Author |
Message |
|
nitacku
Advanced Member
Joined: 23 Aug 2005 Posts: 408
|
Posted: 15 Nov 2007 07:10:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
hmm, that seems sort of like object oriented programing
I'm sure there's some really great uses for this (I'm thinking of a use right now :biggrin: ) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
echidna
Newbie
Joined: 10 Nov 2007 Posts: 15
|
Posted: 15 Nov 2007 07:32:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
It's better not to have code in string, this is a bad way of programming |
|
Back to top |
|
|
simplethinker snjwffl
Active Member
Joined: 25 Jul 2006 Posts: 700
|
Posted: 15 Nov 2007 07:33:00 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Another way to do it if you have only one chunk of code is to type it in on the homescreen and just recall entry (so you only hit 2nd->enter instead of 2nd->recall->something) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
DarkerLine ceci n'est pas une |
Super Elite (Last Title)
Joined: 04 Nov 2003 Posts: 8328
|
Posted: 15 Nov 2007 07:35:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
nitacku wrote: hmm, that seems sort of like object oriented programing
I'm sure there's some really great uses for this (I'm thinking of a use right now :biggrin: ) [post="116029"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]
echidna wrote: It's better not to have code in string, this is a bad way of programming [post="116031"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]
Unless I'm misreading the post, this is more for the purposes of making it more convenient to write the program - the variables won't be used by the program itself, since you recall them.
Last edited by Guest on 02 Dec 2007 10:48:16 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Harrierfalcon The Raptor of Calcs
Super Elite (Last Title)
Joined: 25 Oct 2006 Posts: 2535
|
Posted: 15 Nov 2007 08:12:42 pm Post subject: |
|
|
nitacku wrote: hmm, that seems sort of like object oriented programing
I'm sure there's some really great uses for this (I'm thinking of a use right now :biggrin: ) [post="116029"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post] I've mainly been using it for repetitive xLIB functions and Asm( lines, but that could work.
simplethinker wrote: Another way to do it if you have only one chunk of code is to type it in on the homescreen and just recall entry (so you only hit 2nd->enter instead of 2nd->recall->something) [post="116032"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post] Except you have to retype it every time, or keep hitting [2nd]+[Enter] to loop back to it. ;)
DarkerLine wrote: echidna wrote: It's better not to have code in string, this is a bad way of programming [post="116031"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]
Unless I'm misreading the post, this is more for the purposes of making it more convenient to write the program - the variables won't be used by the program itself, since you recall them. [post="116033"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post] Thanks for clearing that up, DarkerLine, you're definitely not misreading my post. :)
P.S. This is one of the reasons I haven't been working on ExθnIDE as much as I should be XD.
Last edited by Guest on 02 Dec 2007 10:54:51 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
BatBlaster
Member
Joined: 10 Oct 2007 Posts: 160
|
Posted: 17 Nov 2007 10:45:10 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I'm writing a program.
A trivia game. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
luby I want to go back to Philmont!!
Calc Guru
Joined: 23 Apr 2006 Posts: 1477
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
bananaman Indestructible
Calc Guru
Joined: 12 Sep 2005 Posts: 1124
|
Posted: 02 Dec 2007 10:30:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Wait a second. If you just documented them, you can't call them undocumented.
Anyways, that must have taken awhile to go through and compile them all, thank you for that time. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
alexrudd pm me if you read this
Bandwidth Hog
Joined: 06 Oct 2004 Posts: 2335
|
Posted: 02 Dec 2007 11:50:02 pm Post subject: |
|
|
DarkerLine and I mostly wikified it. The style, however...
This page should eventually be deleted, and the content spread out to other pages. Some of it already is, and is redundant. Thanks for adding it anyway, though; that's how a wiki works. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
spandiv -- Retired --
Active Member
Joined: 25 May 2003 Posts: 650
|
Posted: 03 Dec 2007 05:49:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
The undocumented tips and tricks page looks nice, but all of its content is already available on the tips & tricks page |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Harrierfalcon The Raptor of Calcs
Super Elite (Last Title)
Joined: 25 Oct 2006 Posts: 2535
|
Posted: 03 Dec 2007 06:32:37 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Fixed a spelling error (never heard of "pgrm" ), added something on Hard-Coded sprites to Graphics, and clarified the copy-and-paste, as well as the string-to-list thing.
I feel terrible, I haven't really done anything for this site... And the only thing that comforts me is that there's not much I can add. I think that's a good thing.
Last edited by Guest on 03 Dec 2007 06:33:50 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
luby I want to go back to Philmont!!
Calc Guru
Joined: 23 Apr 2006 Posts: 1477
|
Posted: 03 Dec 2007 10:50:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I did that so we can have one compiled list with in grasp.
bananaman wrote: Anyways, that must have taken awhile to go through and compile them all, thank you for that time.
[post="116787"]<{POST_SNAPBACK}>[/post]
Actually, I cheated. I took the last word doc I made and updated it. And wikified it |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Harrierfalcon The Raptor of Calcs
Super Elite (Last Title)
Joined: 25 Oct 2006 Posts: 2535
|
Posted: 03 Dec 2007 11:34:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
But you still typed up the word document...how can you cheat off of yourself? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
DarkerLine ceci n'est pas une |
Super Elite (Last Title)
Joined: 04 Nov 2003 Posts: 8328
|
Posted: 20 Dec 2007 11:09:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
A new final word in If vs. If-Then:
If is not actually slower than If-Then, as we've concluded previously. The reason for the difference in timings was that If with a false condition becomes far slower inside a For( loop without a closed parenthesis.
There is indeed a striking difference between these two situations
For(I,1,2000
If 0:
End
vs.
For(I,1,2000
If 0:Then
End
End
The first piece of code is something like 20 times slower, I believe? However, if you add the ) to the end of the For( command, the two situations equal out -- then, the first is actually slightly faster.
I would appreciate it if someone with a different OS version or a different calculator model (I have a TI-83+ with OS v1.15) tested this too.
Last edited by Guest on 04 Aug 2010 01:32:46 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
luby I want to go back to Philmont!!
Calc Guru
Joined: 23 Apr 2006 Posts: 1477
|
Posted: 20 Dec 2007 09:24:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
84+SE ROM 2.41
For(I,1,2000
If 0:
End
153 seconds
vs.
For(I,1,2000
If 0:Then
End
End
7 seconds
For(I,1,2000)
If 0:
End
7 seconds
vs.
For(I,1,2000)
If 0:Then
End
End
6 seconds
Final conclusion: I'd say If: is only slightly slower.
Last edited by Guest on 04 Aug 2010 01:33:14 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
DarkerLine ceci n'est pas une |
Super Elite (Last Title)
Joined: 04 Nov 2003 Posts: 8328
|
Posted: 20 Dec 2007 11:23:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Well, while this doesn't provide the evidence for all the calcs, it should be a pretty good range (more or less oldest to newest of what anyone's actually using). I suppose I'll get some accurate timings and update the relevant TIBD pages. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Super Speler Super Awesome Dude
Calc Guru
Joined: 28 Nov 2005 Posts: 1391
|
Posted: 27 Feb 2008 05:59:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
:VALUEidentity(DIMENSION
:cumSum(Ans)T-Ans+cumSum(Ans
This creates a matrix of dimensions DIMENSION by DIMENSION full of VALUE at a relatively fast speed without using any variables.
Correct me if there's a better way to do this; I only recently got back into using Basic for actual code as opposed to writing games :/.
Last edited by Guest on 04 Aug 2010 01:33:30 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Xphoenix
Elite
Joined: 04 Apr 2007 Posts: 756
|
Posted: 27 Feb 2008 06:05:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
{rows,columns→dim(matrixname
Fill(value,matrixname
This allows rectangular matrices, and I think this is faster.
:VALUEidentity(DIMENSION
:cumSum(Ans)T-Ans+cumSum(Ans
The bolded T is the transpose command, right?
Last edited by Guest on 04 Aug 2010 01:32:10 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Super Speler Super Awesome Dude
Calc Guru
Joined: 28 Nov 2005 Posts: 1391
|
Posted: 27 Feb 2008 06:15:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Yeah, but the point was that mine used no Matrix (or any) variables. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Xphoenix
Elite
Joined: 04 Apr 2007 Posts: 756
|
Posted: 27 Feb 2008 06:17:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Sorry, missed that part. >_< |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|