Author |
Message |
|
leofox INF student
Super Elite (Last Title)
Joined: 11 Apr 2004 Posts: 3562
|
Posted: 29 Jun 2004 07:48:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
27 seconds on a regular TI 83+, which is way to long. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
agility Calc Spammer
Calc Guru
Joined: 16 May 2004 Posts: 1266
|
Posted: 29 Jun 2004 07:54:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
23 Seconds on mine. It's overclocked a little bit. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
leofox INF student
Super Elite (Last Title)
Joined: 11 Apr 2004 Posts: 3562
|
Posted: 29 Jun 2004 07:57:20 am Post subject: |
|
|
My 83+ is not overclocked, and it takes 27 seconds. I hate it, cuz i had to test every map a hundred times until the engine finally worked and the sprites were in the right place.
Did anyone find the cheat yet? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Arcane Wizard `semi-hippie`
Super Elite (Last Title)
Joined: 02 Jun 2003 Posts: 8993
|
Posted: 29 Jun 2004 08:58:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
27 seconds?! You could do it faster in pure basic! (8*8 sprites right?) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
agility Calc Spammer
Calc Guru
Joined: 16 May 2004 Posts: 1266
|
Posted: 29 Jun 2004 09:07:37 am Post subject: |
|
|
Maybe save the sprites as pictures. There's a program that lets you store 255 pictures on your calculator. Or you could just graph them. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
leofox INF student
Super Elite (Last Title)
Joined: 11 Apr 2004 Posts: 3562
|
Posted: 29 Jun 2004 09:15:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
Arcane Wizard wrote: 27 seconds?! You could do it faster in pure basic! (8*8 sprites right?)
a whole map is 96 sprites, i don't know if that can be done faster in pure basic. Maybe i'll try, i found a fast routine somewhere that involved strings.
yes 8x8 sprites
agility wrote: Maybe save the sprites as pictures. There's a program that lets you store 255 pictures on your calculator. Or you could just graph them.
the sprites are already saved in pic0, and it fits 96 different sprites, which is enough. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Arcane Wizard `semi-hippie`
Super Elite (Last Title)
Joined: 02 Jun 2003 Posts: 8993
|
Posted: 29 Jun 2004 09:31:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
Map data is stored in [A]
prgmGAME wrote: For(A,1,11
For(B,1,7
[A](B,A
prgmSPRITES
End
End
prgmSPRITES wrote: If Ans=1:Then
Pt-On(8B-7,8A-7
Else
If Ans=2:Then
Pt-On(8B-6,8A-6
Else
If Ans=3:Then
Pt-On(8B-5,8A-5
End
End
End
Takes a couple of seconds.
Last edited by Guest on 29 Jun 2004 09:32:17 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
leofox INF student
Super Elite (Last Title)
Joined: 11 Apr 2004 Posts: 3562
|
Posted: 29 Jun 2004 09:47:12 am Post subject: |
|
|
Yes, for one pixel per sprite. Let's say a 8x8 sprite is half full with pixels.
Code: If Ans=1:Then
For(theta,1,32
Pt-On(8B-7,8A-7
End
End
it takes over a minute for a full map!
Last edited by Guest on 29 Jun 2004 09:47:55 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Arcane Wizard `semi-hippie`
Super Elite (Last Title)
Joined: 02 Jun 2003 Posts: 8993
|
Posted: 29 Jun 2004 09:57:14 am Post subject: |
|
|
Why on earth would you use a loop to draw a hardcoded sprite?
Just replace the pt-on in the above programs with a bunch of lines or other pt-on statements. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
DarkerLine ceci n'est pas une |
Super Elite (Last Title)
Joined: 04 Nov 2003 Posts: 8328
|
Posted: 29 Jun 2004 12:29:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
How would you fit 96 8x8 sprites in Pic0? A pic file is 63x96, and it's 63x95 if you created it with StorePic. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Arcane Wizard `semi-hippie`
Super Elite (Last Title)
Joined: 02 Jun 2003 Posts: 8993
|
Posted: 29 Jun 2004 12:47:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Have 12 sprites with a blank bottom row, or 11 with a blank bottom row and 7 with a blank most right collumn.
Last edited by Guest on 29 Jun 2004 12:47:35 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
agility Calc Spammer
Calc Guru
Joined: 16 May 2004 Posts: 1266
|
Posted: 29 Jun 2004 02:34:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Why is this RPG half BASIC half ASM? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Arcane Wizard `semi-hippie`
Super Elite (Last Title)
Joined: 02 Jun 2003 Posts: 8993
|
Posted: 29 Jun 2004 02:38:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Because that's the cool thing to do these days? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
DarkerLine ceci n'est pas une |
Super Elite (Last Title)
Joined: 04 Nov 2003 Posts: 8328
|
Posted: 29 Jun 2004 06:20:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I'd say laziness. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
leofox INF student
Super Elite (Last Title)
Joined: 11 Apr 2004 Posts: 3562
|
Posted: 30 Jun 2004 03:09:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
Arcane Wizard wrote: Why on earth would you use a loop to draw a hardcoded sprite?
Just replace the pt-on in the above programs with a bunch of lines or other pt-on statements.
i used a loop to simulate a 32 pixel sprite, cuz i was too lazy to code all the Pt.On
i tried some codes with pure basic Pxl On's and Codex squaresm and this is what i found out:
Code: 13:Asm(prgmCODEX ; clears the screen
For(Y,0,11
For(X,0,7
-----9 pixel on's that draw a grass sprite-----
End
End
takes 15 seconds to fill the screen with grass
Code: 13:Asm(prgmCODEX ; clears the screen
For(Y,0,11
For(X,0,7
[A](X+1,Y+1->theta
If theta=1:Then
-----9 pixel on's that draw a grass sprite-----
End
If theta=2:Then
{3,X8,Y8,X8+7,Y8+7 ;draws a square
Asm(prgmCODEX
End
End
End
Takes 20 seconds to fill the screen with grass and blocks, which is slower than the original sprite routine, which takes 17 seconds with 2 different sprites.
Conclusion: The speed of drawing a map significantly decreases if more sprites are used. It can be done in pure BASIC, but it's slower, takes more memory and is unable to use the last row and colom.
Sir Robin wrote: How would you fit 96 8x8 sprites in Pic0? A pic file is 63x96, and it's 63x95 if you created it with StorePic.
TI CONNECT SCREENCAPTURE can use the last row and colom, so i have a 64x96 picture, which is 8x12 8x8 sprites.
sigma wrote: Why is this RPG half BASIC half ASM?
because i can't do ASM, and i want it faster than just basic. It's not half ASM, i'd say 90 per cent BASIC, 10 per cent ASM, the fighting routine, the shops, the menus are 100 per cent BASIC.
Last edited by Guest on 30 Jun 2004 03:12:44 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
agility Calc Spammer
Calc Guru
Joined: 16 May 2004 Posts: 1266
|
Posted: 30 Jun 2004 06:34:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
So, in what category would you release this game under on TICALC.ORG then? BASIC, ASM, or both? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
leofox INF student
Super Elite (Last Title)
Joined: 11 Apr 2004 Posts: 3562
|
Posted: 30 Jun 2004 06:38:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
BASIC. the biggest part, and the main program is BASIC.
íf i upload it to ticalc.org, which i'm not going to do until it's finished, and when i have lots of screenshots. I don't want to upload another unfinished unscreenshotted programs. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Arcane Wizard `semi-hippie`
Super Elite (Last Title)
Joined: 02 Jun 2003 Posts: 8993
|
Posted: 30 Jun 2004 07:15:13 am Post subject: |
|
|
leofox wrote: i used a loop to simulate a 32 pixel sprite, cuz i was too lazy to code all the Pt.On
Next time you simulate something do it realistically, loops are far slower than pt-ons and lines.
Quote: Takes 20 seconds to fill the screen with grass and blocks, which is slower than the original sprite routine, which takes 17 seconds with 2 different sprites. Use else.
Also, comparing a loop with a loop and an if then else statement doesn't prove more if then else statements make it slower, it just shows that using if then else is slower than having no conditional programming at all. Conclusion: worthless comparison.
Quote: It can be done in pure BASIC, but it's slower, takes more memory and is unable to use the last row and colom. Slower than pure assembly, yes, slower than drawing 11*7 sprites in 20 seconds? No, unless you don't write efficient enough code. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
leofox INF student
Super Elite (Last Title)
Joined: 11 Apr 2004 Posts: 3562
|
Posted: 30 Jun 2004 07:18:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
Until someone comes with a more efficient BASIC code for 50+ sprites, i keep CODEX sprites.
Last edited by Guest on 30 Jun 2004 07:18:49 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Arcane Wizard `semi-hippie`
Super Elite (Last Title)
Joined: 02 Jun 2003 Posts: 8993
|
Posted: 30 Jun 2004 07:24:37 am Post subject: |
|
|
Did you try my method yet with 50+ sprites? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|