Hello,

I'm working with HP Prime emulator (HP Prime Virtual Calculator / Build 2016 12 8. Rev:11226). Trying to calculate Euler's equation (e^(i*pi)+1=0) I've got the strange result: −2.06761537357ᴇ−13 instead of zero. But, what's surprising - other online calculators (as for example Symbolab, Wolfram Alpha etc.) show correctly - zero. It must be, of course problem of internal computational precision - I suppose, but I don't understand why I've got just this number. Could somebody test it or/and explain it for me?

Thanks in advance,

Marek.
−2.06761537357ᴇ−13 is very close to 0. It's a rounding error. The fact that the exponent is -13 tells you something about how the calculator handles floating-point numbers. If you don't understand that, don't worry: I'm still learning, myself. I'm not completely familiar with your calculator, but I assume it has some kind of rounding function. If you learn how to use that, you can make it display 0.

Edit: Oh. Reading your post again, I see that you understand exactly everything I said, and were curious about what I don't yet understand.
It is indeed due to rounding errors. The exponential is just a sum of some powers, but logically, the amount of terms is not infinite, what it's supposed to be, so there you get the rouding error. Another possibility is, that pi is only stored upto some decimals, it's not a number with infinite decimals, which leads to rounding errors as well.
A similar thing happens in MATLAB:

Code:
>> format long
>> exp(pi*i)+1

ans =

0.000000000000000e+00 + 1.224646799147353e-16i

This problem should be common to all systems not using a CAS.