check the asm forum.
Back to top
Adm.Wiggin
aka Tianon


Know-It-All


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 1874

Posted: 16 Feb 2004 11:34:52 am    Post subject:

it should be in a pinned topic called something like "ASM For N00bs"
Back to top
DarkerLine
ceci n'est pas une |


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 8328

Posted: 16 Feb 2004 05:42:33 pm    Post subject:

See, there's these things called search engines. And one of them is google. And google lets you install this thing called a google toolbar. This toolbar has this option called "Search site", which does just what you would think. And the really amazing thing is when you type TI-83 Plus Assembly in 28 Days, and click on this option, these things come up called search results. And they all happen to be about TI-83 Plus Assembly in 28 Days. Cool, isn't it?
Back to top
Newbie


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 2247

Posted: 17 Feb 2004 04:22:10 pm    Post subject:

No
Back to top
Arcane Wizard
`semi-hippie`


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 8993

Posted: 17 Feb 2004 04:42:24 pm    Post subject:

Yes, it is, and don't post single word replies.
Back to top
Newbie


Bandwidth Hog


Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 2247

Posted: 17 Feb 2004 04:43:37 pm    Post subject:

How is that cool?
Back to top
Arcane Wizard
`semi-hippie`


Super Elite (Last Title)


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 8993

Posted: 17 Feb 2004 04:51:00 pm    Post subject:

Quote:
cool

The best way to say something is neat-o, awesome, or swell. The phrase "cool" is very relaxed, never goes out of style, and people will never laugh at you for using it, very conveniant for people like me who don't care about what's "in."

Homestar is cool.
The Red Sox are cool.
Twinkies are cool.
Search functions = cool.

Now, talk about shades and not wether you being too lazy to search for things yourself is cool or searching is cool.


Last edited by Guest on 17 Feb 2004 04:54:01 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    »
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 1 of 1 » All times are GMT - 5 Hours

 

Advertisement