someone made the following program for me. i need to know how to get dcs7 on my calculator, and where to stick this program within it. I have never done this before so i'm a bit uncomfortable about it... but anyway....

Code:

.nolist
#include "dcs7brass.inc"
.list
   .org $9D95
   .db 0BBh,06Dh

LD HL, myhook
    LD DE, AppBackupScreen
    LD BC, myhookend-myhook
    ldir
    LD HL, AppBackupScreen
    in A, (6)
    ;bcall 4FABh      ;Homescreen hook enable
    ;bcall 5026h      ;Parser hook enable
    bcall 4F66h      ;Raw key hook enable
    ret

myhook:
    .db 83h             ; Required for all hooks
    set 4,(IY+0Ch)
    or a
    ret

myhookend:
Hi 4444, welcome to Cemetech! May I recommend that you Introduce Yourself in the relevant topic? You'll want to use the Doors CS SDK to compile this program (which is in source code form currently) into a .8xp program that you can load onto your calculator. You can grab the SDK here:

http://www.ticalc.org/archives/files/fileinfo/341/34192.html

Once you have it set up, the PDF in there will explain the rest, or we can help you compile the program.

Edit: Also, unfortunately, this won't work. Sad Hooks cannot (easily) be used by userspace programs.
FWIW, here was my attempt at the same thing. A little bit of debugging in PTI revealed it seemed to be working OK, just crashing quickly for some reason, and my interest in debugging quickly waned..

Code:
.binarymode TI8X

CurAble = 2
CurOn = 3
CurLock = 4
CurFlags = 12

appBackupScreen = $9872
TSRcode = appBackupScreen
TSRvectors = $9900

.org $9D93
.db $bb,$6d
start:
    ld de,TSRcode
    ld hl,ISR
    ld bc,ISR_end - ISR
    ldir

ld hl,TSRcode
    ld (TSRvectors), hl
    ld hl,TSRvectors
    ld de,TSRvectors + 2
    ld bc, 254
    ldir

ld a, TSRvectors >> 8
    ld i, a
    im 2
    ret

ISR:
    set CurLock, (IY+CurFlags)
    jp $0038
ISR_end:
below may be the answer. this is from another forum. they said something about $83 that made no sense to me.