I am having a difficult time running a program I just wrote with my TI-89 to give me the Audio Power RMS from the values I plug in using Peak to Peak measurements from my scope as my values. I will list the program here as I entered it into the program editor. It keeps telling me I have syntax errors. Can anyone help me with this? My Email Address is<kharoldd@yahoo.com> I am a 76-Year-Young Vietnam Veteran with 2 College Degrees. I have been using TI Calculators all my life as an engineering Tech/Electronics Tech. I would really appreciate some help with this; it would make life so much easier for me at my service bench. - Sincerely, Ken DeWitt

:prms(prms)
:prgm
:Input"VPP=",V
:Input"Load Resistance=",r
: (((V*.3535)^2)/r)→P
:Disp"prms=",P
:EndPrgm

Gee! In the early days of DOS, I used to program in MS-BASIC and GW-BASIC. Am I losing it?
I think it should be
:Input"VPP=",V
:Input"Load Resistance=",r
: (((V*.3535)^2)/r)→P
:Disp"prms=",P
If your intention was inputting all the data at runtime, the first line could to be changed to
Code:
prms()

Or, if you wanted to make it a function, you can execute

Code:
Define prms(v,r)=(v*.3535)^2/r

in homescreen.
Both methods seem to be working on my TI-89 with AMS 2.09.
This is KenMath again to say that I have tried all suggestions to enable my function to become acted upon. This is my program now, and it works as far as the input lines are concerned. When I input my values for Voltage and Resistance, it now gives me an error message saying "Invalid Program Reference." My current program listing is as follows:

prms()
prgm
Input"Vpp=",v
Input"Load Resistance=", r
prms(v,r)=(v*.3535)^2/r→P
Disp"prms=",p
Endprgm