IE9

Did Microsoft really make an unfair/uninformed comparison?
Yes
 75%  [ 6 ]
No
 25%  [ 2 ]
Total Votes : 8

Microsoft released IE9 recently, so I decided to take a look at their "Browser comparison" to see just what it brought to the table. Looking at it, I was astounded by how many idiotic mistakes they made in their fact checking, even given that it's Microsoft's propaganda. I'll just go through the mistakes in the comparison to Firefox (areas where IE has features and FF supposedly does not), in the interests of brevity and in keeping myself within an area where I have some knowledge. I also took the liberty of using features from the last Firefox 3.6 in addition to the 4.0 beta that the comparison was made to simply because, let's face it, they're not going to abandon features when it comes out of beta. It's a much more accurate comparison to assume that they'll carry them through. So...

Quote:
Full hardware acceleration for text, graphics, and video provided by default

Well, Firefox 3.6 doesn't have hardware acceleration as far as I'm aware, but even the outdated version of the 4.0 beta that I have does. It's called WebGL and it's indeed provided by default.

Quote:
Notification when add-ons slow browser performance

Not sure why you'd need this since you can disable any add-ons you want, but I doubt Firefox has it. Microsoft is probably right about IE being the only browser to feature it.

Quote:
New Tab page includes quick access to common tasks and your favorite sites

Websites can be pinned to the taskbar in Windows 7

In Firefox, we have this little thing called the Bookmarks Toolbar that does exactly the same things. It was probably one of the first things implemented in the beta.

Quote:
Tear-off tabs with Windows 7‌ Aero Snap

Well, both the beta and the standard versions have this, so I don't know where they got that idea.

Quote:
Reopen accidentally closed tabs