Would you participate in the Skyrim CE Alpha?
Yes
 75%  [ 12 ]
No
 0%  [ 0 ]
Maybe
 25%  [ 4 ]
Total Votes : 16

Hey everybody.

Alright, so this post is long overdue, and I feel like I have really left you all in the dark about where this project went and where it is going. Yes, Skyrim CE is still in development, and yes, I will be releasing an Alpha soon. The amount of time I'd have to work on it while at university (and my own ability to procrastinate) was simply underestimated when I began work ~7 months ago (a, was it really that long ago; I'm a true Indie developer now!).

At any rate, it's time I give you all a well-deserved progress update and new project timeline.

Questions People Have Totally Asked Me
    How much code have you written? Uhhhhh, some. Very little, actually. I haven't gotten around to converting all my pseudocode and flow diagrams and pre-documentation into an actual engine yet. I should, though. I need to. I'll keep you posted.

Well, how much of the map have you designed? Here is the tentative world map structure:

where each colored square is a region, and each region is divided in 9 primary sectors (along with a few extra ones like buildings, should they exist). I've begun designing Riverwood in a Minecraft world (state-of-the-art, I know), and I have a decent Python script to convert a world "drawing" into the tilemap. Screenshots are due in a few weeks.

Alright, what about NPCs? The NPC data format is essentially complete: I've jampacked as much data as I can into the list structure, allowing for NPC to have inventory, full dialogue, and combat stats. I also have a half-working Python Tkinter UI for designing them, but I haven't worked on it in a while. NPCs will be able to move around the world as well (though they don't very often), and change their dialogue based on completed quests. And yes, all of your favorite NPCs will be present.