Login [Register]
Don't have an account? Register now to chat, post, use our tools, and much more.
This is an archived, read-only copy of the United-TI subforum , including posts and topic from May 2003 to April 2012. If you would like to discuss any of the topics in this forum, you can visit Cemetech's Technology & Calculator Open Topic subforum. Some of these topics may also be directly-linked to active Cemetech topics. If you are a Cemetech member with a linked United-TI account, you can link United-TI topics here with your current Cemetech topics.

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. Community News & Discuss Nspire => Technology & Calculator Open Topic
Author Message
bsl


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 09 Jan 2010
Posts: 94

Posted: 30 Oct 2010 10:44:14 pm    Post subject:

You want to end up with a Touchpad(in to cable) to Clickpad(out to calculator) conversion cable and if this is a cheap idea or not.
Part of this is investigation - what can be done.
The OS(<2.0) is expecting to see a Clickpad.
The idea is to remap the Touchpad key to its Clickpad equivalent.
You might not map all the keys this way - only the important ones.
If all there is in both kepads are spring loaded buttons and a simple printed cicuit board then jumper
wires should be all you need. If there are active circuits also, then you raise a good question.
You would have to do more than jumpers at the junction box .
Opening both kepads would reveal whats needed and what can and cannot be done.
Back to top
willrandship


Newbie


Joined: 16 Dec 2009
Posts: 10

Posted: 08 Nov 2010 06:22:42 pm    Post subject:

Err, I'm having a problem. When I use ndless 1.4, (I am using os 1.4 btw) I ended up using two resource files, one ndless_resources and one ndless_res_beta2, and ndless_installer (ndless_inst_beta2 didn't work as well) before this I was getting corruption lines across the display, but now I get a striped or Solid screen. Any help?

Edit: BTW, Clickpad non-cas

Also, the way the keypad links and says what it is is probably a small amount of EPROM or something similar, one write only ROM, or perhaps a set of wires either on or off.


Last edited by Guest on 08 Nov 2010 07:03:41 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
apcalc


Newbie


Joined: 28 Jun 2010
Posts: 22

Posted: 08 Nov 2010 08:00:03 pm    Post subject:

Is the Nspire plugged into a computer? I believe that this was the cause of this screen (not having it plugged in).
Back to top
willrandship


Newbie


Joined: 16 Dec 2009
Posts: 10

Posted: 08 Nov 2010 08:12:04 pm    Post subject:

I tried the following:

Plugged in, no programs Running: Freeze without any screen garble
Plugged in, Tilp running: Freeze with garbage on top line
Unplugged: Sometimes Black with lines, Sometimes Solid Black, Sometimes Freeze without corruption

Edit: I'm updating TiLP. It's a pain, but not as much as dealing with the disconnects and such of 1.12

Edit2: Now I consistently get:
connected: screen corrupt
Disconnected: stripes or Black


Last edited by Guest on 08 Nov 2010 10:17:03 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
ExtendeD


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 30 Aug 2009
Posts: 91

Posted: 09 Nov 2010 05:29:18 am    Post subject:

Run the installer while disconnected, then connect the TI-Nspire when the clock starts moving.
Back to top
willrandship


Newbie


Joined: 16 Dec 2009
Posts: 10

Posted: 09 Nov 2010 09:50:30 am    Post subject:

Thanks! That worked great! Now I have a particle demo running on my nspire Razz when I get home I'll stick on block dude and GBCnspire.
Back to top
bsl


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 09 Jan 2010
Posts: 94

Posted: 15 Nov 2010 04:29:39 pm    Post subject:

Here is another work around for the Touchpad issue with an older OS.
Print out the JPEG below:
[attachment=3308:TPAD_CPAD.jpg]
Let me know if there are mistakes
Back to top
critor


Member


Joined: 04 Feb 2009
Posts: 132

Posted: 26 Nov 2010 08:05:10 am    Post subject:

Thank you for this very usefull image.


Now that Ndless 1.7 is allmost released, is it possible to update Ndless 1.4 for the "poor" TI-Nspire CAS TouchPad users ?
http://bytecode.fr/miscfiles/ti/nspire/ndless-1.7-beta
Back to top
bsl


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 09 Jan 2010
Posts: 94

Posted: 26 Nov 2010 12:11:06 pm    Post subject:

Sure !!!
Here is the same changes to Ndless1.4 as to Ndless1.7, the difference is I added
the Touchpad definitions to common.h[ Thanks Goplat ].
Now you should be able to compile programs for the Touchpad.
You can navigate using my JPEG image above
under OS1.4 . [ Will I find a software patch for this ?????!!!!!! ]
Once you install Ndless , you can run programs that recognize the Touchpad.
I tested the Navigation keys as shown in the image using the Touchpad option on the emulator.

Here is the source
[attachment=3310:Ndless1.4 source-r2.zip]

Here are the beta binaries:
[attachment=3311:ndless1.4-beta3.zip]

One question:
Will this version be less stable, more stable, or the same stability as Ndless1.7 ?


Last edited by Guest on 26 Nov 2010 02:46:01 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
critor


Member


Joined: 04 Feb 2009
Posts: 132

Posted: 20 Dec 2010 07:31:47 pm    Post subject:

I've tested Ndless 1.4 on both non-CAS and CAS TI-Nspire with OS 1.4.
It works great!

By the way, now that Ndless 1.7 has been released, is it possible to update Ndless 1.4 ?
Back to top
bsl


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 09 Jan 2010
Posts: 94

Posted: 21 Dec 2010 01:38:23 am    Post subject:

I will post it soon.
I have in running now , but not done updating it with the new code.
One difference I noticed from Ndless 2.0 - when you quit a program you really quit it.
Under Ndless 2.0 when I quit a program I usually had to follow with a menu esc to get back to the Folders.
I tested: ndshell, mviewer, console, particles, hello and this NES game below:
[attachment=3332:NESGAME.JPG]
Back to top
bsl


Advanced Newbie


Joined: 09 Jan 2010
Posts: 94

Posted: 22 Dec 2010 05:39:59 pm    Post subject:

Here is Ndless 1.4, with the similar updates as Ndless 1.7/2.0.
It has the same core Syscalls as Ndless 2.0.
I added some custom syscalls not in the main syscall distribution into test.c
This shows you how to write custom syscalls.
Any new OS calls I find I will post in CUSTOM form and not commit to the core Ndless1.4 distribution.
These new calls are miscellaneous or interesting - some work , some don't, to be used on the emulator .
1)ftell works.
2)found what looks like atol( not sure the difference with atoi) that works.
3)put back in atof test - doesnt output correctly - might use TI 68K format for floating point numbers ?
The release has both source and binaries:

[attachment=3336:Ndless-1.4.zip]

Now, on to the lean and mean Ndless1.3
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register to Join the Conversation
Have your own thoughts to add to this or any other topic? Want to ask a question, offer a suggestion, share your own programs and projects, upload a file to the file archives, get help with calculator and computer programming, or simply chat with like-minded coders and tech and calculator enthusiasts via the site-wide AJAX SAX widget? Registration for a free Cemetech account only takes a minute.

» Go to Registration page
    » Goto page Previous  1, 2
» View previous topic :: View next topic  
Page 2 of 2 » All times are GMT - 5 Hours

 

Advertisement