What is it about?
No Man's Sky takes place in space, in an infinite procedurally generated universe. You can travel to different solar systems, each of which have planets you can land on. Planets have unique wildlife, climate, and terrain, and other random aspects about the solar system like space stations and pirate battles help to make space feel less empty. It is a sandbox game with a loose story that you can choose to complete. You can upgrade your gear and personal spaceship with resources you gather on planets, and build bases on giant freighter ships or planet-side.

No Man's Sky is available on PC, Xbox, and PlayStation. It is currently $60 USD.

Is it any good?
No Man's Sky had a notoriously bad release. The developer lied about many key aspects of the game, making it seem more complex than it actually was. Many people felt like they had been cheated. However, a later update added many of the features that were initially promised, including multiplayer. I started playing after this update ("NEXT" Update, July 2018). (I played on Xbox One)

Although the story line exists, it is un-engaging and boring to follow. Buying this game, I expected a sandbox taking place in an infinite universe, and in essence, that is what I got. They advertise a sandbox space game and that is what you will get, but unfortunately the sandbox falls flat quite often.