I'm still pretty new to all of this, and I'm working on a Fallout 3 port to the TI-84 CE with the CE C toolchain, top down of course. When my code reaches the "ingame" loop, it heavily lags. Is there a way to make it faster? Here's my code: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1AiGZAWwkr939LcZTnz7bhsccnLHDxZBx/view?usp=sharing

When the cursor is moved, it lags a ton. I Want less stuttering. I tried ticks, I tried only updating it when sprites are moved, etc. Nothing really works. If it matters, its a Python edition and the program is archived.
Oh yeah, I forgot to mention, I added a fillscreen command in the runonce statement, but forgot to compile it, so the title screen is visible lol
The gfx_ScaledTransparentSprite_NoClip function is somewhat slow, especially for large sprites. If you're not redrawing the entire screen each frame, I would only display the sprite once, when the screen gets drawn for the first time. You could also just recreate the image using the existing graphics functions, e.g. gfx_FillRectangle_NoClip and gfx_PrintStringXY, instead of sprites, which would also give you a higher resolution.

gfx_BlitBuffer is also inefficient compared to gfx_SwapDraw, since it has to copy the entire screen, so I would switch to buffer swapping if performance is a concern.

Finally, the CE is just pretty slow in general - there are definitely ways of improving performance, but sometimes it's easier to just use a slower framerate and increase the cursor speed per frame.
commandblockguy wrote:
The gfx_ScaledTransparentSprite_NoClip function is somewhat slow, especially for large sprites. If you're not redrawing the entire screen each frame, I would only display the sprite once, when the screen gets drawn for the first time. You could also just recreate the image using the existing graphics functions, e.g. gfx_FillRectangle_NoClip and gfx_PrintStringXY, instead of sprites, which would also give you a higher resolution.